Northwestern Press

Monday, July 16, 2018

Election Policy

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week to publish columns by local government officials running for office was the April 12 edition. We will continue to cover local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports Susan Wild for Congress

To the Editor:

Our country needs change. Desperately. Change in Washington, D.C. The forces of gerrymandering and huge money in politics are stealing away our democracy.

In D.C., we need a U.S. House member who will work daily on issues important to the vast majority — one who will work to preserve Social Security and Medicare.

One who will fight for our families, working people and the middle class and return decency to Washington.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, April 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Be a donor — don’t take your organs to Heaven

“Be a rainbow in someone else’s cloud.” Maya Angelou

***

Every 10 minutes, a new name is added to the waiting list for an organ transplant. Nearly 115,000 names are on that list. Those names might be faces that are familiar to you or they may be complete strangers.

But as an organ donor, you have the ability to save eight of them. Just you. Eight lives.

April is National Donate Life Month. If you’re not already a registered organ donor, consider changing that status today.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, April 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Husband, wife agree with previous letter writer concerning God in schools

To the Editor:

We are in total agreement with everything stated by Mary Bittner Henry in her Letter to the Editor in the April 5 edition of the Northwestern Press concerning God no longer being allowed in our schools as He was when we were in school.

I, Susan, having graduated from high school in 1969, also have memories of my teachers reading from the Bible, praying, etc.

My husband and I feel sorry for kids these days. Many have no moral compass to guide them through life.

Guest View

Thursday, April 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Are you intexticated?

Each day, about 10 people are killed in distracted driving crashes — contributing to the 37,000 people killed in crashes on U.S. roadways during 2016, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

As National Distracted Driving Awareness Month begins, AAA East Central is launching a new, multiyear initiative that aims to reduce deaths and injuries as a result of cellphone use by drivers.

“Don’t Drive Intoxicated— Don’t Drive Intexticated” is the theme of AAA’s traffic safety education campaign created to make distracted driving socially unacceptable.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publishing columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week to publish columns by local government officials running for office was the April 12 edition. We will continue to cover local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Chosen Words

Thursday, April 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Politics

Oh my goodness, don’t get me started,

Our politicians are greatly divided!

Republicans, Democrats, it doesn’t matter,

Whatever is suggested gets torn and tattered.

It seems they lost all their direction.

They forgot the American people

Who voted for them, with affection.

They were chosen to serve this nation,

With, dignity, backbone, and pride.

But, whenever the going gets tough,

They go on vacation and hide.

Every time something needs to be done,

It becomes an imposition;

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, April 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Boutique at the Rink, Bethlehem, April 30 to June 4, needs many volunteers to make this annual fundraiser successful. Volunteers are needed for setup, donation drop-offs, sale days and break down.

Call Jen Gibbs at 610-861-7556 or jgibbs@cancersupportglv.org.

·Greater Valley YMCA, Allentown, needs volunteers to help with registration, activities, refreshments and event setup and cleanup for its free community event, Healthy Kids Day, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. April 21.

Contact Maribel Tandazo at 610-351-9622 or maribeltandazo@gv-ymca.org.