Northwestern Press

Monday, March 18, 2019

Another View

Thursday, January 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Early morning Christmas Day trip to ER put our minds at ease

My husband, Joe, and I went to bed Christmas Eve filled with anticipation. We couldn’t wait for our 21-month-old son, Benjamin, to wake up Christmas morning to see what presents Santa had left on the living room floor next to the fireplace.

We knew this Christmas would be even more exciting than last year’s holiday as Ben is older, very playful and understands better.

I wasn’t too worried about how Ben’s voice sounded Christmas Eve after dinner and while putting him to bed.

I remember thinking to myself, ‘Darn — he’s getting a cold for the holidays.’

Area state senators and representatives

Thursday, January 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

vOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, January 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Sharecare Faith in Action, Bethlehem, is looking for volunteer drivers age 18 and older to help safely transport people who are elderly and/or disabled to and from doctor appointments and with grocery shopping in the Lehigh Valley.

Contact Lynn Heiney at 610-867-2177 or sharecare8@aol.com.

·Youth Volunteer Council of the Volunteer Center of the Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, is recruiting high school students from grades 10 to 12 and college students to participate in its inaugural Youth Volunteer Council.

For information, call 610-807-0336.

A Pennsylvania Dutch New Year’s Wish

Thursday, January 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

En Glee Bissell des un Sell

Ich winsh dier un dein’ra Fraw; Boova un Techter un all dee os in dei ‘m

House nei un rous gehna, en Glick-sealiches Neies Yohr.

Gott sull eich dess gewwa; ich huff’s werrt wohr.

Mier winsha eich feel gute Glick, un all Um-glick weit tzurick. Weil now des Nei Yohr kumm’t rei, in nawma Yeasus Chrisht.

Dess Alt Yohr is now fer-bei; wos now aw-fongt is yoh gons nei.

Mier leava un mier wolda, fom Neia biss tzu’m Alta. Darrich feel Ongsht un

Schlossberg discusses state hospital demolition

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

In a perfect world, the Allentown State Hospital buildings would be preserved and re-purposed to create jobs and grow our economy, but we have to face the facts.

Taxpayers are paying millions of dollars every year to keep the buildings from falling down, and no private investors want to buy them. The only answer is the one the state came up with – demolition.

Guest View

Thursday, January 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s give the cold shoulder to song’s critics

I am sure you have heard the ruckus raised in early December 2018 when several radio stations and Canadian broadcaster, CBC Radio, decided to ban the traditional Christmastime song “Baby, It’s Cold Outside,” one of the more outlandish offshoots of the #MeToo movement.

After numerous complaints of censorship, including a highly visible campaign by Star Trek star William Shatner, CBC restored the song to its Christmas lineup, as did two of the four radio stations that initiated the ban.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Feed The Children, Bethlehem, is accepting volunteer applications for our Teacher Store from dedicated and outgoing volunteers to help teachers shop for free school supplies and classroom furniture.

Contact Beth Baier at 610-419-9356 or beth.baier@feedthechildren.org.

·Second Harvest Cooking Matters Program needs volunteers for a six-week cooking and nutrition educational course, offered to low-income families at sites in Allentown and Bethlehem.

Contact Laura Scarpino at 484-287-4015 or lscarpino@caclv.org.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The healing power of pets

Before Christmas, my family committed to all staying home one night to watch holiday movies together.

As the time neared for the first film to begin, we found our pets had gathered in the living room as well, taking up a good portion of the couches.

This is not an exaggeration. We have three dogs — and despite their alleged thinking, none of them is a true lap dog.

This happens pretty often. It’s not unusual to see one of us walk in the room, pause when we see the shortage of comfortable seating and choose to find a spot on the floor instead of moving a napping pet.

Another view

Wednesday, December 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Handcrafted Christmas gifts are made from the heart

Christmas is a time of giving and love. For many, the giving has overpowered the love, and hidden the true meaning of the season.

During Christmas, we give gifts to show our loved ones we appreciate them and love having them in our lives. This is why we give.

However, with events such as Black Friday and Cyber Monday, we, as a society, tend to focus on buying the best new gadgets or getting a great price on those expensive toys.

We focus more on what we are buying and not why. The expectation is to buy more and more each year and to continually up the ante.