Northwestern Press

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, February 20, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Where America comes together

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania: The “Miracle at Philadelphia” in 1787, that resulted in our enduring Constitution, united a fractured country struggling to find trust in its government, balance individual freedoms with national sovereignty, establish checks and balances through three branches of government, and find middle ground between small states and large states.

When asked “What type of government have you given us?” Ben Franklin replied, “A republic, Madam, if you can keep it.”

Those words echo through the centuries, and strike at the heart of today’s divided America.

Chosen Words

Thursday, February 20, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Jumping Jack Polka

Won’t you dance along with me,

to the Jumping Jack?

Swirl me all around the room, and

then just spin me back.

Now jump, jump, jump and hop, hop, hop,

it’s really fun to dance.

So, get on up and jump around,

whenever there’s a chance.

Hurry, hurry, don’t you worry,

kick your heels up high,

Stomp, stomp, stomp them on the floor,

While time keeps rolling by.

Move those happy little feet

all across the floor.

Spin and turn and jump around

’til you can’t jump no more!

Shirley Binkley

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, February 5, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

·Gress Mountain Ranch, Orefield, needs volunteers every day of the year. This is an ideal opportunity for individuals or groups to assist with ranch activities, such as feeding and watering the animals. Minimum age with supervision is 10, without adult supervision is 14.

For information, call Kathryn at 610-398-2122.

·Pleasure of Your Company Therapy Dogs Inc., Kutztown, seeks volunteers with Therapy Dogs to visit residents of various nursing homes throughout the Lehigh Valley area.

For more info, call Helene Skopek-Krygier at 570-814-6078.

CHOSEN WORDS

Wednesday, February 5, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

The Seasons of Life

SPRING

In the spring of our life

We are young and dumb;

We know nothing about nothing,

We’re just having fun.

We have no worries or cares,

Or responsibilities;

We keep growing and work

To increase our abilities.

We grow and we grow,

And keep growing each day.

Before you know it,

Summer’s on its way.

SUMMER

Now that summer has arrived,

We start feeling alive.

By now we know about life,

And know how to thrive.

We know how to do things,

We read and we write;

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, February 5, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

When telling truth is politically incorrect

Once upon a time, telling the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth was considered an admirable trait.

Today, to be that blunt can be a liability that is likely to bring instant criticism and harsh social media attacks.

To counter this possible reprisal, we hold back, pull our punches, measure our words.

Recently, Bethlehem Area Superintendent of Schools Joseph Roy, a plain-speaking kind of guy who was named “Superintendent of the Year” in Pennsylvania in 2016, was commenting on why he believed parents send their children to charter schools.

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Writer thanks all for shoe box help

To the Editor:

I am writing to thank Allentown residents for sharing the true meaning of Christmas with children in need this past holiday season.

Because of the generosity of donors in Allentown and across the United States, Operation Christmas Child, a project of Samaritan’s Purse, collected more than 8.9 million shoe box gifts in 2019.

Combined with those collected from partnering countries in 2019, the ministry is now sending 10,569,405 shoe box gifts to children worldwide.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

·Bethlehem Special Olympics is looking for volunteers to work with Bethlehem Special Olympics basketball team.

Call Elizabeth Dellers at 267-221-7740.

·Feed The Children, Bethlehem, is accepting volunteer applications for its teacher store, in which teachers from Title I school districts may shop for free school supplies four days a month.

Call Beth Baier at 610-419-9356.

·National Museum of Industrial History, Bethlehem, is seeking volunteers to welcome guests, sell tickets and merchandise at the lobby admission desk.

Call Robert Kent at 610-694-6637.

CHOSEN WORDS

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Since you went away,

Nothing has been the same;

You will be happy to know that

I continued to carry your name.

I sold the house, and moved away,

But, still think of you most every day.

I’m in an apartment for seniors,

With many things to do;

Keeping busy every day

Helps keep my mind off of you.

The children keep in touch with me,

They are happy and doing well;

They stop to visit pretty much,

And they always keep in touch.

You have a granddaughter you’ve never met,

She arrived six years ago.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Desperately seeking honest people

Last month, my husband bought a new vehicle. We decided to sell the truck he had been driving on a daily basis as well as his beloved 1980 Jeep CJ5 Renegade, which he restored and has cared for more than 30 years.

We posted ads on both letgo and Craigslist, listing the basic info — make, model, year and asking price.

That same day, we received a response of interest for the Jeep. This person wanted to purchase the vehicle — sight unseen — at full price. Since he lived on the West Coast, he said, he would need to hire a company to pick up the Jeep and deliver it to him.