Northwestern Press

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, March 12, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

What happened to freedom of choice?

We used to be able to voice our opinions,

Without any repercussion;

But, now when we speak our opinions,

Somehow they think we are Russian!

With every word that comes out of our mouth,

No matter how simple or pure,

We are branded a racist with each word we say!

When will they find a cure?

A cure for insanity, taking over our space;

With hatred and racism all over the place!

We cannot express how we feel about things,

Because of the nasty rhetoric it brings!

I feel like my message is never heard,

Another View

Thursday, March 12, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

COVID-19 concerns impact St. Patrick’s Day in home country

St. Patrick’s Day is a celebration of the patron saint of Ireland and his fabled expulsion of the snakes from the country.

Once upon a time, the day was celebrated with church services and simple parties. When Irish immigrants came to America, they used the day to mark their heritage with big celebrations. Now, the holiday features parades, parties and all things green.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, March 5, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Career Pathways and Literacy (LCCC), Allentown, is looking for volunteer tutors, ages 22 and older, for its adult literacy program. Tutors work one-on-one or in small groups with adults looking to improve their academic skills in various subjects to obtain their high school equivalency. Volunteers must have a Bachelor’s degree in any field, be able to make a commitment of three hours per week, attain clearances and have a flexible schedule.

Call Olga Jaeger at 610-799-1216 email ojaeger@lccc.edu.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, March 5, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

One thing leads to another ...

Well, the roof started leaking the day of the heavy rain at the end of January.

If it wasn’t for stepping in the puddle on the bedroom floor, I would not have looked up to see the telltale water marks on the ceiling.

That meant a trip up the stairs to the attic.

However, before being able to do that, I had to remove the bins full of clothes and Christmas decorations that didn’t quite make it all the way up to the attic and were precariously stacked on the steps.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, March 5, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Did You Notice?

I recently wrote a poem,

“Rain, Rain, Go Away.”

Did you notice the rain has gone?

And the sun shines more each day?

I think God read my poem,

And answered my request;

I know he answers all our prayers,

He does his very best.

I know the rain will come again,

And that will be OK,

As long as we have more sunshine,

Than we do a rainy day.

When we were kids, we used to sing,

Rain, Rain, go away

Come again some other day.

That was many years ago.

But it still works well today.

Guest View II

Wednesday, February 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Dental association reminds parents about importance of children’s oral health

By the time a child sees the dentist for the first time, it is likely that one in five will have some form of tooth decay.

The good news is that tooth decay in children can often be prevented when parents are proactive.

“Oral health is a window to our overall health. The earlier we learn to take better care of our mouths, the better our long term lives will be,” said Dr. Samer Mansour, statewide NCDHM chair and Pennsylvania Dental Association’s member dentist practicing in Erie.

GUEST VIEW I

Wednesday, February 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Home remedies — did mother know best?

While visiting my 88-year-old brother in Summit Hill recently, we remarked about how so many people were sick with colds, leading us to reminisce about some of the bizarre medical “cures” my mother used when we were ill.

I swear she had stock in the Vicks company, now owned by Procter & Gamble. Her favorite was VapoRub.

You know, the foul-smelling menthol stuff you’re supposed to rub on your chest and throat when you have a cold.

Oh, mom would rub it on all right, but then she insisted that I swallow a gob of it, too, for good measure.

Yuk!

Another view

Wednesday, February 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Protecting one’s self from scammers

Everyday, people are scammed for their money or personal information.

Scammers will go to any length, such as using regular mail, email, the telephone and social media to prey on people’s fears and heartstrings to con them.

After receiving a voice mail last Friday stating a lawsuit had been filed against me for tax fraud from a phone number I didn’t recognize, I began researching the number on the Internet.

The phone number, it turns out, is connected to an IRS tax scam.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, February 20, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘American Dirt’ — a tale of controversy

“American Dirt” is the latest controversy sweeping the nation.

As if we don’t have enough controversy. This controversy is about a new novel written by Jeanine Cummins and published by Flatiron Books.

This is a piece of fiction.

The story is about Lydia Quizano Pérez, who lives in Acapulco, Mexico, with her husband, a journalist, and their 8-year-old son. She runs a bookstore.

As the drug cartels take over the city, Lydia’s husband writes a tell-all profile of the newest drug cartel leader.