Northwestern Press

Sunday, March 18, 2018

Guest view II

Thursday, January 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

School property tax elimination act progresses

I want to provide constituents of the 40th Senatorial District with the latest update regarding the school property tax elimination fight in Harrisburg and what to expect in the near future.

Citizens across the commonwealth voted Nov. 7, 2017, to support the expansion of the state’s existing Homestead Exclusion program, allowing for up to 100 percent elimination of school property taxes on owner-occupied homes.

Passage of the referendum was the first step in providing this critical elimination.

Another view

Thursday, January 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The power and right of telling the truth

When I was a young child, I was sexually assaulted by a family member.

When I was a young teenager, I was sexually assaulted and harassed by a classmate.

And when I was a young adult, I encountered street harassment more times than I can count on one hand.

So when the #metoo movement started to catch fire on Facebook, Twitter and other social media platforms, I joined in and reposted the hashtag and message, too.

Guest View I

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Protecting your personal information from tax identity thieves

In an effort to bring greater awareness to the crime of tax identity theft, I have authored a House resolution recognizing Jan. 29 through Feb. 2 as Tax Identity Theft Awareness Week in Pennsylvania.

Tax identity theft occurs when someone steals a person’s personal information, often obtained through old tax returns, and uses it to file current fraudulent tax returns in someone else’s name in order to receive a tax refund.

Volunteer opportunities

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Allentown School District Foundation: Allentown School District Health Service is looking for RNs and/or LPNs to volunteer for their screening team. All school districts in Pennsylvania are mandated to perform screenings on their students from kindergarten to 12th grade every school year. Screenings consist of height, weight, vision, hearing and scoliosis.

Call Dr. Kim Brannan at 484-765-4059 or email

Editor’s View

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Reset for 2018 by choosing your word carefully

How’s the New Year’s resolution coming along? Not so great, you say?

You’re not alone.

This is about the time the frustration sets in and the giving up begins, according to researchers.

Approximately 50 percent of the population makes a resolution to start the new year. Jan. 1 signifies a new beginning. We start the year with super hero-sized powers to do things differently than the year before. There’s a special kind of energy that comes with a chance for change.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A Winter Day

A winter day is quite confusing!

It starts out sunny, oh so nice, then changes every hour.

I look outside and see the drops, we have a little shower.

It’s raining now, and I say “yea,” at least it isn’t snow.

I go outside to take a walk; the wind begins to blow!

It’s only wind; I don’t mind that; I‘ll hang around a while.

I walk around and wave at friends, and give a little smile.

I’ve walked about a mile now, it’s time to turn around,

When suddenly, it’s SNOWING, and it’s really coming down!

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer offended by Editor’s View

To The Editor:

The Editor’s View by Deb Palmieri titled “My New Year’s Wish for 2018,” in the Jan. 4 Parkland Press offends me.

It is very upsetting that women are being questioned by a woman in a position of influence, being accused of seeking a moment of fame and/or not telling the truth.

Obviously the writer has never been in a vulnerable position where screaming, physically retaliating or running away are not viable options.

Guest View II We must fight against proposed newspaper tariffs

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The viability of local newspapers, including the one you are reading now, is being challenged by the proposed newspaper tariff on the import of uncoated groundwood paper — the type that is used to print this newspaper and others across Pennsylvania — from Canada.

Simply put, newspapers in the commonwealth cannot absorb the additional financial burden this proposed tariff is sure to create.

Another view

Thursday, January 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Feminism and the ‘glass ceiling’

On Jan. 10, 1878, the amendment granting women the right to vote was first proposed.

This right wasn’t permitted for women until the passing of the 19th Amendment Aug. 18, 1920. I know there is a lengthy process for such changes, but 42 years seems excessive.

It’s worth noting Merriam-Webster’s 2017, word of the year is “feminism.”

According to a Dec. 13, 2017, article on BBC News, the spike in interest for this particular word originated from the increase in women’s marches, sexual assault allegations and new television shows and movies focusing on women’s issues.

Guest View I

Thursday, January 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Nourishing the family

If you want to know how many items come up when you enter “manure” in the search box on the Penn State Extension home page, the answer is 61.

That is just between the various agricultural programs that provide education to farmers and growers. Really, there should be more.

Manure is a “nice” word or technical term for something else we also call fertilizer. But let’s face it — even in family relationships, sometimes things can get pretty ... well, you know.