Northwestern Press

Tuesday, July 16, 2019

America flag raising, concert and patriotic address, June 14

Thursday, June 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The historic 112-year-old Allentown Flag Day Association will have a flag raising noon June 14 at Allentown City Hall Plaza (rain or shine) with the Allentown Police Department’s Honor Guard and the Air Force Junior ROTC of Louis E. Dieruff High School participating.

This will be followed at 7 p.m. by a patriotic concert by the Great Allentown Band in Allentown’s West Park at 16th and Turner streets. Concert rain site is the auditorium of William Allen High School.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, June 5, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A Troubled Mind

A troubled mind

is heartbreaking;

It also causes

heart-aching.

You can’t see the sun

through all of the clouds,

They block all your vision,

and cause you to doubt.

You can’t find the beauty

the Lord has made;

You find gloom and despair;

lose control of your fate.

The world all around you

is shutting you in.

It’s so hard to focus,

or manage a grin.

You blame yourself

for the state of your mind,

When, indeed, you are innocent, of such a crime!

Your despair’s a result

Guest View

Wednesday, June 5, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Townships call for broadband expansion, and firefighter crisis to be resolved

Communities need reliable, high-speed Internet if they are to grow and prosper.

Finding a way to ensure all Pennsylvanians have access to wireless broadband was one of the key themes discussed when township officials gathered in Hershey April 14-17 for the 97th annual Educational Conference of the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors.

Other themes were unfunded mandates and the volunteer firefighter crisis.

Another View

Wednesday, June 5, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

“When you feel so mad that you wanna roar, take a deep breath and count to four.”

“It’s almost time to stop, so choose one more thing to do. That was fun, but now it’s done.”

“Will you pick me up when I go to school? Yep, at the end of the day because that’s the rule. Grown-ups come back.”

“If you can’t do it alone, work together. It’s better to work together.”

If you have a young child or grandchild, there’s a very good chance you have heard these lyrics from “Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood,” a popular PBS children’s television show.

Area state senators and representatives

Thursday, May 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

RPA thanks volunteers for help at Cleansweep

To the Editor:

On April 13, the Rural Preservation Association held its 23rd annual Cleansweep for the four Northwestern Lehigh townships. Though it is always a day of hard work, friends and neighbors coming together in community participation never fails to make it enjoyable.

Lowhill Township again generously donated the use of its facilities, and the township crew assisted in preparing for the event by coordinating placement of the containers at the township site.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, May 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Help wanted: Interested in community journalism?

Things are getting busier at The Press. We’ve just finished covering musical theater productions, junior/senior proms and Memorial Day services. Now, we’re preparing for high school graduations — celebrating the achievements of our area students, many of whom we’ve featured on our pages since their elementary days — and the ever-popular summer camps.

Our work here is to capture the happenings in our communities in print, via stories and photographs, and online, through our website.

There’s always something going on, and for that, we’re thankful.

Another View

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Gender swapping filter — hurtful or helpful?

The popular social media site Snapchat released a new feature this month. The gender swap filter allows you to take a picture of yourself or a friend and transform into the opposite gender.

Snapchat allows people to send pictures or short videos, called “snaps,” to friends. The most popular feature is these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear.

Chosen Words

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

I Wish

I wish I could go back in time

to relive my history;

I’d reconnect with friends and family

That meant so much to me.

There is so much I didn’t know

When I was just a kid;

But knowing what I do today,

T’would be a different life I’d live.

Our cousins moved around the state,

Didn’t get to see them much;

Because of all the distance,

It was hard to keep in touch.

Most of my family have left this world

While unable to say “goodbye”

When I think about all that I’ve lost,

It makes me want to cry.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writers give kudos to string orchestras

To the Editor:

Bravo to the Parkland High School Philharmonic String Orchestras for their May 9 performances.

Brian Mishler, director, and each member of the orchestra worked together so well to present the audience with beautiful, well-played music.

The large ensembles represented many nationalities and ethnic groups who played expertly and harmoniously with one another.

They gave us an excellent example of how we as a community and nation should cooperate to create a beautiful and peaceful world.