Northwestern Press

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Guest View

Thursday, October 18, 2012 by RON DZWONKOWSKI Special to The Press in Opinion

National Newspaper Week: Your newspaper will be there for you

A simple statement, but let's break it down a bit.

Your newspaper … That's right, all yours, assembled just for you, tailored to where you live, emphasizing the things that affect you, keeping track of the people and players in your community.

Your newspaper is put together by people in a newsroom built for you, where people work to supply information that matters to you, from the details of that crash you passed by Tuesday to biographies of the candidates for your school board to notices of what's on sale at your local supermarket.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, October 18, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·America on Wheels, Allentown, needs volunteers to assist in museum's gift shop to help customers with merchandise, handle register, and take admissions from visitors.

Contact Amy Gunshannon at 610-432-4200 ext. 14 or agunshannon@americaonwheels.org.

·Camelot for Children, Emmaus, has monthly activities Friday evenings and Sunday afternoons for teens and children and needs volunteers to help.

Call Cassie Kemmere at 610-791-5683 or cassiek@camelotforchildren.org.

Guest View

Thursday, October 11, 2012 by JOE EMRICK R-137th in Opinion

House bill supports emergency responders

On Oct. 2, the state House unanimously passed legislation authorizing tax credits for emergency responders in an effort to boost participation and support existing volunteers.

House Bill 142 now belongs to the state Senate.

The number of volunteer firefighters and emergency medical services personnel in our communities is unfortunately dwindling.

This legislation will hopefully serve as an incentive to individuals considering volunteering, in addition to providing a well-deserved financial break for those already serving our communities.

Guest View II

Thursday, October 11, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Two ways out: FEMA urges families to have escape route

Home fires can happen any time and spread in just minutes, claiming the lives and property of those affected.

During the week of Oct. 7-13, the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the U.S. Fire Administration, in partnership with the National Fire Protection Association, are encouraging individuals and families to have a fire escape plan.

People can protect their homes and loved ones from emergencies by making their homes safe now and throughout the year.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, October 11, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Ryan Mackenzie is a breath of fresh air, writer says

To the Editor:

As a recent high school graduate, I'm told to prepare for my future: study hard, find an internship, make connections and pursue your dreams.

This isn't always easy, especially in a world where so many look out for only themselves. I've been fortunate, however, to meet Ryan Mackenzie.

We hear about Ryan's work to reform government and help constituents, but these only begin to show the kind of person we have as our state representative.

Another View

Thursday, October 11, 2012 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

National Fire Prevention Week, Oct. 7-13 Take time to thank a firefighter

This past Thursday, I turned on the car radio in time to catch a news broadcast concerning a house fire in Salisbury Township.

Volunteer firefighters from Eastern Salisbury, Western Salisbury, Fountain Hill, Se-Wy-Co and Emmaus fire departments were called out from the warmth of their homes to fight a 2 a.m. fire in the 1400 block of Lehigh Avenue.

Editor's View

Thursday, October 4, 2012 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Homelessness in the Lehigh Valley: It isn't just a television story

Often while I am working, I have the television on and if it is a Sunday night, I will usually be listening to "60 Minutes."

One recent episode on homelessness caused me to stop working and watch the entire segment from start to finish.

The interviewer spotlighted three families who were homeless in Florida. One family consisted of a young unemployed father and his two children who lived in a box truck.

His wife, the children's mother had died and the father was unable to find a job in the construction industry.