Northwestern Press

Thursday, October 17, 2019

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Thursday, August 22, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writer says include Barbary Wars in proposed Lynn Township monument

To the Editor:

I received the local mailing recently of the War Memorial proposed to honor our Lynn Township war veterans.

It is a great concept, a perpetual reminder of sacrifices made for our liberties today and an inspirational teaching tool for our children and their children.

I’m glad they chose the township’s Ontelaunee Park in New Tripoli as the site.

I completed the attached form to nominate a local patriot: a New Tripolitan veteran of the War of 1812, buried with his wife on our farm.

Article By: The Press

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

AREA STATE SENATORS

& REPRESENTATIVES

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Focus on achievable property tax reform

My first run for office came in 2002 as a 23-year-old Allentown kid.

I ran because I was concerned about education funding and job creation, labor rights and veterans’ health care.

But when talking to voters, it was clear their biggest concern was — wait for it — property tax relief.

So here I was, someone who never owned a home, talking to voters about how I was going to address the rising costs of property taxes.

To no one’s surprise, I lost that race.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Somebody.Do.Something

Here are the facts as we know them as of this past weekend:

There was another shooting – the 250th of the year.

Aug. 4: Dayton, Ohio: mass shooting in historic district, 9 dead, 27 injured.

Aug. 3: El Paso, Texas: mass shooting in Walmart, 22 dead, 24 injured.

Aug. 2: Pomfred, Md.: domestic shooting, three dead, 1 injured.

Aug. 2: Suffolk, Va.: multiple crime scenes, two dead, three injured.

Mass shootings in the United States this year, according to the Gun Violence Archives include:

January: 28 mass shootings, 50 killed, 86 wounded.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

I Can’t Fix it!

There are so many bad things in this world,

They keep happening every day;

I wish I could make them all go away, but,

I Can’t Fix It!

Hatred, violence, shootings, oh my!

Robberies, beatings and more;

People killing each other,

Just to settle the score, but,

I Can’t Fix It!

All of the happiness we used to share,

Times when everyone used to care;

Seems to have vanished, and I don’t know where, but,

I Can’t Fix It!

I wish there was something that I could do,

To make life safer, for me and you;

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writers thank first responders

To the Editor:

We would like to extend our sincere thanks and appreciation to everyone who came to our assistance after our SUV was hit by a truck at the intersection of Lincoln Avenue and Cedar Crest Boulevard on July 26.

Immediately, people came to try to help us but our SUV was on its side and we were trapped.

One gentleman was able to open the back of our SUV and crawl inside, lowering the back seats and supported me so I was not hanging by my seat belt.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, August 7, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Allentown Rescue Mission, Allentown, needs a volunteer to do weekly gardening: to donate, plant flowers, and weed the Gateway Center entrance.

Call Rosaria Stoops at 610-740-5500.

·Equi-Librium Inc. (Equine assisted activities and therapies), Nazareth, needs volunteers, age 14 and older.

Call Devin Munoz at 610-365-2266.

·Girl Scouts of Eastern Pennsylvania, Allentown, invites volunteers to come and make an impact on girls in the community and watch as they make an impact in the world.

Call Dale Marie Moelter at 267-443-0026.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Saturday, August 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Take a minute to hold the line on robocalls

It’s Sunday afternoon, and my phone has already rung a handful of times.

It could be Microsoft, alerting me that my software license has expired.

Or PECO, suggesting I stay on the line to talk to a representative about lowering my energy bill.

Or a credit card company, stressing that my credit is fine but I might be able to lower my interest rate.

Or the federal government, advising me that I owe income taxes and a warrant has been issued for my arrest.

It’s maddening, right?

Door-to-door scams

Saturday, August 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

AARP

Warm weather brings out the door-to-door solicitations.

Be cautious anytime a stranger comes knocking unsolicited, especially if the visitor is trying to sell you goods or services.

To avoid door-to-door scams, refuse to do business right on the spot.

Always ask for credentials and check with an objective third party to verify someone’s identity.

Never pay for services in cash and be wary of paying upfront for a product or service that will be delivered at a later date.

A receipt is worth nothing unless the business is valid and reputable.

Chosen Words

Saturday, August 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Vacations are a lot of fun

and everyone should try

to take at least one every year,

don’t let life pass you by.

It doesn’t matter where you go,

or how you choose to get there;

As long as you “pack up and go”

and head for anywhere.

You’d be surprised how much

it does for you to be away,

from all your daily problems,

and have some time to play.

A sunny beach is always nice,

relaxing and serene;

The feel of sand between your toes —

so warm, so soft, so clean.

If beaches aren’t your thing,