Northwestern Press

Thursday, May 28, 2020

EDITOR’S VIEW

Sunday, December 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

We can’t ignore global warming, not with Greta Thunberg leading the way

When my children were younger, a favorite 1996 movie was “Alaska,” a story about two children who searched for their missing father in the mountains of Alaska.

Along the way, the two learn valuable lessons and meet a baby polar bear on the run from poachers.

My children loved the adventures of the baby polar bear. My youngest son had a stuffed polar bear we affectionately named “Cubby” from the movie.

So should we be concerned about the images we see of the starving polar bears in Alaska losing their homes?

Letter to The Editor

Sunday, December 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Kudos to Lehigh Valley Zoo’s Winter Light Spectacular

To The Editor:

What a nice night was had at Lehigh Valley Zoo’s Winter Light Spectacular.

We enjoyed all the lights and some of my family volunteers there.

The Lehigh Valley Zoo is a great place for families. I go all year ’round.

A trip next year to see the Lehigh Valley Zoo Winter Light Spectacular at Christmastime will be well-worth it.

I have been a zoo member a long time and there are always new things to see.

Betty Kushner

Allentown

Chosen Words

Friday, December 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The Snowman

As far back as I remember,

the snowman’s been around, and

after every snowfall,

they’re all around the town.

Why must it be a snowman? Why not a car or house?

Why not a little snow child, or even a snow mouse?

We all have heard of snow forts;

we make snow balls, too.

So why not something quite unique,

perhaps a dog or two?

The next time snowfall hits the ground,

come up with a new plan.

Go out and build a snow “woman”

to go with your snowman!

Shirley Binkley

Cedar View Apartments

New Year’s Wish

Sunday, December 22, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

En Glee Bissell des un Sell

Ich winsh dier un dein’ra Fraw; Boova un Techter un all dee os in dei ‘m House nei un rous gehna, en Glick-sealiches Neies Yohr.

Gott sull eich dess gewwa; ich huff’s werrt wohr.

Mier winsha eich feel gute Glick, un all Um-glick weit tzurick.

Weil now des Nei Yohr kumm’t rei, in nawma Yeasus Chrisht.

Dess Alt Yohr is now fer-bei; wos now aw-fongt is yoh gons nei.

Mier leava un mier wolda, fom Neia biss tzu’m Alta.

Darrich feel Ongsht un Druvvel; darrich Tzittera un darrich Farricht. Darrich Grieg un grossa Schrecka; dess dutt de gons Welt be-decka.

Another View

Sunday, December 22, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Womanikin to the rescue

I hope I am never in a situation where I would need cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

But if I were, I also hope any individuals around me would not hesitate to perform CPR.

In a Dec. 7 NPR article titled “Meet the Womanikin — the breasted vest working to close the CPR gender gap,” Rachel Treisman writes, “Research shows that bystanders are less likely to perform CPR on women than men, and experts say superficial anatomical differences may lead people to assume chest compression must be performed differently on men and women, which is not true.”

Chosen words

Sunday, December 22, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Winter

“Winter is coming,” I heard the other day;

Someone saw three snowflakes, and said, “it is on it’s way!”

I guess it’s time for fall to leave, so winter can come in.

Along with snow, and ice, and cold, much beauty awaits within.

The quiet hush of falling snow, as it spreads itself around,

Presents us with a wonderland of snowfall on the ground.

A spectacular show of ice will quickly overtake the trees;

A shimmering creation will appear for you and me.

I know it’s rather dangerous to walk upon the ice,

En Glee Bissell des un Sell En Glee Bissell des un Sell A little bit of this and that

Sunday, December 22, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

“Nacht for de Chrischdaag”

‘S waar die Nacht for de Chrischdaag und dorch es gans Haus

Verreegt sich ke’ Thierli, net emal en Maus;

Die Schtrump waar schnock im Schornschte gehanke,

In der Hoffning der “Nick” dheet graad runner dschumpe;

Die Kinner so schmock waare all scho im Bett,

Von Zuckerschleck draame un was mer, doch, wott;

Die Mamme in Schnupduch un ich in der Kapp,

Hen uns juscht hi geleegt for ‘n lang Winter’s Nap.

Dan draus, in ‘m Hoof waar so n’ dunnerse Yacht,

Das ich ufg’schprunge bin zu sehne war’s macht.

AARP warns against free trial offer scams

Thursday, December 12, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Social media, TV and other media often advertise free trial offers that claim to be “risk free.”

However, some “free” trial offers end up being traps that lock consumers into plans that charge recurring fees.

Often a free trial offer will require you to provide your credit card information for a nominal shipping fee.

However, once you accept the offer and the company has your payment information, you may be charged for products you never intended to order.

Read up on both the company (reviews and contact information) and the terms and conditions of the offer.

Editor’s View

Thursday, December 12, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Are those Black Friday, Cyber Monday deals still available?

The date was Dec. 2, a Monday — and a particularly busy day for me at work.

I stayed focused on my to-do list, so I could head out the door on time.

It was Cyber Monday, and I had a mission.

I rushed home from the office, opened my laptop and systematically attacked my family’s Christmas lists, finishing the orders before anyone else got home that afternoon.

What a sense of accomplishment at having gotten such great deals!

Fast forward to Dec. 3, a Tuesday — and emails from my favorite stores that Cyber Monday had been extended.