Northwestern Press

Saturday, September 22, 2018

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Learn the dangers of swimming

Last week with the excessive heat wave in the Lehigh Valley, I overheard some of my neighbors talking about taking their kids to a local water park.

Shortly after hearing that conversation, I received an alert from wedmd.com about an article titled “July is Peak Time for Illness from Feces in Pools.”

The article dated June 28 and written by E.J. Mundell talked about the safety of recreational swimming in summer.

Summer is a time when many Americans spend their days swimming at water parks, community and family pools, lakes and ponds.

Chosen Words

Tuesday, July 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Nothing’s the same as it used to be

Nothing’s the same as it used to be;

Everything has changed, it seems to me.

No one seems to have time to play,

They hustle and bustle all through the day.

People used to be humble and kind;

Today I think people are losing their minds.

They shoot everyone they can, at will;

They walk into schools and churches to kill!

There are gangs, drive-by shootings, all over the place;

It seems there is no where that you can feel safe.

Morals, there are none; they’ve just disappeared.

Letter to the Editor

Tuesday, July 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer advocates keeping water clean

To the Editor:

Some of you remember your buddy offering to change your motor oil in front of your house for a fraction of the Jiffy Lube price or flush your radiator. He even cleaned up and hosed the old oil down the gutter. Fast and cheap and you didn’t have to drive to an appointment. Those were the days.

And when your wife caught you dumping stinky paint thinner down the sink, your buddy had the answer for that, too.

What was the secret? The sewer drain at the end of the block.

ANOTHER VIEW

Tuesday, July 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Finding freedom every day

How do you celebrate freedom?

In the mid-20th century members of my family and I would often gather midday on July 4 to watch the television broadcast of the movie musical “1776.”

Holiday picnics and fireworks would happen later in the day.

Among my favorite scenes in the musical remains the discussion among John Adams, embodied by Williams Daniels; Thomas Jefferson, portrayed by Ken Howard; and Benjamin Franklin, played by Howard Da Silva; about choosing the national bird.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Tuesday, July 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Animal Health And Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Feed The Children, Bethlehem, is looking for volunteers to join the “Weeknight Box Brigade.”

Contact Beth Baier at 610-419-9356 or beth.baier@feedthechildren.org.

·Meals on Wheels of Northampton County, Bethlehem, is seeking meal delivery volunteers age 18 and older.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, June 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A reading adventure awaits at the library

An old, yellowed newspaper clipping is secured on my refrigerator with a magnet.

It reads: “You may have tangible wealth untold; caskets of jewels and coffers of gold. Richer than I you can never be — I had a mother who read to me,” from “The Reading Mother” by Strickland Gillilan in “The Read Aloud Handbook”

I put this quote on my refrigerator when I was pregnant with my first child, approximately 25 years ago. I learned if I read to my children before they were born, they would recognize my voice after they were born, and that was true.

Chosen Words

Thursday, June 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Politics

Oh my goodness, don’t get me started,

Our politicians are greatly divided!

Republicans, Democrats, it doesn’t matter,

Whatever is suggested gets torn and tattered.

It seems they lost all their direction.

They forgot the American people

Who voted for them, with affection.

They were chosen to serve this nation,

With, dignity, backbone, and pride.

But, whenever the going gets tough,

They go on vacation and hide.

Every time something needs to be done,

It becomes an imposition;

Seems nobody ever wants to give in

Guest View

Thursday, June 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Lyme disease: What you need to know

Pennsylvania has the unfortunate distinction of being the state with the highest number of Lyme disease cases in the country, with 12,200 cases of Lyme disease reported in 2016 (the most recent statistics to date).

Lyme disease is a bacterial infection most people get from the bite of a deer tick. If left untreated, the disease can cause serious physical and neurological problems that are hard to manage down the road.

If you are heading outdoors to go fishing, hunting, camping or enjoying other activities, I encourage you to take the proper precautions.

Another View

Thursday, June 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Suicide: It’s affecting more and more families every day

“Money does not create happiness.” — a proverb

On June 5, fashion designer Kate Brosnahan Spade was found dead in her apartment by her housekeeper. The 55-year-old died by suicide.

Three days later, celebrity chef Anthony Bourdain took his own life in France while working on his CNN television series. He was 61.

I remember hearing of the death of actor Robin Williams in 2014. I loved his movies, especially “Patch Adams” and “Dead Poets Society.” I think any character he played, he performed well and with passion.

Another View

Thursday, June 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Pennsylvania journalists work to deliver fact-based news

Newspaper staffs across the commonwealth work tirelessly, day in and day out, to deliver fact-based news and information.

It is the pledge of dedicated journalists, who are also fellow members of the community, to report real, honest and credible news.

In an era of misinformation and fake news dissemination, it’s even more important to know that newspapers are a reliable resource that deliver accurate, fair and unbiased reporting from which you may form your own opinions.