Northwestern Press

Tuesday, July 16, 2019

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Hello, summer!

According to the annual AAA Memorial Day Travel Forecast, nearly 43 million Americans will start their summers with a Memorial Day weekend getaway.

This long holiday weekend, marking the unofficial start of summer travel season, will see the second-highest travel volume on record since AAA began tracking holiday travel volumes dating back to 2000.

Overall, an additional 1.5 million more people will take to the nation’s roads, rails and runways compared with last year, a 3.6 percent increase nationwide.

Area state senators and representatives

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Ensuring better health outcomes for stroke victims

Thursday, May 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

According to the National Institutes of Health, every 40 seconds someone in the United States has a stroke, and every 40 minutes someone dies from a stroke.

Strokes are the fifth leading cause of death in the United States and the leading cause of serious long-term disability. However, research shows the faster a person is identified as having a stroke and gets treatment, the better the outcome.

May is National Stroke Awareness Month and I would encourage everyone to learn to recognize the signs of a stroke by remembering the acronym FAST:

State Reps. Schlossberg, Schweyer to host Senior Fair on May 17

Thursday, May 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

What good is a program designed to improve the lives of people if those folks don’t know about it?

In my opinion, not much.

Government, private businesses and nonprofits are really good at creating programs that are helpful to people from all walks of life.

I’m most familiar with initiatives sponsored by our state government and can attest to the many opportunities — especially for seniors — to reduce prescription drug costs, make housing more affordable and aid our veterans.

Yet all too often, people are simply unaware of these programs or fail to apply.

Editor’s View

Thursday, May 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Exercise your right: Vote on Tuesday

The 2019 municipal primary is May 21.

This is a true grassroots election.Many of the names on the ballot are your neighbors, friends and even relatives.

You, the voters, will decide on the candidates who will move on to the November election to serve as township supervisors and commissioners, borough council members, school board directors, county commissioners and judges.

They will serve in office, anywhere from four to 10 years, and make decisions that will directly affect you, your children and your community.

Letter writer supports Foose for Parkland School Board

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

It is my honor to recommend my best friend, Patrick H. Foose, for the position of school board director in the Parkland School District.

I have known Patrick for 16 years and we have been best friends since 2003.

Patrick has always been friendly, trustworthy and dependable.

He has always had a passion for education and advocating for others.

Patrick has always been one to stand up for what he believes in and he believes he can be an asset to the Parkland School District.

South Whitehall commissioner supports Diane Kelly on May 21

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I am proud to support Diane Kelly for South Whitehall Township commissioner.

Having served almost two complete terms as commissioner, I can tell you first hand from knowing Diane that she possesses the leadership qualities and skills that will help South Whitehall Township move forward in the right direction that South Whitehall residents and businesses would be in favor of.

Diane began her career in the dental field and was trained in the highest standards of performance and professionalism.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Home

Home is just a building,

Stucco, brick or wood,

But home is where we need to be

For everything that’s good.

.

Home is windows, curtains, shutters, doors,

Hugs and kisses, love and more.

Shelter, comfort from the weather,

Home is where we get together.

Home is where you hang your hat

And where you sleep at night.

Home’s your destination,

Where you go to make things right.

Sometimes home is just a word,

We say it now and then.

Especially when we are tired,

We want to go home again.

LETTERS TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writer says he will no longer sit back and believe all is well

To the Editor:

No longer will I sit back and believe all is well

I always assumed the South Whitehall Township government had my best interest in mind, and I would leave the decisions to those who were elected by my vote.

I attended the meetings regarding Ridge Farms development and I had an “educational awakening” as to how things really work.

Now I examine candidates for the highest office in the township with great interest, and scrutinize their platforms to see if they align with my desires for our community.

Your vote on May 21 can make a difference in township’s future, writer says

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Don’t think primary elections are merely a formality. They have consequences.

For you Republicans in South Whitehall Township who are in favor of higher taxes, more explosive growth, and budgets betting on development for future tax revenue to pay for today’s spending … stay home on May 21.

But, if you are interested in these issues, do your homework and identify the three of five candidates who have firm convictions and passion for these issues.

I have reviewed the platforms of Diane Kelly and Mike Wolk, and they stand for what I believe.