Northwestern Press

Monday, July 16, 2018

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center for Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or email cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·America On Wheels Museum, Allentown, is seeking friendly, dedicated volunteers, age 16 and older.

Contact Linda Merkel at 610-432-4200 or director@americaonwheels.org.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will you pay to connect?

It has been a little over a month since news broke of the Facebook data breach involving Cambridge Analytica.

At least 87 million Facebook users were impacted.

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg apologized, appeared before Congress and went on a social media frenzy noting upcoming changes to the social media giant to ensure the privacy of users going forward.

During Zuckerberg’s testimony before Congress, Sen. Orin Hatch asked Zuckerberg if Facebook would always be free.

Zuckerberg responded, “Yes, there will always be a version of Facebook that is free.”

Guest View

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Why is Pennsylvania lending a private equity fund $50 million?

What would you think if you learned a New Hampshire-based private timber company was approved for a $50 million loan from the state of Pennsylvania to purchase timberland in northwest Pennsylvania at a 1-percent interest rate, with generous repayment terms?

What if you learned that the deal was not publicly advertised or competitively bid? Or, that this $50 million loan for the purchase of private timberland by a private company comes from a taxpayer-subsidized state program that is, by law, required to fund improvements to water and sewer plants?

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Is big data trending?

Cambridge Analytica is closing.

In May 2 headlines in The New York Times and Wall Street Journal, the firm announced plans to file for bankruptcy and, effectively shut down.

Cambridge Analytica recently was at the center of a political storm after revelations of its role in the 2016 U.S. presidential campaign and how big data harvested from social media can be used or misused.

In the British edition of the digital magazine WIRED, writer Christopher Stokel-Walker, reports the firm admits to no wrongdoing.

Chosen Words

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Red Roses

Oh, how I love roses, especially the Red!

I got a bunch for Mother’s Day, and very quickly said,

“Oh, thank you very, very much, however did you know,

Red roses are my favorite flower, and I love them so”?

“Mom, how could we not know”?

You mention all the time,

When red roses are upon the shelf,

You say, “I wish that they were mine!”

“What color is your chair, Mom?

You see, that chair is red.

You have red in every room,

And even on your bed.”

“You made it easy for us, Mom,

Serving teens alcohol is harmful to cognition, development

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Last week, I found myself performing the very tedious task of reattaching an ear on a ceramic bunny.

My cat has an issue with the little figure standing upright, so she takes great pleasure in knocking it on its side.

I have no idea why, and usually, I just place the lopsided bunny back on its feet and walk away. But this time, the figurine had fallen to the floor, and the tip of one ear broke off.

To Vote or Not to Vote

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To vote or not to vote

That is the question

Whether it is better

to refrain from voicing

our opinion

Or living with the results

of our decisions

Is something each

citizen of voting age

has to decide

Could it be that you

have always voted for

the WRONG man?

To that, I reply,

Elect a woman!

Could it be that you

feel your vote

will not count?

It will if you

are registered!

Could it be that

you are disappointed

with the quality

of each candidate?

Guest View

Thursday, May 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Saying thank you to our community’s first responders

The words “thank you” do not seem adequate when a group of people have come to your aid in one of life’s challenging moments.

In March, dozens of volunteer firefighters, fire police and emergency medical service personnel reacted quickly when a fire broke out in the plaza where I operate my district office.

My staff and I were already at an event in another part of the district when we received calls that the Bagel Bunch restaurant located right next to us was on fire.

Chosen Words

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Do You Believe in God?

Do you believe in God?

Well, I think that’s up to you.

I believe He’s with me

In everything I do.

I feel that someone’s with me,

As I move around the house;

I don’t know who — I live alone,

And do not have a spouse.

I know He watches over me

As I go through the day;

I always look to Him for help,

If I should go astray.

I hope you do believe in God,

’Cause He can do great things!

Believe in Him and you can share,

The love and joy He brings.

If you do believe in God,

Another view

Thursday, May 3, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Looking back at the history of Mother’s Day

“My mom smiled at me. Her smile kind of hugged me.” — “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio

As I sit down to start this Another View on a Thursday when I’m not in the office, my 13-month-old son and I have already read five books, enjoyed breakfast and a snack, did a Target run, played with blocks, toys and a push cart and listened to the “Moana” soundtrack twice. I’ll throw in there a poopy diaper, too.

And it’s only 10:38 a.m. But this is a good morning — no mild temper tantrums … yet. (And I thought they didn’t start until 2 years old. My bad.)