Northwestern Press

Saturday, November 17, 2018

Guest View I

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

National Newspaper Week, Oct. 7-13

Newspapers explore many of the topics that affect your senses.

The stories we report may get your blood rushing, wrinkle your brow, inspire you to call a friend about an event or simply entice you to relax and read about your favorite team that pulled out a victory destined to be a loss.

We cover the hard stuff. As curious watchdogs who investigate and report the truth, we are sometimes taken down any number of roads that may not be very popular.

That chronic chest cold may be more than you think

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The nasty cycle repeated itself for decades.

Verna, a public school teacher, would suffer a serious bout of bronchitis.

A week of antibiotics knocked out the infection enough that she would feel ready to return to the classroom.

Two weeks later the bronchitis was back.

So were the antibiotics.

After repeated bronchial infections year after year, she finally sought the opinion of a pulmonary specialist.

In-depth testing and a CT scan showed she had bronchiectasis, a lung condition that results in respiratory damage.

That chronic chest cold may be more than you think

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The nasty cycle repeated itself for decades.

Verna, a public school teacher, would suffer a serious bout of bronchitis.

A week of antibiotics knocked out the infection enough that she would feel ready to return to the classroom.

Two weeks later the bronchitis was back.

So were the antibiotics.

After repeated bronchial infections year after year, she finally sought the opinion of a pulmonary specialist.

In-depth testing and a CT scan showed she had bronchiectasis, a lung condition that results in respiratory damage.

Election Policy

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 General Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 11 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

’Tis the season for flu prevention

It’s October and that means, for me at least, it is time for a flu shot.

On the record, I don’t like getting flu shots, although the anticipation really is the worst part. The shot itself is over in moments. The paperwork takes longer than the physical needle stick.

However, the flu shot is better than being sick, homemade chicken noodle soup notwithstanding.

And this year, the shot may be more important than ever.

The 2017-18 flu season is on record as particularly long and virulent.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The October of Our Lives

Crisp bright days

illumine fall colors

Brilliant gold mixed with a tinge of rust

Days of rain laden

with sadness

Sadness at the loss of dear friends departed

All these aspects of the October of our lives

Not yet November with its darkness

and debilitation

Looking toward

December’s long night of the soul

The end of our days

But October

Those golden moments

Of playing with the grandchildren

Reunions with old friends

and acquaintances

Guest View I

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

National Newspaper Week, Oct. 7-13

Newspapers explore many of the topics that affect your senses.

The stories we report may get your blood rushing, wrinkle your brow, inspire you to call a friend about an event or simply entice you to relax and read about your favorite team that pulled out a victory destined to be a loss.

We cover the hard stuff. As curious watchdogs who investigate and report the truth, we are sometimes taken down any number of roads that may not be very popular.

National Fire Prevention week

Thursday, October 4, 2018 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

OCTOBER 7-13

According to the National Fire Prevention Association website, this year’s National Fire Prevention Week, Oct. 7-13, campaign, “Look. Listen. Learn. Be aware. Fire can happen anywhere,” is about educating people on the three basic but essential steps to take to reduce the likelihood of having a fire — and how to escape safely in the event of one:

LOOK

Look for places fire could start. Take a good look around your home. Identify potential fire hazards and take care of them.

LISTEN