Northwestern Press

Sunday, March 18, 2018

Guest View II

Thursday, January 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Honoring veterans using special ID card

One of the many ways in which our communities show their appreciation of our veterans and current servicemen and servicewomen is by stores and companies offering them discounts and other promotions or services.

In order to receive the discount, a person typically needs to show his or her DD-214 form, which most people do not feel comfortable carrying around with them.

Chosen Words

Thursday, January 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion


Do not sit in judgment when new people you do meet.

Simply extend your hand to them and smile as you greet.

You do not know this person; do not judge them by their clothes.

They may be the sweetest one you’ll ever meet, who knows?

You should not judge a person by the color of their skin.

You need to get to know them first, and know them from within.

You should not judge a person by their body size, for sure!

You do not know their circumstance or what they must endure.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, January 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Letter writer offers different view on mass incarceration

To the Editor:

Regarding the Another View by Mohammed Khaku in the Dec. 28, 2017, edition of the Parkland Press on mass incarceration, I believe the motivation for Mr. Khaku writing his opinion letter is he feels the criminal justice system disproportionately harms minorities.

His goal is to offer the false logic of social justice as a way to protect minorities from becoming modern day slaves, (using his words).

Justice is the deserved treatment of people, be it punishment or reward.

By definition, justice is social because it is of, for and by the people.

Guest View

Thursday, January 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Stopping scammers before they steal from you

It seems like you can’t look at the news or social media nowadays without reading about email and phone fraud.

Scammers will pretend to be just about anybody — utility employees, bank employees, even IRS agents – to try to get hold of your money or your personal information.

It’s enough to make you want to block everyone out. That’s unfortunate, because there are some genuine opportunities out there that can help you save. But sometimes it’s hard to separate them from all the scams and swindles.

Chosen Words

Thursday, January 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Silver Hair

Silver hair usually indicates

That you are growing old.

Along with all that silver hair,

Comes stories to be told.

We’ve lived a long time to earn that hair;

We’ve been through many hard times;

We always managed to work things through,

Without committing crimes.

We watched our brothers go off to war,

And prayed until they came home.

When they did return, they were welcomed with love,

And they no longer felt so alone.

We respected our country,

Our anthem, and flag;

We treated our military with respect.

Editor’s View

Thursday, January 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

My New Year’s wish for 2018

Dess Alt Yohr is now fer-bei; wos now aw-fongt is yoh gons nei.

Mier leava un mier wolda, fom Neia biss tzu’m Alta. Darrich feel Ongsht un Druvvel; darrich Tzittera un darrich Farricht. Darrich Grieg un grossa Schrecka; dess dutt de gons Welt be-decka.

The old year is gone; what is now beginning is all new.

We live through much fear and trouble; through nervousness and through fright; through war and through terror this covers the whole world and we leave this to the disposition of God from the new to the old.


Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, January 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722, ext. 4 or email

·Big Brothers/Sisters of the Lehigh Valley, Allentown, is looking for mentors for students at Fountain Hill Elementary School and for the breakfast program at Paxinosa Elementary School, Easton.

Contact Melissa Moyer at 610-432-8000 ext. 107 or

Angels abound this season, even in public restrooms

Wednesday, December 27, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

’Tis the season for warnings.

We can’t open our bank statements or bills or newspapers and magazines without seeing bold-print messages about being scammed or robbed while we are out and about shopping and celebrating.

We are told to guard our credit cards. Hang on to wallets and purses. Beware of street-corner mailboxes. Watch out for the gas pump, too.

I concede some “bad guys” are out to get us as we are caught up in the hustle and bustle of festivities, but I also think the good guys outnumber the bad.

And not just because Santa is watching.

Guest View

Wednesday, December 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Mass incarceration equates to modern day slavery

The U.S. houses one out of every 100 American in prison and pays for it with our tax dollars. All Americans have a civic duty of learning the history and system behind incarceration in the United States.

According to all faiths, we as citizens have a religious duty to reform the prison system and help the incarcerated, whether they are Muslims or the non-Muslims.

However, there are numerous verses in the Qur’an and narrations of the Prophet Muhammad to provide food, love and to treat captives well.

Another View

Wednesday, December 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Bullying needs to stop

My heart sunk recently when I read news stories about two young girls killing themselves after enduring weeks of bullying at their schools.

In the first story by Ashley Michels of Fox 31, Denver, Colo., the reporter tells of Ashawnty Davis, a fifth grader, who hung herself after she was seen defending herself in a bullying incident caught on video and posted to the app

In the second by Elizabeth Chuck of NBC News, Freddie Avila of Yucaipa, Calif., said his daughter, Rosie, hung herself after being bullied at school and on social media.