Northwestern Press

Thursday, May 28, 2020

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, December 12, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Christmas Dreams

Children singing, falling snow;

Christmas is coming.

Twinkling lights are all aglow,

Christmas is near.

It’s time for the holly.

It’s time to be jolly.

Dreams by all the girls and boys,

of Santa and his toys.

Choirs sing and church bells ring. I see it, I hear it.

Joy and laughter all around; I feel the Christmas spirit.

The stars shine bright above, as God bestows his love,

We dream of peace on earth for all, as families come to call.

Christmastime is here again,

There’s magic in the air.

Area state senators

Thursday, December 12, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office: 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Offices: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl;

2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Drivers need to safely secure Christmas trees

Thursday, December 12, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

According to new consumer research by AAA, an estimated 84 million Americans will purchase a real Christmas tree this year.

Alarmingly, the same research finds that many of them will transport these trees using unsafe methods.

Whether purchased at a local tree lot, a fresh cut farm, or a retail store, AAA East Central urges all motorists to make sure their trees are safely secured this holiday season to keep them from becoming dangerous projectiles.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Friday, December 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Compeer of the Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, seeks volunteers willing to be a friend to someone in need in Lehigh and Northampton counties. Volunteers are matched with a member who is in stable mental health recovery to spend a minimum of four hours a month engaging in activities they both enjoy (talking, walking, playing cards, etc.). A similar program Compeer Corps is also looking for peer mentors for service members to enhance their self-esteem, reduce dependency, and create a strong/supportive environment.

Call Kameren Strouse at 610-774-2258.

Area state senators

Friday, December 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office: 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Offices: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl;

2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

CHOSEN WORDS

Friday, December 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Snow

Snow is simply beautiful, as it comes tumbling down.

It silences the world outside, and spreads itself around.

Building snowmen was such fun. It was a joy to me.

Sometimes we’d build a lot of them, maybe two or three.

Another thing we used to do,

We made snow angels, that was fun too!

When I was young, I couldn’t wait, to go outside to play.

But, now that I am older, I simply stay away.

We used to build snow forts; snow balls were fun, indeed.

Now we stay inside our home; the warnings we do heed.

Another view

Friday, December 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘And now for something completely different’

On Dec. 5, 1974, audiences said goodbye to Monty Python’s “Flying Circus” as the final episode aired on the British Broadcasting Corporation network.

The popular and, at times, controversial show originally aired Oct. 5, 1969, making this year its 50th anniversary.

The group Monty Python was formed from the creative minds of Graham Chapman, John Cleese, Eric Idle, Terry Jones, Michael Palin and Terry Gilliam. Gilliam was the only American in the group of British actors and writers, and he contributed the unique and recognizable animations that accompanied the show.

En Glee Bissell des un Sell

Wednesday, November 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Der Baydawg is widder doe,

Un es glabbert yo so in der Kich;

Blendy arwet fer mich,

Welsh-hawna un lots funn socha,

Muss ich now ready

macha in der Kich;

Es is g’shpboss fer mich,

Kucha un feel boi,

Shtana shunt in ra roi In der Kich;

Oh, es shwitzed mich.

De kinner kumma ol hame,

Wil wetta se acta wider

es same in der Kich;

Ei, es lechered mich.

Eb mer essa, duhna mer bayda,

Shpater shwappa mer

resayda in der Kich;

Blendy harlichkate fer mich.

Der baydawg kumt un gayed,

Area state senators

Wednesday, November 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office: 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Offices: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl;

2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, November 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A time for saying thank you

Thanksgiving is traditionally a time for family and friends to gather around the table and catch up on events from the past year — new babies, new loves, new jobs, graduations and marriages.

They also fondly recall and share favorite stories of loved ones who have moved on and are no longer able to be with them on this special day.

Families give thanks for all their blessings and then share a meal while renewing connections with those who may have traveled from afar.