Northwestern Press

Monday, July 16, 2018

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In the Shadow of the Cross

As I gazed upon the shadow of the cross ...

our faithlessness became more despicable

He died on the cross

not just for you and me

But for all peoples of all times

Miraculously, he arose from death

giving us hope for another life

A life beyond the darkness of this world

into the brilliant light of His presence

How then can we live onto ourselves?

How can we not serve our neighbor?

It is this reality that prompts us

as we live our lives

In the Shadow of the Cross

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Invite some natives to your property this year

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I have been busy making a list and checking it twice. And thrice.

No, I am not trying to get an absurdly early start to Christmas.

I am trying to decide what new plants to add to my many containers and small backyard plots.

My recent visit to the Philadelphia Flower Show put me in the mood, as it always does, for working in the garden.

And plant and seed catalogs have been filling my mailbox for months, enticing me with gorgeous photos and bargain prices.

Admittedly, small-space gardening is a challenge.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Volunteer Center of the Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, is seeking ethnic diverse volunteers for its volunteer leadership program, Project Blueprint that develops and trains leaders to serve on boards and committees of local nonprofit agencies. Contact Karen Smith at 610-807-0336.

·Easton Urban Farm, Easton, is in need of gardeners, especially those who can join a weekly crew, to help maintain and harvest veggies, flowers and herbs for Easton Area Neighborhood Center food pantry and their Veggie Stand.

Contact Brenda Havens at 219-742-5489 or bhavens50@gmail.com.

A community of ‘ones’

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In the aftermath of tragic events, I tend to feel very helpless and small.

Even though my every day is jam packed with activities that serve to improve the quality of life for others, I feel as if I somehow failed.

It sounds a bit ridiculous because I could never directly make a difference for every single person out there, especially those who live far away and have no connection to me.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Are you owed unclaimed property?

The Pennsylvania Treasury Department is currently holding more than $3.2 billion in unclaimed property, with about one in 10 residents eligible to recoup that property.

And one of those individuals could be you.

In fact, in 2013, our office helped one local person claim $577,662 that was in a mutual fund held by his mother, who passed away in 2003.

Unclaimed property is any financial asset that has been left inactive by the owner for a period of three years or more. If no lawful owner claims the property at that time, it is transferred to the treasury.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘All truths are easy to understand once discovered; the point is to discover them.’ (Galileo Galilei)

It’s been a big week in space, so to speak.

An American astronaut was found to have altered his genes through space travel, the science and space savvy the world over celebrated the 16th letter of the Greek alphabet, and a luminary scientist left us for worlds unknown.

Not that earthbound news did not keep headline readers and writers busy.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Volunteer Center of The Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, is seeking ethnic diverse volunteers for its volunteer leadership program, Project Blueprint that develops and trains leaders to serve on boards and committees of local nonprofit agencies. Register atvolunteerlv.org/proj-blueprint.

Contact Karen Smith, 610-807-0336, Karen@volunteerlv.org.

·Forgotten Felines and Fidos, Germansville, needs volunteer foster parents for their cats and kittens.

Contact Therese at 610-248-7399 or Mary Ann at 610-737-6851.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Redistricting discussed by Pennsylvania House Speaker

Sen. Joe Scarnati, as the Pennsylvania Senate Pro Tempore, and I, as speaker of the Pennsylvania House, filed an emergency application for a stay with the United States Supreme Court on Feb. 21.

Our application makes clear the Pennsylvania Supreme Court did not have the power to invalidate the constitutional, democratically passed congressional map.