Northwestern Press

Tuesday, July 16, 2019

on the homefront

Wednesday, February 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Marriage requires work and communication

A funny tale pops up when people talk about marriage and anniversaries: A couple was celebrating their golden anniversary by renewing their vows. At the conclusion of the little ceremony their pastor congratulated them on 50 years of marriage and posed to them one question. “At any point along the way, did divorce ever cross your minds?”

The husband responded with a quick “No, never.” The wife nodded in agreement and said, “Divorce, no. Murder, yes.”

And such is the stuff that marriages are made of.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A Secret

I have many longtime friends

And we’ll be friends until the end.

But, someone has a secret to hide,

And they will not confide.

Do they think I would tell?

Do they think I would betray?

They should know by now that I would

Never, give their secret away.

Sometimes we fib or tell white lies,

To avoid hurting someone;

We try to save face, or try to save grace,

So no friendship damage is done.

I understand that. I know what it’s like

To be hurt by a close friend of mine;

So I watch what I say,

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Oh, the lessons we’ve learned

The story goes that one man challenged a second man to write a children’s book using only 50 different words.

The first man was Bennett Cerf, founder of the Random House publishing company. The second man was Theodor Geisel, author, political cartoonist and animator.

The outcome of the bet: $50 in Geisel’s pocket and a little book titled “Green Eggs and Ham.”

The challenge was a win-win really. Random House, in 1960, published the work, which has sold more than 8 million copies.

Area state senators and representatives

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

guest view

Wednesday, February 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Step up ... or stop complaining!

During this year’s municipal elections, voters will see familiar names when they stand in front of their voting machines ... not the names from the nightly news but rather the names of friends and neighbors who want to serve their community.

In a robust democracy, this is clearly what the Founding Fathers envisioned for what would become the United States of America as battles raged and lives were lost, all for the sake of independence.

Guest View

Wednesday, February 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The Fourth Amendment: Why police error is not illegal

It is the position of the NRA that “the only answer to a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun.”

On Nov. 22, 2018, E.J. Bradford, while in a shopping mall in Alabama and attempting to respond to an active shooter, was shot in the back of the head by police.

On Feb. 5, 2019, the Alabama Attorney General issued a report that the police officer who shot Bradford would not face criminal charges because the officer acted reasonably under the circumstances.

Another view

Wednesday, February 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lack of candy is breaking hearts this Valentine’s Day

For those with a sweet tooth, a Valentine’s Day favorite might be tough to find this year.

Everyone is familiar with the classic Sweethearts candy featuring cute little messages such as “Be Mine,” “Let’s Kiss” and “True Love.”

However, due to a company buyout and health code violations, the original brand of these candies will not be ready in time for Valentine’s Day this year.

The original Sweethearts were made by New England Confectionery Company, better known as Necco.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, February 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Birthdays

Birthdays are a given,

They began when we were born.

You celebrate them every year,

With birthday cakes, and horns.

You wish they didn’t come around

As fast as they seem to,

because each year it happens,

It adds another year on you.

When you are young, you cannot wait

For birthday time to come,

You cannot wait for years to pass

’Til you are 21.

Before you know the years go by,

And you are growing old.

You can’t go back, you have to face

Whatever the future holds.

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, February 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writer opposed to artificial turf at Northwestern Lehigh

To the Editor:

Regarding the story on the Northwestern Lehigh School Board meeting in the Jan. 24, 2019, edition of the Northwestern Press, I presented this information at the Northwestern Lehigh School Board meeting in January after learning they had approved artificial turf for our stadium improvement project.

The board was aware of much of this information prior to approval but their decision must also reflect the community’s desires.

Chosen Words

Thursday, February 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Coffee

Coffee is a pleasure drink,

It starts out as a bean;

If you miss your daily dose,

You can become very mean.

For many folks, it’s on their mind

As soon as they awake;

To most of them coffee is

The first thing that they take.

Coffee has the caffeine we need

To start us on our way;

It wakes us up and gets us ready

So we can face the day.

There are times one cup is not enough

To keep us sharp for long;

Before you know, you realize

That 4 or 5 cups

Are gone!