Northwestern Press

Tuesday, March 26, 2019

NWL District News

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 by LINDA DEIBERT in School

High School

The homecoming king and queen will be crowned Oct. 5 at the football game. The homecoming dance will take place Oct. 6 in the high school cafeteria.

Middle School

The middle school Tiger Pride kickoff will take place Oct. 5.

The middle school PTO is having a Color Run at the Northwestern Recreation Commission Fields on Oct. 14.

The event will begin at 10 a.m. with the registration check-in tables open 8:45-9:45 a.m.

Northwestern Elementary

Middle school reopens after air quality is restored

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 by ANNA GILGOFF in School

After being away from their school for the first few weeks of the new scholastic year, Northwestern Lehigh Middle School students and staff returned Sept. 17 to their own building.

When mold was detected in a few classrooms on the lower level of the building, middle schoolers were routed to Weisenberg Elementary School and the high school until air quality reports indicated it was safe for occupancy.

lunch menus

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 by The Press in School

Thursday, Sept. 27: Elem.: Steak sandwich on roll. Alternate: mini corn dogs. M.S., H.S.: Steak sandwich on roll.

Friday, Sept. 28: Elem., M.S., H.S.: Big Daddy pizza.

Monday, Oct. 1: Elem.: Hamburger or cheeseburger on whole grain roll. Alternate: mozzarella sticks.

Tuesday, Oct. 2: Elem.: Taco Tuesday. Alternate: mozzarella sticks.

Wednesday, Oct. 3: Elem.: Mini waffle breakfast meal — sausage, yogurt or hash browns. Alternate mozzarella sticks.

Thursday, Oct. 4: Elem.: Chicken nuggets with soft pretzel. Alternate mozzarella sticks.

***

lunch menus

Thursday, September 20, 2018 by The Press in School

Thursday, Sept. 20: M.S., H.S., Elem.: Chicken tenders, dinner roll. Elem. alternate: pizza.

Friday, Sept. 21: Elem.: M.S., H.S.: Wild Mike’s pizza.

Monday, Sept. 24: M.S., H.S., Elem.: Chicken rings, dinner roll. Elem. alternate: mini corn dogs.

Tuesday, Sept. 25: M.S., H.S., Elem.: Cheese stuffed breadsticks, marinara sauce. Elem. alternate mini corn dogs.

Wednesday, Sept. 26: M.S., H.S., Elem.: National Pancake Day meal. Elem. alternate mini corn dogs.

Thursday, Sept. 27: M.S., H.S., Elem.: Steak sandwich on roll. Elem. alternate mini corn dogs.

Kolbe Academy

Thursday, September 20, 2018 by NATE JASTRZEMSKI in School

Allentown Diocese to open recovery high school

The Diocese of Allentown has announced the planned opening of the nation’s first Catholic-run high school for students recovering from drug and alcohol addiction.

Kolbe Academy is scheduled open its doors next September to up to 90 ninth through 12th grade students in need of an environment designed to cater to recovery. Curriculum, staff and counselors will be all focused on teens in need.

Diocese Department of Education Deputy Superintendent of Secondary and Special Education Dr. Brooke Tesche began work on the project two years ago.

lunch menus

Friday, September 7, 2018 by The Press in School

M.S., H.S.: Available daily: Pizza, wraps, fresh salads-fruits-vegetables, snack bags, fruit snack bags, Smucker’s PB&J,, fresh baked cookies and soft pretzels, Hershey’s ice cream.

Thursday, Sept. 6: Elem.: Nacho supreme w/salsa and sour cream. Alternate: mini corn dogs. M.S., H.S.: Nacho supreme.

Friday, Sept. 7: Elem.: Big Daddy’s pizza. Alternate: mini corn dogs. M.S., H.S.: Big Daddy’s pizza.

Monday, Sept. 10: Elem.: No menu available. M.S., H.S.: Popcorn chicken with soft pretzel.

School District News

Friday, September 7, 2018 by LINDA DEIBERT in School

Northwestern and Weisenberg elementary schools will have early dismissal noon Sept. 14.

High School

Back to School Night has been postponed. The new date is yet to be determined.

Middle School

Middle school students are now located in their respective “temporary” schools.

Eighth grade is at the high school and sixth and seventh grade students are at Weisenberg.

Northwestern Elementary

There will be a Partners In Education meeting 6:30 p.m. Sept. 11 in the cafeteria.

lunch menus

Wednesday, August 22, 2018 by The Press in School

Monday, Aug. 27: Elem.: Chicken tenders, dinner roll. Alternate: pizza. M.S., H.S.: Hamburger or cheeseburger.

Tuesday, Aug. 28: Elem.: Hamburger. Alternate: pizza. M.S., H.S.: Hamburger or cheeseburger.

Wednesday, Aug. 29: Elem.: Mini pancake meal, sausage links or yogurt. Alternate: pizza, hash browns, fruit, garden salad. M.S., H.S.: Mini pancake meal.

Thursday, Aug. 30: Elem.: Chicken patty sandwich on whole-grain roll. Alternate: pizza, baked fries, fruit, garden salad. M.S., H.S.: Chicken patty sandwich.

Friday, Aug. 31: No school.