Northwestern Press

Thursday, October 17, 2019

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Women’s soccer team focused on scoring goals, equality

The United States Women’s National Soccer Team, USWNT, earned a record fourth title win when it faced off against the Netherlands, the 2017 European champions, July 7 for the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

This 2-0 win marks the culmination of the immense skill and hard work demonstrated by these athletes over the years.

The USWNT has now won four World Cup titles, including the first one in 1991.

The team has also won four Olympic gold medals. The USWNT has medaled in every World Cup and Olympic tournament in women’s soccer history from 1991-2015.

Editor’s View

Tuesday, July 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s celebrate!

“When in the Course of human events it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.

GUEST VIEW

Tuesday, July 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Schweyer thanks city’s first responders for their actions after Deja Vu shooting

I had originally planned on penning a review of the 2019-20 state budget.

And I still will, but the tragic shooting in the early hours of June 20 in Downtown Allentown that left 10 people hospitalized changed my thinking.

Frankly, I think this is much more important.

I live in Allentown, in fact I have for most of my life, having been raised in Center City.

Area state senators and representatives

Tuesday, July 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Guest View

Thursday, June 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Americans don’t think they will get arrested for driving high

Nearly 70 percent of Americans think it is unlikely a driver will get caught by police for driving while high on marijuana, according to a new AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety Survey.

Moreover, an estimated 14.8 million drivers report getting behind the wheel within one hour after using marijuana in the past 30 days.

The impairing effects of marijuana are usually experienced within the first one to four hours after using the drug. (1)

And, marijuana users who drive high are up to twice as likely to be involved in a crash. (2)

Area state senators and representatives

Thursday, June 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Chosen Words

Thursday, June 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The Doctor’s Office

While waiting in the doctor’s office,

as you look around,

people all are watching you,

at least that’s what I found.

I wonder what is wrong with them

and what they’re doing here;

Until I know what’s going on,

don’t want to go too near.

Although some people look quite well,

some others look real sick.

It makes you want to finish up

and get out really quick.

Some people have a real bad cold;

they cough and cough and choke.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

With deepfakes on the rise, how will the 2020 election be affected?

“And I will close by reiterating the central allegation of our indictments, that there were multiple, systematic efforts to interfere in our election,” Special Council Robert Mueller said in his now history-making report. “And that allegation deserves the attention of every American.”

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, June 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Is the tassel worth the hassle?

There’s a time for joy,

A time for tears.

A time we’ll treasure through the years,

We’ll remember always

Graduation day

(Graduation Day by The Four Freshmen — 1956)

Each year at this time, millions of words are uttered by graduates, administrators and guest speakers at high schools and college commencement programs.