Northwestern Press

Tuesday, January 22, 2019

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, August 29, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mourning the passing of a true hero

The nation was rocked once again Aug. 25 when it was announced Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., 81, died from a glioblastoma brain tumor.

McCain was diagnosed in July 2017 following a procedure to remove a blood clot above his left eye at Mayo Clinic Hospital in Phoenix, Ariz.

McCain died nine years to the day after his friend Sen. Ted Kennedy, D-Mass., who had the same cancer. Glioblastoma affects 10,000 Americans each year.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, August 29, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The Brass Rail

Have you ever been to the Brass Rail

In Allentown, Pa.?

The food is really good!

If you have never eaten there,

You really, really should.

They’re famous for their steak sandwiches,

They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner,

Regardless what you choose to eat,

You’ll find your meal a winner.

The service is the best in town,

They make you feel at home;

They treat you like a long-lost friend,

You’ll never feel alone.

You won’t regret your visit, it’s memorable for sure;

CHOSEN WORDS

Wednesday, August 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The Roads of Life

There are many hills and valleys throughout life,

Just like the roads we travel;

There are many situations

That one must sometimes unravel.

We roll along and things are smooth

When suddenly there’s a bump!

We have to slow down and work things out,

Until we are over the hump.

Many times we’ve driven around and found,

A very curvy road ahead that we must get around;

As life itself can throw us curves

From which we must rebound.

Sometimes we drive across a bridge

To get to the other side;

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, August 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Cancer Support Community Greater Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to assist with 11th annual Wings of Hope butterfly release benefiting local cancer patients Sept. 8 at Cedar Crest College.

Contact Kathy Moyer at 610-861-7555 or kmoyer@cancersupportglv.org.

·Hispanic Center of the Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, needs a volunteer with pickup truck, SUV or van to pick up cases of food donated by Sam’s Club, Airport Road, Allentown twice a month on Fridays.

Contact Bennie Eliason at 610-868-7800 ext. 245 or beliason@hclv.org.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, August 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s build again like we did last summer

It is blockbuster superhero movie season and a sequel to a proven hit wrapped last month.

In July, 21 girls from the Lehigh Valley and beyond, gathered at Associated Builders and Contractors Inc. Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter, Marcon Boulevard, Allentown, to participate in the second “Let’s Build Camp,” a weeklong program for young women/superheroes interested in architecture, engineering, construction, building and the construction trades.

Among many skills, campers learned to frame a wall, replace windows, make bricks, install siding and shingle roofs.

Rx for quality health care begins with education

Wednesday, August 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I walked into the room in the middle of a loud argument.

My relative’s roommate in a health-care facility was angry with staff for not getting him bathed and dressed by lunchtime. He was still in bed in his night-clothes.

When one of his relatives came to visit, he told her what had happened, and she reported his grievance to the facility’s nurse and administrator.

Ever since, he has been dressed and groomed at a reasonable morning hour.

It pays to have an advocate to watchdog and speak up on behalf of a hospital patient or health-care facility resident.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Increasing school safety in the commonwealth

Thousands of school students will be heading back to school in the next few weeks.

And, with the excitement for kids of seeing old friends again, shopping for school supplies and going to football games, there is also parent anxiety due to school tragedies that are every family’s worst nightmare.

In Pennsylvania, we take school safety seriously.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center for Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Feed the Children, Bethlehem, has a National Day of Service (9/11) Volunteer Opportunity perfect for friends, families, clubs, youth or church groups, senior citizens, corporate team building groups, and individuals available 5-8 p.m.

Another view

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Back-to-school time is upon us once again

It seems as if the end of the school year was just last week. But here we are, Aug. 16, and many schools begin classes Aug. 27.

As August is when students return to school, this month is National Back to School Month.

According to nationaldaycalendar.com, “National Back to School Month has been observed since the 1960s.

“The school year has traditionally begun in the fall and ended in late spring, allowing the children of farmers in our agricultural society to help with planting and harvesting.