Northwestern Press

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

Area state senators

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office: 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Offices: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl;

2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Area state senators

Wednesday, January 15, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office: 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Offices: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl;

2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Guest View

Wednesday, January 15, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Guarding against tax identity theft

With everyone getting their financial papers together for their tax returns and working on cleaning out the clutter of 2019, I have once again introduced a House resolution to bring awareness to the crime of tax identity theft and what you can do to protect yourself.

My House Resolution 649 specifically recognizes the week of Jan. 27-31, 2020, as Tax Identity Theft Awareness Week in Pennsylvania.

Tax identity theft is when someone files a fraudulent tax return using another person’s personal information in order to obtain a tax refund.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 15, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Images ...

Born in the 1950s, I have lived in or through seven decades as we enter this new year.

Never did I consider the year 2020. Graduation dates — from high school, from college — were the milestones to be reached.

Maybe it’s the symmetry of the numerals — 20 and 20 — that has led to this journey through mental imagery.

I remember being escorted single file to the lowest level of my elementary school and told to face the concrete wall outside the boiler room.

CHOSEN WORDS

Wednesday, January 15, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Do You Remember?

Do you remember when we were young?

We played outside, and always had fun.

We always were running, and played lots of games;

Our friends joined in

whenever they came.

We had no worries, we had no cares,

We always had lots

of stories to share.

We played ““Kick the ricky,” “Burn the base”

We ran around

all over the place.

“Mother may I?” “Hide and seek,” “Hop scotch,” too

And, other games that were good for you.

When we got tired, we sat and talked;

When we were rested, we went for a walk.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Friday, January 10, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

·Northeast Community Center, Bethlehem, is looking for a volunteer softball/baseball instructor to lead and introduce children in grades 1-12 in learning the fundamentals, sportsmanship, and commitment to play on a softball/baseball team.

Call Jackie Jimenez at 610-691-3355

·Center For Vision Loss, needs volunteers to assist clients with visual impairment during a weekly walk at the Lehigh Valley Mall Wednesdays from 9-10:30 a.m.

Call Rita Lang at 610-433-6018, ext. 225.

Another View

Friday, January 10, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Seeking mental health care should not come with a stigma attached

Everyone, from time to time, experiences emotional ups and downs caused by events in his or her life or from more severe clinical mental health conditions.

Many individuals suffer in silence and do not seek help from mental health care professionals for fear of being judged by family, friends or co-workers.

Oprah recently discussed mental health issues with singer Lady Gaga during the first of several interviews in Oprah’s “2020 Vision: Your Life in Focus” cross-country tour.

CHOSEN WORDS

Friday, January 10, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Strangers

There are no strangers in the world,

Just people we do not know.

We run into strangers every day,

Wherever we may go.

They may be considered strangers,

Until you start to chat,

Once you share some this and that,

You make a new friend, right where you’re at.

I like to talk to strangers,

they have a story to tell.

If your conversation is long enough,

You will know them very well.

It’s amazing when you chat with folks,

You simply run into

Many times you find someone

Who’s somehow related to you!

Guest View

Sunday, December 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Americans don’t think they will get arrested for driving high

Nearly 70 percent of Americans think it is unlikely a driver will get caught by police for driving while high on marijuana, according to a new AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety Survey.

Moreover, an estimated 14.8 million drivers report getting behind the wheel within one hour after using marijuana in the past 30 days.

The impairing effects of marijuana are usually experienced within the first one to four hours after using the drug.

And, marijuana users who drive high are up to twice as likely to be involved in a crash.

CHOSEN WORDS

Sunday, December 29, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The Day after Christmas

The day after Christmas,

I walked through the house;

The presents were gone,

and so was the mouse!

Yes, I said, “and so was the mouse!”

I saw it on Christmas Eve,

as I laid out the gifts,

While getting ready for Santa Claus;

After a very brief pause,

I locked up the house,

And low and behold, there sat a mouse!

I chased him a while, but he outsmarted me,

So I went to bed and covered my head,

In case he jumped on the bed.

I prayed he was gone the next day.

I awoke the next morning and found a note,