Northwestern Press

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 1, 2012 by To Vote or Not to Vote in Opinion

That is the question

Whether it is better to refrain

from voicing our opinion

Or living with the results

of our decisions

Is something each citizen of voting age

has to decide

Could it be that you have always

voted for the WRONG man?

To that, I reply,

Elect a woman!

Could it be that you feel your vote

will not count?

It will if you are registered!

Could it be that you are disappointed

with the quality of each candidate?

Think of how each of us

has disappointed someone

at some time

Another View

Thursday, November 1, 2012 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

Learning how to discern the whole truth

I don't know about you, but the amount of information presented during the presidential and vice presidential debates this year sometimes left my head spinning.

While I found it easy, as each debate concluded, to determine which candidate presented himself most admirably, knowing how to interpret the purported "facts" presented was a challenge with which I needed some help.

The candidates spent weeks preparing for these debates, carefully crafting ways of presenting their viewpoints that would read well to their target audiences.

Editor's View

Thursday, October 25, 2012 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

Photo identification: Is voting less important than clearing a stuffy nose?

"... Sometimes you want to go where everybody knows your name, and they're always glad you came ... You wanna be where everybody knows your name ..." ("Cheers" theme song "Where Everybody Knows Your Name" by Gary Portnoy and Judy Hart Angelo)

There once was a time in this country when a man's word was his bond and children were told by their parents not to bring shame upon the family name.

Doors were left unlocked and youngsters played outside freely and unsupervised.

Editor's View

Thursday, October 25, 2012 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Is photo identification worth the cost to Pennsylvania voters?

In 1907, Samuel Adams wrote about the right to vote.

"Let each citizen remember at the moment he is offering his vote that he is not making a present or a compliment to please an individual or at least that he ought not so to do; but that he is executing one of the most solemn trusts in human society for which he is accountable to God and his country. "

When State Rep. Daryl Metcalf, R-12th, Butler County, decided to introduce legislation to require voter identification in March 2011, the ability to vote in Pennsylvania came into question.

Another View

Thursday, October 18, 2012 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

Who are the voters?

Who are the voters in the Lehigh Valley the candidates will attempt to appeal to until Nov. 6?

Whether your political affiliation is associated with the color red or blue, we all share one common desire: we want the candidate we vote for to represent our interests and the well-being of America.

Today, the political discourse among elected officials and those running for public office is contentious and rancorous.

And, that is coupled with an unsteady and unpredictable economy each of us wrestle with daily.

Guest View

Thursday, October 18, 2012 by RON DZWONKOWSKI Special to The Press in Opinion

National Newspaper Week: Your newspaper will be there for you

A simple statement, but let's break it down a bit.

Your newspaper … That's right, all yours, assembled just for you, tailored to where you live, emphasizing the things that affect you, keeping track of the people and players in your community.

Your newspaper is put together by people in a newsroom built for you, where people work to supply information that matters to you, from the details of that crash you passed by Tuesday to biographies of the candidates for your school board to notices of what's on sale at your local supermarket.