Northwestern Press

Monday, May 27, 2019

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Because the boys watching today will be the men of tomorrow’

Have you seen the new Gillette commercial geared toward men that addresses bullying, toxic masculinity, sexual harassment and the #MeToo movement?

The commercial, which debuted Jan. 14 on social media, shows boys fighting while adults look on, saying “boys will be boys,” instances of bullying, clips of sexual harassment and more while the narrator asks, “Is this the best a man can get?”

The narrator continues by saying, “Something has changed and there is no going back,” while showing news clips of current events of sexual harassment and more.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Bethlehem Special Olympics needs additional basketball volunteers, age 14 and older Monday nights. Practices are from 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. at Northeast Middle School. Volunteers must know the basics of basketball, commit to attending most practices and become Class A volunteer by completing a background check and online training.

Contact Dana Lindsey at 610-264-3616 or email volunteers@bethlehemsopa.org for information.

Guest View

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Tax identity theft is on the rise

The “identity” of millions of individuals continues to be stolen by savvy thieves each year in the United States.

Today’s thieves are going after not just old bank statements, but old tax returns, and they are not just rooting through the trash, but are often using skimmers to collect credit card information or are getting information electronically through poorly safeguarded personal computers.

Chosen Words

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Aging

My body is aging, my mind is not,

I’m still giving life everything I’ve got.

Don’t sit and cry ’cause your life’s passing by,

Keep fighting, and give life a ‘shot.’

A “shot” of pleasure, a shot of “joy;”

A “shot” of friendship, a brand-new toy.

A trip to the mall for a day of fun,

A day at the beach, to soak up some sun.

You’re never too old to learn new things,

It’s exciting to see what it might bring.

Keep your mind sharp, Try doing new stuff;

You’ll see that you just can’t learn enough.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lessons of compassion taught on a famous street

Dear reader:

I am concerned about Lily.

Last month, Sesame Street, the beloved children’s program responsible for lessons on topics such as numbers, letters and rubber duckies, revealed to online viewers one of its cast members, a deep fuchsia plush muppet with long hair named Lily, was dealing with homelessness.

Lily, who is described as about 7 years old, and her family lost their apartment and moved in with Lily’s teacher and friend Miss Sofia.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Skiing

I was asked to write a poem about skiing,

Something I know little about;

I do know, however, it’s not for me,

Beyond a shadow of a doubt.

I know it’s a sport that many love,

It must be a thrill to be,

High up on the mountain top,

Waiting to be free;

Waiting to ski to the bottom

While gliding through the snow,

Must be an awesome feeling,

But I’ll never, ever know.

To freeze your nose and freeze your toes,

Doesn’t sound fun to me.

Inside the chalet, watching the fire,

vOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Sharecare Faith in Action, Bethlehem, is looking for volunteer drivers age 18 and older to help safely transport people who are elderly and/or disabled to and from doctor appointments and with grocery shopping in the Lehigh Valley.

Contact Lynn Heiney at 610-867-2177 or sharecare8@aol.com.

·Youth Volunteer Council of the Volunteer Center of the Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, is recruiting high school students from grades 10 to 12 and college students to participate in its inaugural Youth Volunteer Council.

For information, call 610-807-0336.

Another View

Thursday, January 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Early morning Christmas Day trip to ER put our minds at ease

My husband, Joe, and I went to bed Christmas Eve filled with anticipation. We couldn’t wait for our 21-month-old son, Benjamin, to wake up Christmas morning to see what presents Santa had left on the living room floor next to the fireplace.

We knew this Christmas would be even more exciting than last year’s holiday as Ben is older, very playful and understands better.

I wasn’t too worried about how Ben’s voice sounded Christmas Eve after dinner and while putting him to bed.

I remember thinking to myself, ‘Darn — he’s getting a cold for the holidays.’

Area state senators and representatives

Thursday, January 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

vOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, January 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Sharecare Faith in Action, Bethlehem, is looking for volunteer drivers age 18 and older to help safely transport people who are elderly and/or disabled to and from doctor appointments and with grocery shopping in the Lehigh Valley.

Contact Lynn Heiney at 610-867-2177 or sharecare8@aol.com.

·Youth Volunteer Council of the Volunteer Center of the Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, is recruiting high school students from grades 10 to 12 and college students to participate in its inaugural Youth Volunteer Council.

For information, call 610-807-0336.