Northwestern Press

Monday, July 16, 2018

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS: What on earth are we doing?

Thursday, April 19, 2018 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

Every April millions of people around the world celebrate Earth Day.

I celebrate it every day. One day a year to pay attention to the environment and our surroundings certainly is not enough.

Earth matters to us every day. We drink its water. We breathe its air. We eat its plants.

Focusing attention on our earth each April is a wonderful start, and participating in Earth Day activities often whets the appetite for doing more year-round to preserve our natural home.

Locally, many groups don gloves and spend Earth Day picking up litter.

Another view

Thursday, April 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Sesame Place named first theme park with autism certification

April is National Autism Awareness Month. There are many ways people spread awareness about Autism Spectrum Disorder, such as hosting special fundraisers, wearing blue or posting photos of the iconic colorful puzzle pieces.

On World Autism Awareness Day, which was April 2 this year, Sesame Place decided to kick it up a notch and announce it is officially designated as a Certified Autism Center.

The Bucks County children’s amusement park is the first theme park in the world to achieve CAC status.

Editor’s View

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

And, what will you do when spring finally arrives?

The brave daffodils are long peeking through the frozen ground. Although bent over, as if weeping, they remain defiant, blooming bright yellow despite nighttime and early morning below freezing temperatures.

Patches of short, blue flowers cover the ground where the grass has dared not to grow.

Twigs and branches lay scattered across the backyard, ripped from the trees during damaging winds that marked this past winter.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center for Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Independent Senior Transportation Network LV, Bethlehem, is looking for volunteers to drive seniors to medical appointments, grocery stores, physical therapy, and other places.

Contact Lois Favier at 610-419-1645 or lois.favier@itnlehighvalley.org.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Humble and Proud

Humble: modest, respectful

Proud: honored, gratified

Regarding my gift of writing:

I am “humble” for my ‘task’ God bestowed,

Although I’ll never know why;

As words continue to flow into my mind,

I’m very “proud”

that I can comply.

When I sit down to write,

words hang in thin air;

I don’t even take time to think,

When, suddenly,

words just appear.

I’ve had this “affliction” for many years,

And I write as much as I can;

I never know when it might suddenly stop,

Guest View

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Protecting you and your child’s identity

Identity theft doesn’t only happen to adults with credit cards and bank accounts — it is also happening to children.

The Federal Trade Commission has noted identity thieves deliberately capture the Social Security number of a child in order to obtain employment; apply for government benefits, car loans and mortgages; and open new accounts.

Stealing the identity of children is a growing trend because no one thinks to check the credit records of a child.

Guest View

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Distractions top list of growing dangers for drivers

Distracted driving tops driver’s list of growing dangers on the road, according to a new survey from the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

The annual Traffic Safety Culture Index shows that 88 percent of drivers believe distracted driving is on the rise, topping other risky behaviors such as:

•Aggressive driving: 68 percent

•Drivers using drugs: 55 percent

•Drunk driving: 43 percent

The proportion of drivers who report talking on a cellphone regularly or fairly often when behind the wheel jumped 46 percent since 2013.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer says solution to problem in schools is following God

To The Editor:

“As the schools go, so goes the nation” has been quoted many times throughout the decades.

When I attended public school from 1949 through 1961, there was always a Bible on the teacher’s desk.

Every morning we read 10 verses of Scripture, prayed the Lord’s Prayer, pledged the American flag, and sometimes sang a hymn or a patriotic song. We were then dismissed for class.

We were protected under God’s umbrella, so to speak. Now, there is no longer a Bible on the desk, or prayer, or a song.

Another View

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will a surge of women running for political office change government?

Ever since the 1700s, most political offices in the United States have been held by men at both the state and federal levels.

However, all across America today, Americans are seeing a surge of women running for political offices.

Just recently, actress Cynthia Nixon announced she is running for New York governor.

According to the Center for American Women and Politics at Rutgers University website, approximately 708 women have filed to run in 2018, for either U.S. Congress or in statewide elections.