Northwestern Press

Monday, March 18, 2019

Another View

Wednesday, January 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Have we seen the last government shutdown over the border wall?

For 35 days, we Americans watched as President Donald Trump shut down the federal government and was at an impasse with the U.S. House and Senate over $5.7 billion in funding for a border wall between the United States and Mexico.

This partial shutdown, which affected federal agencies including the Transportation Security Administration, Centers for Disease Control, the Food and Drug Administration, law enforcement agencies, and parks and museums, left 380,000 federal employees furloughed and 420,000 employees working without pay.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, January 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

One Nation Under God

As we say our Pledge of Allegiance,

we say “one nation under God;”

but, lately, it seems we no longer are,

“one nation under God.”

Our country has lost its direction;

People no longer care.

There’s angst, disagreement, and discord,

And hatred everywhere!

No one agrees with each other;

You are cursed if you think on your own;

If you don’t think like the other guy,

You are labeled and left all alone.

There are two sides to every story.

Each has a tale to tell;

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Because the boys watching today will be the men of tomorrow’

Have you seen the new Gillette commercial geared toward men that addresses bullying, toxic masculinity, sexual harassment and the #MeToo movement?

The commercial, which debuted Jan. 14 on social media, shows boys fighting while adults look on, saying “boys will be boys,” instances of bullying, clips of sexual harassment and more while the narrator asks, “Is this the best a man can get?”

The narrator continues by saying, “Something has changed and there is no going back,” while showing news clips of current events of sexual harassment and more.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Bethlehem Special Olympics needs additional basketball volunteers, age 14 and older Monday nights. Practices are from 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. at Northeast Middle School. Volunteers must know the basics of basketball, commit to attending most practices and become Class A volunteer by completing a background check and online training.

Contact Dana Lindsey at 610-264-3616 or email volunteers@bethlehemsopa.org for information.

Guest View

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Tax identity theft is on the rise

The “identity” of millions of individuals continues to be stolen by savvy thieves each year in the United States.

Today’s thieves are going after not just old bank statements, but old tax returns, and they are not just rooting through the trash, but are often using skimmers to collect credit card information or are getting information electronically through poorly safeguarded personal computers.

Chosen Words

Thursday, January 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Aging

My body is aging, my mind is not,

I’m still giving life everything I’ve got.

Don’t sit and cry ’cause your life’s passing by,

Keep fighting, and give life a ‘shot.’

A “shot” of pleasure, a shot of “joy;”

A “shot” of friendship, a brand-new toy.

A trip to the mall for a day of fun,

A day at the beach, to soak up some sun.

You’re never too old to learn new things,

It’s exciting to see what it might bring.

Keep your mind sharp, Try doing new stuff;

You’ll see that you just can’t learn enough.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Lessons of compassion taught on a famous street

Dear reader:

I am concerned about Lily.

Last month, Sesame Street, the beloved children’s program responsible for lessons on topics such as numbers, letters and rubber duckies, revealed to online viewers one of its cast members, a deep fuchsia plush muppet with long hair named Lily, was dealing with homelessness.

Lily, who is described as about 7 years old, and her family lost their apartment and moved in with Lily’s teacher and friend Miss Sofia.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Skiing

I was asked to write a poem about skiing,

Something I know little about;

I do know, however, it’s not for me,

Beyond a shadow of a doubt.

I know it’s a sport that many love,

It must be a thrill to be,

High up on the mountain top,

Waiting to be free;

Waiting to ski to the bottom

While gliding through the snow,

Must be an awesome feeling,

But I’ll never, ever know.

To freeze your nose and freeze your toes,

Doesn’t sound fun to me.

Inside the chalet, watching the fire,

vOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, January 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Sharecare Faith in Action, Bethlehem, is looking for volunteer drivers age 18 and older to help safely transport people who are elderly and/or disabled to and from doctor appointments and with grocery shopping in the Lehigh Valley.

Contact Lynn Heiney at 610-867-2177 or sharecare8@aol.com.

·Youth Volunteer Council of the Volunteer Center of the Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, is recruiting high school students from grades 10 to 12 and college students to participate in its inaugural Youth Volunteer Council.

For information, call 610-807-0336.