Northwestern Press

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Letter to the editor Writer supports Second Amendment right to bear arms

Thursday, February 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

At what cost does freedom come? And what are we willing to pay to keep it?

We generally delegate that duty to our armed forces against outside enemies.

Did we ever think the day would come when we would pay a price to have to stand up against the enemy of our freedom coming from our own elected officials?

The latest attempt from our liberal government to chip away at our Second Amendment right to bear arms has resulted in the shut down of the Eastern Sports and Outdoor Show scheduled for Feb. 2-10.

Another view

Thursday, February 7, 2013 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

The Super (commercial) Bowl: Sunday night entertainment

It was Super Bowl Sunday, and I was home alone. With my husband out of town, Sunday evening was all mine to do as I wished.

I was looking forward to having complete control of the TV remote.

I started the evening watching a recorded episode of "Downton Abbey," the current Masterpiece Classic series.

When 6:30 p.m. rolled around, the episode had just ended and I surfed the TV listings for quite awhile.

In the end, finding nothing else of interest to watch, I decided to turn on the Super Bowl game after all, but not really to watch the game.

Rep. Mike Schlossberg assails Gov. Corbett's liquor plan

Thursday, February 7, 2013 by MIKE SCHLOSSBERG State Rep. 132nd in Opinion

Gov. Tom Corbett's proposed privatization of state liquor stores is another example of governance by ideology, not reality.

Liquor sales generate $500 million worth of yearly state revenue. But, at a time when the state budget is already thin on revenue, this governor seeks to divest an important asset and set the stage for increased school taxes.

In an attempt to sell his plan, Corbett proposes to make education the beneficiary of proceeds from the sale of liquor stores.

A look at the year ahead

Thursday, January 31, 2013 by JULIE HARHART State Rep. 183rd in Opinion

On Jan. 1, I took the oath of office for the 2013-14 legislative session of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives.

This was a great time to assess the past and look ahead to the future. As 2013 begins, the new legislative session provides us with many challenges and opportunities to make Pennsylvania better.

Legislatively, we have an aggressive agenda ahead of us, with the state budget being our No. 1 priority.

Editor's View

Thursday, January 31, 2013 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

Administration's encroachment on the Second Amendment is unacceptable

U.S. Constitution Amendment II: "A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed."

The Founding Fathers of this country lived under the tyranny of the monarchy of King George III of England.

The social and political changes in the 13 colonies leading to the American War of Independence, (1775-1782) put an end to that autocratic rule.

Deadline extension, law changes protect volunteer organizations

Thursday, January 31, 2013 by GARY DAY State Rep. 187th in Opinion

Since the Pennsylvania General Assembly updated the state's small games of chance law during the last legislative session, there has been quite a bit of confusion – and many questions – surrounding the new updates and the impact of those updates on the nonprofit organizations and charities in our communities.

I take great care in protecting our volunteer organizations that do so much for our community.

The Small Games of Chance Act had not been updated in more than 20 years and was in need of a modernization.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, January 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·American Cancer Society, Bethlehem, is looking for office volunteers to help with data entry and mailings.

Call Lyndsey Cumello at 610-921-2329 or lyndsey.cumello@cancer.org.

·Meals on Wheels of Northampton County, Bethlehem, needs persons willing to deliver meals to homebound clients living in the Slate Belt area.

Contact Janet Soos at 610-691-1030 or janets@mealsonwheelspa.org.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, January 24, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Don't judge a life by its obituary

I read an obituary in a newspaper last night. It took me all of four seconds.

Just 12 words long, this final tribute, so to speak, listed only the man's name, age, most recent town of residence and date of death. It told us nothing about the person.

Whenever I see one of those tiny obits, especially on a page with others that take up an entire column or two, I feel sad.

Although the little obits at the bottom of the page may be sparse, they speak volumes.

Perhaps they tell us no one cared enough about the deceased to pay him or her proper tribute.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, January 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports FF&F spay/neuter program

To The Editor:

I am writing regarding Debbie Galbraith's article [Editor's View page A10 Parkland, Northwestern Press] on the ASPCA commercials published Jan. 17 2013.

I liked what you reported about the ASPCA, but I am somewhat dissappointed you did not mention Forgotten Felines and Fidos shelter in your list of local animal organizations.

They have resided in Germansville, Heidelberg Township since 2000 and have a lot of cats for adoption, provide low-cost spay/neuter and desperately need volunteers.