Northwestern Press

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Nothing’s the same as it used to be

Nothing’s the same as it used to be;

Everything has changed, it seems to me.

No one seems to have time to play,

They hustle and bustle all through the day.

People used to be humble and kind;

Today I think people are losing their minds.

They shoot everyone they can, at will;

They walk into schools and churches to kill!

There are gangs, drive-by shootings,

all over the place;

It seems there is no where that

you can feel safe.

Morals, there are none;

they’ve just disappeared.

I don’t know what happened

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Possessed

I am possessed by the words in my head.

I’d rather be sleeping in bed, instead.

They haunt me and taunt me, and drive me insane,

Until I get up and start writing again.

I sort of enjoy all those words, in some way,

It’s fun, and I’m anxious to see what I say!!

The words keep on coming, time after time,

The words continue to end in a rhyme.

I tried to give up, but that didn’t work;

I started to feel like I was a jerk.

Someone was feeding me words I could share,

And suddenly, I didn’t seem to care!

vOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

If interested, contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Equi-Librium Inc., Nazareth, needs volunteers age 14 and older to be horse leaders and side helpers to assist during horseback riding and cart driving lessons for children and adults with special needs.

Another view

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Gap Inc. normalizes breast-feeding

I’m one happy Gap customer. Not only do the company’s jeans fit me well, its ad posted online featuring a mother breast-feeding her child made me especially happy and proud.

During a recent photo shoot, Adaora Akubilo, the model in the photo, paused a moment during the shoot to breast-feed her son Arinze, who got hungry while she was working. The mother and son moment was posted on Instagram Feb. 22 with two photos and the hashtag #LoveByGapBody.

Some of the comments to the photos posted on Gap’s Instagram page include:

Guest View

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Sunshine Week: March 11-17

Truth. Facts. Transparency. Simple words that shine even more brightly as we celebrate Sunshine Week.

This appropriately named week, organized 13 years ago by The American Society of Newspaper Editors and Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, helps all of us realize the importance of what freedom of information truly means.

Information belongs in the hands of the people, and officials of government should never shield the public from this constitutional right.

Guest view

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

School property tax elimination act progresses

I want to provide constituents of the 40th Senate District with the latest update regarding the school property tax elimination fight in Harrisburg and what to expect in the near future.

Citizens across the commonwealth voted Nov. 7, 2017, to support the expansion of the state’s existing Homestead Exclusion program, allowing for up to 100 percent elimination of school property taxes on owner-occupied homes. Passage of the referendum was the first step in providing this critical elimination.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Animal Health And Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Call Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4.

·Gracedale Nursing Home, Nazareth, is looking for active, compassionate volunteers to help take residents to physical therapy and beauty shop appointments in the facility.

Contact Michael Colon at 610-829-3686 or mcolon@northamptoncounty.org.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Add a state day and a parade to Barkley’s long list of achievements

You may know him as No. 26 — Saquon Barkley, the standout running back for Penn State’s Nittany Lions.

In the Whitehall-Coplay area, we know him simply as Sa-Sa, a Coplay resident and 2015 Whitehall High School graduate.

You might have seen Saquon Barkley in the new Nike commercial, sporting the new Vapor Untouchable 3 football cleat.

You might have seen him in the Combine coverage on the NFL Network or videos on Twitter, running a 40-yard dash in just 4.41 seconds, putting up 29 reps of 225 pounds on the bench press and logging a 41-inch vertical.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Winter is Still Here

It hasn’t snowed for several weeks now,

And the temperature outside is delightful;

We enjoy the splendor

of the warm sunny days,

Then the weather begins to turn frightful.

Winter is still here.

The weather man said

we would have lots of snow

A total of 3-6 inches;

After the snowfall,

the temperature will climb,

Up to 50, without any hitches.

You wasted your time to shovel the snow,

And now it’s nowhere to be seen;

The warmth of the day has melted it all,

Chosen Words

Wednesday, February 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A tribute to Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland, Fla.

Our hearts are with you Parkland,

Our tears are flowing, too;

It’s inconceivable, the atrocity,

That was brazenly cast on you.

It’s hard to understand why such

A monstrous thing took place;

To kill 17 people

Is a pure and sad disgrace!

The children never had a chance

To hide or get away,

But the heroes stood in front of them

And took the shots that strayed.

In every situation, there are heroes to be found,

And you discovered many, as you took a look around.

As you gaze upon the empty chairs