Northwestern Press

Saturday, September 22, 2018

Chosen Words

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Red Roses

Oh, how I love roses, especially the Red!

I got a bunch for Mother’s Day, and very quickly said,

“Oh, thank you very, very much, however did you know,

Red roses are my favorite flower, and I love them so”?

“Mom, how could we not know”?

You mention all the time,

When red roses are upon the shelf,

You say, “I wish that they were mine!”

“What color is your chair, Mom?

You see, that chair is red.

You have red in every room,

And even on your bed.”

“You made it easy for us, Mom,

Serving teens alcohol is harmful to cognition, development

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Last week, I found myself performing the very tedious task of reattaching an ear on a ceramic bunny.

My cat has an issue with the little figure standing upright, so she takes great pleasure in knocking it on its side.

I have no idea why, and usually, I just place the lopsided bunny back on its feet and walk away. But this time, the figurine had fallen to the floor, and the tip of one ear broke off.

To Vote or Not to Vote

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To vote or not to vote

That is the question

Whether it is better

to refrain from voicing

our opinion

Or living with the results

of our decisions

Is something each

citizen of voting age

has to decide

Could it be that you

have always voted for

the WRONG man?

To that, I reply,

Elect a woman!

Could it be that you

feel your vote

will not count?

It will if you

are registered!

Could it be that

you are disappointed

with the quality

of each candidate?

Guest View

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Saying thank you to our community’s first responders

The words “thank you” do not seem adequate when a group of people have come to your aid in one of life’s challenging moments.

In March, dozens of volunteer firefighters, fire police and emergency medical service personnel reacted quickly when a fire broke out in the plaza where I operate my district office.

My staff and I were already at an event in another part of the district when we received calls that the Bagel Bunch restaurant located right next to us was on fire.

Chosen Words

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Do You Believe in God?

Do you believe in God?

Well, I think that’s up to you.

I believe He’s with me

In everything I do.

I feel that someone’s with me,

As I move around the house;

I don’t know who — I live alone,

And do not have a spouse.

I know He watches over me

As I go through the day;

I always look to Him for help,

If I should go astray.

I hope you do believe in God,

’Cause He can do great things!

Believe in Him and you can share,

The love and joy He brings.

If you do believe in God,

Another view

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Looking back at the history of Mother’s Day

“My mom smiled at me. Her smile kind of hugged me.” — “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio

As I sit down to start this Another View on a Thursday when I’m not in the office, my 13-month-old son and I have already read five books, enjoyed breakfast and a snack, did a Target run, played with blocks, toys and a push cart and listened to the “Moana” soundtrack twice. I’ll throw in there a poopy diaper, too.

And it’s only 10:38 a.m. But this is a good morning — no mild temper tantrums … yet. (And I thought they didn’t start until 2 years old. My bad.)

Election Policy

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week to publish columns by local government officials running for office was the April 12 edition. We will continue to cover local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports Susan Wild for Congress

To the Editor:

Our country needs change. Desperately. Change in Washington, D.C. The forces of gerrymandering and huge money in politics are stealing away our democracy.

In D.C., we need a U.S. House member who will work daily on issues important to the vast majority — one who will work to preserve Social Security and Medicare.

One who will fight for our families, working people and the middle class and return decency to Washington.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, April 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Be a donor — don’t take your organs to Heaven

“Be a rainbow in someone else’s cloud.” Maya Angelou

***

Every 10 minutes, a new name is added to the waiting list for an organ transplant. Nearly 115,000 names are on that list. Those names might be faces that are familiar to you or they may be complete strangers.

But as an organ donor, you have the ability to save eight of them. Just you. Eight lives.

April is National Donate Life Month. If you’re not already a registered organ donor, consider changing that status today.