Northwestern Press

Saturday, November 17, 2018

Chosen Words

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The ‘Floater’ and the ‘Fly’

The other night I saw a fly,

it flew right past my eye;

I ran for the fly swatter, and I

really, really tried,

To kill that pesky fly.

Well, I looked left and I looked right,

And much to my surprise,

I saw that fly where’ere I looked,

It was a ‘floater’ in my eye!

Well, I relaxed and looked no more,

I thought that I was done;

When, suddenly, before my eyes,

There was another one!

Another floater, (so I thought),

Oh, there it goes again!

But then I KNEW it was a FLY,

Writer says fleeing immigrants can strengthen

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Our country is being destroyed by immigration.

We are experiencing an invasion that threatens our health, our economy and our ultimate viability.

The immigration of insects, invasive plants, animals and pathogens can destroy us.

The immigration of families fleeing violence can strengthen our economy and our country.

William Klein

Master Watershed Steward

New Tripoli

Guest View

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Purple Heart Day to honor wounded, deceased soldiers

The Purple Heart is awarded to members of the United States Armed Forces who are wounded or killed during service.

It was created by Gen. George Washington, whose appreciation of the importance of a soldier in any campaign impelled him to recognize outstanding valor and merit by granting a commission or an advance in rank for the person concerned.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center for Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Meals on Wheels of Northampton County, Bethlehem, is seeking meal delivery volunteers 18 and older.

Contact Keri Young at 610-691-1030 ext. 20 or kerig@mealsonwheelspa.org.

guest view II

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Whose ox is being gored?

As a liberal Democrat, I’ve been appalled by the potential harm done to our country by President Donald Trump’s administration, particularly to the environment and to our relationships with the rest of the world.

But I agree with the Trump supporters who have decried the attacks on administration officials in restaurants and other areas of their private lives.

There’s no excuse for asking people to leave a restaurant because you don’t agree with their policies, or for harassing them in public places.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Tragedy at Capital Gazette hits close to home

The June 28 tragedy at the Capital Gazette in Annapolis, Md., hit close to home for me and two of my colleagues.

Brad Simpson, chief financial officer, PA NewsMedia Association, Robin Quillon, publisher of The Tribune-Democrat in Johnstown, and I were meeting in a conference room just outside of the newsroom at the same newspaper that would be the topic of breaking news just a couple of hours later.

I remember one victim who walked by me. Sunglasses, hat and a grumpy hello and I said to myself ... yeah, he is a news guy.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Learn the dangers of swimming

Last week with the excessive heat wave in the Lehigh Valley, I overheard some of my neighbors talking about taking their kids to a local water park.

Shortly after hearing that conversation, I received an alert from wedmd.com about an article titled “July is Peak Time for Illness from Feces in Pools.”

The article dated June 28 and written by E.J. Mundell talked about the safety of recreational swimming in summer.

Summer is a time when many Americans spend their days swimming at water parks, community and family pools, lakes and ponds.

Chosen Words

Tuesday, July 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Nothing’s the same as it used to be

Nothing’s the same as it used to be;

Everything has changed, it seems to me.

No one seems to have time to play,

They hustle and bustle all through the day.

People used to be humble and kind;

Today I think people are losing their minds.

They shoot everyone they can, at will;

They walk into schools and churches to kill!

There are gangs, drive-by shootings, all over the place;

It seems there is no where that you can feel safe.

Morals, there are none; they’ve just disappeared.

Letter to the Editor

Tuesday, July 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer advocates keeping water clean

To the Editor:

Some of you remember your buddy offering to change your motor oil in front of your house for a fraction of the Jiffy Lube price or flush your radiator. He even cleaned up and hosed the old oil down the gutter. Fast and cheap and you didn’t have to drive to an appointment. Those were the days.

And when your wife caught you dumping stinky paint thinner down the sink, your buddy had the answer for that, too.

What was the secret? The sewer drain at the end of the block.