Northwestern Press

Monday, July 16, 2018

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Hoist the balloons for the month of June

Month that you are those near and far

Attend celebrations as countless as stars

Sailing through birthdays, graduations, weddings, anniversaries, reunions

From the first to the 30th

We attend each event

Purchase gifts galore

So there’s ample delight

Such a splendid occasion is June

What a sight!

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

GUEST VIEW I

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Some tips if you are planning to move

Are there new faces in your neighborhood?

If so, it’s no surprise. At PPL Electric Utilities, we know that more than 200,000 of our residential customers set up new electric service or transfer their existing service in an average year.

That’s about 15 percent of our residential customers, which might seem like a lot at first.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, May 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In my dream I could see it “clear as day”

There it was on the calendar

The 33rd day of May

I wonder ... Is this some metaphor? ... or a portent?

So much happening outside our frame of reference

Terrorist attacks

Climate and environmental changes

Severe seismic shifts

Another Arab Spring?

“Wars and rumors of wars”

Person’s sensibilities are shaken

The Mayan calendar ended Dec. 21, 2012 (winter solstice)

Will a new calendar emerge?

Or will there be collapse and chaos?

Perhaps a new world order ...

Editor’s View

Thursday, May 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A weekend of love vs. hate

The weekend of May 18 to May 20 was a study in the contrast between love and hate, good vs. evil.

On Friday, hate prevailed as Dimitrios Pagourtzis, a 17-year-old student at Santa Fe High School, Santa Fe, Texas, walked into the school’s art complex with a shotgun and a handgun and began shooting at his fellow students.

In the end, 10 people were slaughtered. Another 13 were wounded. Pagourtzis was taken into custody following a shootout with police.

Guest View

Thursday, May 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Summer travelers seeking sunny destinations

Millions of Americans are counting down the days until their summer vacations begin, with most U.S. travelers planning trips to warm-weather destinations.

Orlando has retained its top spot as the most visited domestic travel destination, while Honolulu and Maui, Hawaii, have both grown in popularity compared to last summer.

Care for the caregiver first

Thursday, May 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A few weeks ago I heard a startling statistic that frightened me.

During a caregivers’ class at a local hospital, the facilitator told attendees that 80 percent of caregivers die before their patient does.

Initially, that news sounded unbelievable. Surely there was some mistake.

But the more I thought about that high figure, the more sense it made.

Often caregivers are consumed by the strenuous routine required in providing 24-hour care for a loved one who is dependent on them.

According to studies, the caregiving role is tremendously stressful.

Tribute planned for Vietnam veterans

Thursday, May 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Photos are needed

The Department of Military and Veterans Affairs wants to help pay tribute to all of the men and women from Pennsylvania who died as a result of the Vietnam War.

For the past two years, the DMVA has partnered with the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund, Washington, D.C., to find a photo of every Pennsylvanian whose name appears on the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall.

Another View

Thursday, May 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Take some time this Memorial Day weekend to honor the fallen heroes

Many Americans will be celebrating this year’s Memorial Day with a picnic or barbecue.

However, Memorial Day, is not just a day to take time off from work, it is a day for Americans to honor fallen servicemen and women.

Those who serve make the ultimate commitment to serve their country during disaster and war. Because of these individuals serving in the U.S. Air Force, Navy, Marines, Coast Guard and state National Guard units, we have our freedom.

Guest View

Thursday, May 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Applying for veterans benefits should never come with a fee

Veterans and their dependents should never pay for help to apply for veterans’ benefits, according to the Pennsylvania Department of Military and Veterans Affairs.

That’s because federal and state law makes provisions for accredited veterans service organizations to provide free advice and assistance to veterans as they apply for veterans’ benefits.

Bonuses available for veterans of Persian Gulf Conflict

Thursday, May 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Eligible veterans who served on active duty in the Persian Gulf Theater of Operations from Aug. 2, 1990 to Aug. 31, 1991 have until Aug. 31, 2018 to collect a special one-time payment to honor their service and sacrifice.

Applications for the Persian Gulf Conflict Veterans Bonus are due by Aug. 31, 2018.

The bonus program, administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Military and Veterans Affairs, pays $75 per month for qualifying, active-duty service members, up to a $525 maximum.