Northwestern Press

Thursday, May 28, 2020

Chosen Words

Wednesday, November 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is a holiday when we give thanks

For all we have

It’s not about the turkey,

Or the food that we will eat;

It’s about the world around us,

And the blessings we’ve received.

Think about the year that’s past;

All the people that you’ve met;

Some might be your best friends,

And some you will forget.

Be thankful for your findings

New people in your life!

Some people do not have a friend

And live a life of strife

Open your heart to strangers,

Share some time with them;

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, November 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writer concerned with late-night appointment of commissioner

I am concerned about the lack of transparency shown by the current South Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners at their most recent meeting.

The people spoke two weeks ago when they voted Diane Kelly, Michael Wolk and Matthew Mobilio as our next township commissioners.

I understand the need for Mark Pinsley to resign to prepare for his new role as Lehigh County controller.

But to approve a replacement the same day late into the night is an attack on our democracy and is highly unethical.

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, November 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writer concerned with status of Wehr’s Dam

To the Editor:

The South Whitehall Commissioners never expected the voters to approve the referendum in November of 2016 to retain Wehr’s Dam, especially when they had associated it with a possible tax increase.

They thought that they could accommodate the Wildlands Conservancy in demolishing the dam, with no political consequence to themselves.

In July 2014, the commissioners gave the Conservancy permission to conduct a study of the dam, which was intended and designed to justify its demolition.

Guest View

Wednesday, November 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Bloomsburg University: Investing in our students

I started receiving those glossy brochures from colleges and universities sometime in my sophomore year of high school.

Each promised an excellent education, a true college experience and lifetime support for job placement.

To me, a blue-collar kid who never even visited New York City or Washington, D.C., it sounded amazing.

Then, my parents and I saw the price tags and panic hit.

How could we afford tens of thousands of dollars for a college degree?

This is a real issue facing families everywhere.

Another View

Wednesday, November 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let this week’s Great American Smokeout be your day to begin a healthier lifestyle

Cigarette smokers, have you ever thought of quitting smoking, even for just one day?

Well, this Thursday, Nov. 21, is your chance to join thousands of other smokers around the country who are also attempting to quit smoking during the Great American Smokeout.

The American Cancer Society’s Great American Smokeout challenges individuals to quit smoking for 24 hours.

Area state senators

Wednesday, November 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office: 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Offices: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl;

2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, November 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Historic Bethlehem Museums and Sites is currently training holiday volunteers to give tours and greet visitors during the 2019 Holiday Season.

Call Kristen Walsh at 610-882-0450 ext. 15.

·Holiday Hope Chests need volunteers to donate wrapped shoeboxes filled with age appropriate items for Lehigh Valley’s children in need.

To participate, go to volunteerlv.org/holiday-hope-chests and fill out a 2019 Donor Pledge Form.

Area state senators

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office: 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Offices: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl;

2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Meeting a childhood idol

Do you have a childhood idol? Someone you would like to meet?

My sister, Donna’s childhood idol, Gene London, was the host of the children’s show “Cartoon Corners” or “The Gene London Show.”

Based out of Philadelphia, he was on WCAU-TV Channel 10 from 1959 to 1977.

During his show, London would tell stories and use a large drawing pad to illustrate key scenes and characters.

Then there was the theme song:

“Come right on in to the General Store,

We have licorice, gumdrops and sourballs;

Anything that you’re hankering for,

Chosen Words

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Home of the free

I read two verses the other day,

And enjoyed what they had to say.

“Our flag does not fly because the wind moves it,

It flies with the last breath of each soldier,

Who died protecting it.”

And

“Home of the free, because of the brave.”

This brought me back to my youth, when we were at war,

When our children came home battered and sore;

They served with honor, but never complained,

Many of them re-enlisted again.

Many soldiers never came home. Their families took such a loss;