Northwestern Press

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, January 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·American Red Cross of the Greater Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, depends on volunteers.

Contact Susan Kalkhuis-Beam at 610-865-4400 ext. 219 or volunteerservices.NEPA@redcross.org

·Compass Academy, Allentown, has a chance to exhibit its latest youth campaign "2 Million Bullets" at the Eastern Sports Show, Harrisburg, from Feb. 2-10.

Contact John Annoni at 610-778-0576 or info@campcompass.org.

·KidsPeace, Orefield, needs community volunteers to make their inaugural 5k and 1-Mile Family Fun Mud Run April 27 a success.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, January 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer provides update on son's condition

To the Editor:

I want to thank the Northwestern Press for covering my efforts to help my son Jimmy.

Because of the picture you published Nov. 22, 2012, (For Jimmy: blink for jimmys kidney care), local community members are becoming more aware of my situation.

I was asked to send updates and although my website at giveforward.com has expired, the National Foundation for Transplants has set up a more permanent fundraising website for my son at patients.transplants.org/jamesponicsan.

Chosen Words

Thursday, January 10, 2013 by Greiving for the Bison in Opinion

Though centuries have passed

Still, my heart grieves

for the herds of bison

that roamed this country's plains

Just as it does for

those native peoples

who cared for this land

Who saw the buffalo as brothers

Using only that which was needed

Who revered as sacred the trust

between the land and its creatures

We would do well to view creation in the same way

Yet, is it not too late to reverse our wanton ways?

Even now, as I learn the delectable

taste of grilled buffalo meat

Another View

Thursday, January 10, 2013 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

A resolution worth keeping

New Year's resolutions come and go.

Often they are short-lived, typically lasting no longer than a few days to a few weeks. What should each of us resolve to do this coming year? What should each of us hope for and wish for this new year?

Throughout our communities are family members and neighbors who may be in need or want.

There are those at our workplaces, schools and churches who are hurting and in need of an ear, shoulder, hand or heart.

Editor's View

Thursday, January 10, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Drug trends: Teenagers finding new ways to get high

Alcohol is still the preferred substance for teens, according to Jennifer Britland with the Center for Humanistic Change, in Bethlehem.

Britland led a drug-trend training program recently for middle and high school personnel from Lower Macungie, Easton, Northwestern, Whitehall, Parkland, Freedom and the High School for the Performing Arts along with Lehigh University students and health care individuals.

The purpose of the training was to alert attendees to the trending drugs, recognize the signs and symptoms and learn the strategies to assist those with these problems.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, January 3, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer defends right to own guns

To the Editor:

Murder originates straight from the heart not from a weapon.

From the heart comes the inspiration to kill, maim, torture, etc. In the heart is anger, hate, jealousy, greed, coveting and selfishness.

Kind, honest and loving people don't let these things control them.

Murder can be carried out by someone using a rock, vehicle, baseball bat, water, plastic bag, poison, etc.

There is always a weapon or method available when someone wants to hurt or kill. Guns are just one method.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, January 3, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Lehigh Valley Score, Bethlehem, seeks experienced business professionals to offer in-person and online counseling and advice to start ups and in-business owners of small businesses and nonprofit organizations.

Contact Mitzi Colella at 610-266-3000 or mcolella@lvscore.org.

·Share Care Faith in Action, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to assist clients in Lehigh and Northampton counties.

Contact Lynn Marie Heiney at 610-867-2177 or ShareCare8@aol.com.

Editor's View

Thursday, January 3, 2013 by DEB PALMIERI in Opinion

My New Year's wish for 2013

Dess Alt Yohr is now fer-bei; wos now aw-fongt is yoh gons nei.

Mier leava un mier wolda, fom Neia biss tzu'm Alta. Darrich feel Ongsht un Druvvel; darrich Tzittera un darrich Farricht. Darrich Grieg un grossa Schrecka; dess dutt de gons Welt be-decka.

The old year is gone; what is now beginning is all new.

We live through much fear and trouble; through nervousness and through fright; through war and through terror this covers the whole world and we leave this to the disposition of God from the new to the old.

Letter to the editor Writer seeks effective solutions to prevent future Sandy Hook tragedies

Thursday, January 3, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I'm suspicious regarding published opinions that appear without thought directed at gun control.

A sincere problem-solving approach is never or almost never used.

There are many facets to this issue that should be considered.

For example: Is there a convincing profile regarding individuals who commit such atrocities?

Could they have been recognized by parents or other members of society? Did they seek treatment and was insurance available to treat them?

Might a recognized professional (teacher, doctor etc.) provided preventing opinions?

Guest View

Thursday, January 3, 2013 by WILLIAM R. ISEMANN President and CEO of KidsPeace in Opinion

KidsPeace CEO supports funding for mental health care

In the wake of the Sandy Hook Elementary School shootings, like any tragedy, there are myriad questions.

How could this happen? What was the perpetrator thinking? What was wrong with him? Could this happen in my community?

If children are not safe in school, where are they safe?

There are no concrete answers to ease the pain and confusion of such a horrific event.