Northwestern Press

Thursday, October 17, 2019

Another View

Wednesday, June 5, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

“When you feel so mad that you wanna roar, take a deep breath and count to four.”

“It’s almost time to stop, so choose one more thing to do. That was fun, but now it’s done.”

“Will you pick me up when I go to school? Yep, at the end of the day because that’s the rule. Grown-ups come back.”

“If you can’t do it alone, work together. It’s better to work together.”

If you have a young child or grandchild, there’s a very good chance you have heard these lyrics from “Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood,” a popular PBS children’s television show.

Area state senators and representatives

Thursday, May 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

RPA thanks volunteers for help at Cleansweep

To the Editor:

On April 13, the Rural Preservation Association held its 23rd annual Cleansweep for the four Northwestern Lehigh townships. Though it is always a day of hard work, friends and neighbors coming together in community participation never fails to make it enjoyable.

Lowhill Township again generously donated the use of its facilities, and the township crew assisted in preparing for the event by coordinating placement of the containers at the township site.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, May 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Help wanted: Interested in community journalism?

Things are getting busier at The Press. We’ve just finished covering musical theater productions, junior/senior proms and Memorial Day services. Now, we’re preparing for high school graduations — celebrating the achievements of our area students, many of whom we’ve featured on our pages since their elementary days — and the ever-popular summer camps.

Our work here is to capture the happenings in our communities in print, via stories and photographs, and online, through our website.

There’s always something going on, and for that, we’re thankful.

Another View

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Gender swapping filter — hurtful or helpful?

The popular social media site Snapchat released a new feature this month. The gender swap filter allows you to take a picture of yourself or a friend and transform into the opposite gender.

Snapchat allows people to send pictures or short videos, called “snaps,” to friends. The most popular feature is these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear.

Chosen Words

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

I Wish

I wish I could go back in time

to relive my history;

I’d reconnect with friends and family

That meant so much to me.

There is so much I didn’t know

When I was just a kid;

But knowing what I do today,

T’would be a different life I’d live.

Our cousins moved around the state,

Didn’t get to see them much;

Because of all the distance,

It was hard to keep in touch.

Most of my family have left this world

While unable to say “goodbye”

When I think about all that I’ve lost,

It makes me want to cry.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writers give kudos to string orchestras

To the Editor:

Bravo to the Parkland High School Philharmonic String Orchestras for their May 9 performances.

Brian Mishler, director, and each member of the orchestra worked together so well to present the audience with beautiful, well-played music.

The large ensembles represented many nationalities and ethnic groups who played expertly and harmoniously with one another.

They gave us an excellent example of how we as a community and nation should cooperate to create a beautiful and peaceful world.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Hello, summer!

According to the annual AAA Memorial Day Travel Forecast, nearly 43 million Americans will start their summers with a Memorial Day weekend getaway.

This long holiday weekend, marking the unofficial start of summer travel season, will see the second-highest travel volume on record since AAA began tracking holiday travel volumes dating back to 2000.

Overall, an additional 1.5 million more people will take to the nation’s roads, rails and runways compared with last year, a 3.6 percent increase nationwide.

Area state senators and representatives

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Ensuring better health outcomes for stroke victims

Thursday, May 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

According to the National Institutes of Health, every 40 seconds someone in the United States has a stroke, and every 40 minutes someone dies from a stroke.

Strokes are the fifth leading cause of death in the United States and the leading cause of serious long-term disability. However, research shows the faster a person is identified as having a stroke and gets treatment, the better the outcome.

May is National Stroke Awareness Month and I would encourage everyone to learn to recognize the signs of a stroke by remembering the acronym FAST: