Northwestern Press

Tuesday, January 22, 2019

Long, Dark Nights

Wednesday, December 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

What is it about these long, dark nights

That we find so foreboding?

Awakening to dark mornings

Commutes to work in darkness

Walking dark alleys in the city

Returning home in the darkness

Leaves a blot on our lives

Scant sunlight to revive

Our long, dark night of the soul

From awareness of a world in which

Evil deeds are most noteworthy

And war is ever on our minds

Oh, Light of the World

Enlighten our dark, weary world

With the light of your illuminating love

This Hanukkah

This Christmas

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, December 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Decluttering is good for our health and happiness

Thank you all who commented on my Oct. 17 Editor’s View on dealing with our Generation Y, Z and millennial family members.

It is good to know I am not alone in my frustration with our younger generation not wanting “things” — instead, wanting experiences.

Since that Editor’s View, conversations have continued with the fact our children and grandchildren will not want our “things” when we are gone.

I am a person who sees the value of and appreciates the connection with “things” from my grandparents, which my youngest has already said he does not want.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Success

Some people think of success,

As being wealthy and rich,

But that’s not always true.

Success can mean completing a challenge,

That was very difficult for you.

Success can mean being happy

In a world full of turmoil,

Or winning a competition

That was full of pitfalls

And spoils.

Not everyone can have success,

People sometimes fail

At accomplishing a project

With major intricate detail.

Some people fail at sharing,

They can’t communicate;

They can’t express their feelings,

Startups for Soldiers helps veterans to own businesses

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

With November commemorating Veterans Day and highlighting National Veterans Small Business Week, I wanted to spotlight a program I created to help those veterans seeking to start a business in Pennsylvania.

The Startups for Soldiers program was signed into law in 2016.

The law waives state business startup fees for individuals transitioning to the civilian workforce from the U.S. Armed Forces, as well as those serving in reserve units and the National Guard.

Startups for Soldiers is based on a similar program that has been successful in Missouri.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Allentown Rescue Mission invites volunteers to a Christmas gift wrapping party Dec. 15.

Sign up at signup.com/go/hOTfzxZ.

·Allentown School District Foundation is looking for 100 volunteers to read to kindergartners in 60 classrooms in 14 schools across the city.

Contact Vicki at 484-765-4121 or newhardv@allentownsd.org.

·Holiday Hope Chests still need 1,500 boxes filled with age appropriate items for Lehigh Valley’s children in need.

To participate, go to volunteerlv.org/holiday-hope-chests and fill out a 2018 Donor Pledge Form.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

When snow is glistening in the lane, be prepared

You know it is bad when a tweet like this appears in your feed.

“Statewide PENNDOT update. Speed Restrictions. The speed limit has been reduced to 45 mph throughout PA.”

Twitter users received that message Nov. 15 from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation when a powerful snowstorm blasted into the state.

Drivers experienced the pounding weather firsthand. Area roadways went from snow dusted, to covered, to dangerously slippery in what seemed like a flash. Roads and highways closed.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The snow that came and covered everything

Remained through daylight and, as evening fell,

Followed by sleet, became an icy sheet,

Coating the wintry scene in sparkling beauty.

The house next door,

ablaze with indoor lights,

Shone like a mighty fortress in a field

Of frozen yard, empty of summer’s harvest;

A silent solitude no longer used

For picnicking, or busy child at play.

My tree nearby — that I could touch in summer

By reaching out my hand to its green leaves,

Beckoning to me, gentle and alluring-

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS: In-home care can keep seniors independent

Thursday, November 22, 2018 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

Sometimes others’ bad experiences scare us so much we become afraid to try similar endeavors ourselves.

Such was the case with me.

I had heard so many horror stories over the years from friends, neighbors and relatives about hiring home-care aides, when I recently was faced with that task, I was paralyzed with fear.

Reports of stolen watches and jewelry, cash and other valuable belongings filled my thoughts, making any meaningful action impossible.

It seemed every person I talked to gave me dire warnings.

Startups for Soldiers helps veterans to own businesses

Thursday, November 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

With November commemorating Veterans Day and highlighting National Veterans Small Business Week, I wanted to spotlight a program I created to help those veterans seeking to start a business in Pennsylvania.

The Startups for Soldiers program was signed into law in 2016.

The law waives state business startup fees for individuals transitioning to the civilian workforce from the U.S. Armed Forces, as well as those serving in reserve units and the National Guard.

Startups for Soldiers is based on a similar program that has been successful in Missouri.