Northwestern Press

Monday, May 27, 2019

Another view

Wednesday, February 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lack of candy is breaking hearts this Valentine’s Day

For those with a sweet tooth, a Valentine’s Day favorite might be tough to find this year.

Everyone is familiar with the classic Sweethearts candy featuring cute little messages such as “Be Mine,” “Let’s Kiss” and “True Love.”

However, due to a company buyout and health code violations, the original brand of these candies will not be ready in time for Valentine’s Day this year.

The original Sweethearts were made by New England Confectionery Company, better known as Necco.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, February 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Birthdays

Birthdays are a given,

They began when we were born.

You celebrate them every year,

With birthday cakes, and horns.

You wish they didn’t come around

As fast as they seem to,

because each year it happens,

It adds another year on you.

When you are young, you cannot wait

For birthday time to come,

You cannot wait for years to pass

’Til you are 21.

Before you know the years go by,

And you are growing old.

You can’t go back, you have to face

Whatever the future holds.

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, February 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writer opposed to artificial turf at Northwestern Lehigh

To the Editor:

Regarding the story on the Northwestern Lehigh School Board meeting in the Jan. 24, 2019, edition of the Northwestern Press, I presented this information at the Northwestern Lehigh School Board meeting in January after learning they had approved artificial turf for our stadium improvement project.

The board was aware of much of this information prior to approval but their decision must also reflect the community’s desires.

Chosen Words

Thursday, February 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Coffee

Coffee is a pleasure drink,

It starts out as a bean;

If you miss your daily dose,

You can become very mean.

For many folks, it’s on their mind

As soon as they awake;

To most of them coffee is

The first thing that they take.

Coffee has the caffeine we need

To start us on our way;

It wakes us up and gets us ready

So we can face the day.

There are times one cup is not enough

To keep us sharp for long;

Before you know, you realize

That 4 or 5 cups

Are gone!

Guest View I

Thursday, February 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

2018 legislative accomplishments

The 2017-18 Legislative Session was a productive one, with many important legislative initiatives being signed into law.

It was also a session that saw several of my proposals signed into law.

Ideas for these proposals were brought to my attention by residents in the district and were formed from situations I knew needed to be improved.

In order to provide improved health care to stroke victims, legislation I authored was signed into law this session that directs stroke patients to the appropriate hospital to treat their specific type of stroke.

Editor’s View

Thursday, February 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Treasure versus trash: When is the line crossed?

There was a brilliant mathematics teacher at the high school I attended. As the community was small, his children, who were also very smart, attended the same school.

Aside from what appeared to be their innate abilities in math and physics, I never suspected anything was different.

One day, a couple of friends and I, along with one of the teacher’s sons, went to his house.

I stepped inside the front door and could not believe what I saw.

Every inch of space — from floor to ceiling — was stacked with newspapers and books.

Guest View II

Thursday, February 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Speak up and save lives

Last year, the Pennsylvania General Assembly passed, and Gov. Tom Wolf signed Act 44, which establishes the Safe2Say Something program in each of the more than 500 school districts in Pennsylvania.

The explanation and training involved with this program began in mid-January, and the goal is to have every district on board within the next several months.

The program is already paying dividends. On Jan. 17, Hazleton police say a 14-year-old student was apprehended after threatening gun violence at the district’s elementary-middle school.

Another View

Wednesday, January 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Have we seen the last government shutdown over the border wall?

For 35 days, we Americans watched as President Donald Trump shut down the federal government and was at an impasse with the U.S. House and Senate over $5.7 billion in funding for a border wall between the United States and Mexico.

This partial shutdown, which affected federal agencies including the Transportation Security Administration, Centers for Disease Control, the Food and Drug Administration, law enforcement agencies, and parks and museums, left 380,000 federal employees furloughed and 420,000 employees working without pay.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, January 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

One Nation Under God

As we say our Pledge of Allegiance,

we say “one nation under God;”

but, lately, it seems we no longer are,

“one nation under God.”

Our country has lost its direction;

People no longer care.

There’s angst, disagreement, and discord,

And hatred everywhere!

No one agrees with each other;

You are cursed if you think on your own;

If you don’t think like the other guy,

You are labeled and left all alone.

There are two sides to every story.

Each has a tale to tell;