Northwestern Press

Thursday, October 17, 2019

Article By: The Press

Thursday, October 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

AREA STATE SENATORS

& REPRESENTATIVES

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office: 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Offices: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Guest View

Thursday, October 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Commissioner opposes county budget overtaxing

For the second consecutive year, Lehigh County Executive Phillips Armstrong has delivered a budget with a tax increase to the county board of commissioners.

Last year, a 4.1-percent tax increase was proposed, with the administration stating it wasn’t necessary for 2019.

This year, the administration proposed a 5.5-percent tax increase based on its five-year financial forecast, and again an increase in this amount is not necessary to fulfill the county’s responsibility to the community in 2020.

What is going on?

Another View

Thursday, October 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Vote ‘yes’ on victims’ rights guarantees

We’ve watched enough crime dramas to know that those accused of a crime must be given their “Miranda warnings.”

“You have the right to remain silent; whatever you say can and will be used against you in a court of law …” etc.

Critics often complain that victims and their families are accorded no similar protections, but that, of course, is an oversimplification.

Nonetheless, when you and other voters go to the polls in Pennsylvania on Nov. 5, you will be asked to approve a constitutional amendment that spells out the rights of crime victims.

Election Policy

Thursday, October 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 Municipal Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 3 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Chosen Words

Thursday, October 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

End of

It’s the end of summer

Which to many is a real bummer!

While weather is changing a tad cool

Children must go back, learn at school

Adults returning to days of weekly labor

Everyone remembers all those vacation times savor

Waiting a whole year to come around

Another season of fun to be found

Ann Raubenhold

South Whitehall

Another View II

Wednesday, September 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Girlfriends bring something special to our lives

Lucy Ricardo and Ethel Mertz. Lorelai Gilmore and Sookie St. James. Carrie Bradshaw, Samantha Jones, Charlotte York and Miranda Hobbes. Dorothy Zbornak, Rose Nylund, Blanche Devereaux and Sophia Petrillo. Tasha “Taystee” Jefferson and Poussey Washington. Edina Monsoon and Patsy Stone. Monica Geller, Rachel Green and Phoebe Buffay. Rhoda Morgenstern and Mary Richards.

Election Policy

Wednesday, September 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 Municipal Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 3 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, September 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Won’t you be my neighbor?

Forty-two years ago Sept. 18, a remarkable photo was taken.

On Sept. 18, 1977, Voyager 1 captured the Earth and the moon in the same photo shot by a spacecraft from deep space.

Voyager 1, launched 13 days earlier from Cape Canaveral, Fla., was en route to the outer reaches of the solar system with the particular mission of glimpsing Jupiter and Saturn, according to the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

This was not the first shot of the neighboring pair.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, September 18, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

18 Years Ago

It is 18 years ago

Since our hearts were blown away;

When our enemy hit the twin towers,

Destroying everything in their way!

They ran airplanes into our buildings,

Where thousands of people worked,

The world was alarmed, and frightened,

And thousands of people were hurt.

Thousands of others lost their lives

On that oh, so fateful, day;

That day was Sept. 11, 2001,

And the memories won’t go away.

They will live in our minds forever,

The fear, the sadness, the dread,

The unrelenting uncertainty,

Article By: The Press

Thursday, September 5, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

AREA STATE SENATORS

& REPRESENTATIVES

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office: 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Offices: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli