Northwestern Press

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To Vote

To vote or not to vote

That is the question

Whether it is better

to refrain from voicing

our opinion

Or living with the results

of our decisions

Is something each

citizen of voting age

has to decide

Could it be that you

have always voted for

the WRONG man?

To that, I reply,

Elect a woman!

Could it be that you

feel your vote

will not count?

It will if you

are registered!

Could it be that

you are disappointed

with the quality

of each candidate?

Chosen Words

Wednesday, October 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The October

of Our Lives

Crisp bright days

illumine fall colors

Brilliant gold mixed with a tinge of rust

Days of rain laden with sadness

Sadness at the loss of dear friends departed

All these aspects of the October of our lives

Not yet November with its darkness

and debilitation

Looking toward

December’s long night of the soul

The end of our days

But October

Those golden moments

Of playing with the grandchildren

Reunions with old friends

and acquaintances

Election Policy

Wednesday, October 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 7 Municipal Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the Oct. 5 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, October 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The business of Halloween is big, $9.1 million BIG

When did purple become a Halloween color? And, for that matter, what about green?

Purple may be the harder to pinpoint. But green? The easy answer is — when Halloween became such big business.

According to statistics from the National Retail Federation and Prosper Insights and Analytics released in September, U.S. residents are expected to spend a record-breaking $9.1 billion on Halloween this year.

And that total is up a little over 8 percent from 2016 when sales touched $8.3 billion, also a record.

Travel need not end with old age

Wednesday, October 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Decades ago when older friends and relatives talked of meticulously-organized group tours and bus trips they had enjoyed, I silently vowed never to go that route when my husband and I became seniors. I wanted independence.

My, how we change. I was so wrong.

These days, since my husband quit driving last year and I don’t especially like being behind the wheel for more than an hour or two, we try to schedule at least one such organized excursion every month. Some months we splurge and travel twice.

Another view

Wednesday, October 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The debate on birth control medication needs to end

Talk to any woman you know, and there’s a good chance she has used birth control medication at some point in her life.

In fact, according to a December 2014 Center for Disease Control and Prevention article on a National Survey of Family Growth study, 2011-13, “61.7 percent of the 60.9 million women aged 15-44 in the United States were currently using contraception.”

Guest View

Wednesday, October 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The powerhouse that is Pennsylvania

When you think of the many things our state is famous for, energy production may not be at the top of the list; however, Pennsylvania ranks third in the nation for total energy production.

Thanks to our abundant natural resources and vast infrastructure we are an energy-producing powerhouse and have been for hundreds of years.

Pennsylvania first rose to the top of energy production due to our prosperous timber industry and plentiful coal reserves.