Northwestern Press

Monday, May 27, 2019

Chosen Words

Friday, May 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

I Don’t Agree

I don’t agree with everything I hear.

I don’t agree with everything I see.

You don’t agree with me and that’s OK.

America was made that way!

America means freedom, in all we say and do.

I think that is wonderful, and I hope that you do, too.

I don’t agree with burning flags,

I think that’s a disgrace.

I wish that everyone,

Could find a way for

Hatred to erase.

Shirley Binkley

Cedar View Apartments

shrobi53@gmail.com

Election Policy

Friday, May 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the May 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Friday, May 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writer questions swimming pool proposal

To the Editor:

I was not able to attend the recent Lynn Township board of supervisors’ meeting when a swimming pool project for our township was proposed.

I base this comment on the extensive coverage provided by the Northwestern Press in the April 18, 2019 issue.

The group proposing the pool offered their own survey.

The 89 percent favorable responses of the only 490 people surveyed represents support of only about 10 percent of our township.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

On-the-job training may

Before it was a “thing” to do, my mother took me to work.

At the time, she worked for what was Pet Frozen Foods on Downyflake Lane in Allentown. In my childhood understanding of manufacturing, waffles were made there.

My mom had worked at Pet for several years on different shifts and was at the time on the overnight shift, which meant she was home in the afternoon when my siblings and I got home from school, a selling point, she said.

I am not really sure why she took me to work that day. It probably involved me asking repeatedly to go.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Center for Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·American Red Cross of the Greater Lehigh Valley, Allentown. Help the Red Cross SOUND THE ALARM AND SAVE LIVES by volunteering to share fire-safety tips and install free smoke alarms (by appointment throughout Allentown) April 27.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Looking Back

As I look back upon my life,

I feel really good,

There’s not too much I have missed

I did all that I could.

My youth had lots of hard times,

With so many sisters and brothers;

But it taught us all good lessons,

And to be kind to one another.

I was taught to care and share,

For toys, there were not many.

Sometimes we made our own toys,

With cardboard, string or anything,

In hope they would bring us joy.

Sometimes we played with pennies.

We’d lay them on the floor

And try to make designs.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the May 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Another View

Friday, April 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To celebrate Earth Day, what will you do to impact our world?

If you’re like me, you’re enjoying the warmer weather that comes with spring and anticipating the really warm days of summer.

One thing I don’t enjoy is the buzzing I hear swarming around me when I’m outside at an event or playing with my son in the backyard.

Although I have a fear of bees — I’ll save the traumatic childhood experience for another time — I know how important they are to plants, our environment and even the economy.

Chosen Words

Friday, April 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Flowers

Flowers are so beautiful,

They are every shape and size;

Flowers bring you happiness

And sometimes make you cry.

Flowers are for birthdays, holidays and more.

Doesn’t matter what the season,

They are welcome for any reason.

You plant a tiny little seed,

And then you watch it grow.

Before you know, you have a flower,

Full bloom and ready to go.

Most flowers are fragrant,

But others have no smell.

Nevertheless, they are beautiful,

And stand out just as well.

The colors are unending, blue, green,