Northwestern Press

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, November 15, 2012 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

A meatless menu is more than side dishes

When desserts were being delivered to nearby tables during a recent banquet my husband and I attended, we saw waitresses carrying steaming bowls of cinnamon buns oozing with gooey sauce.

As these tempting goodies reached our table and our tablemates, however, we had to smile when we were handed glass dessert goblets filled with a pretty variety of luscious berries instead of the sweet buns.

We soon figured out why. Apparently we were given the "vegetarian" dessert.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, November 15, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Writer thanks election officials at Parkway Manor

To the Editor:

Although the lines were long and the wait extended longer than remembered in our 40-plus years of residence here, we were impressed with the concerned and professional work of all the volunteers working the polls at Parkway Manor Elementary School, South Whitehall, so we could vote.

Before the election, I had been asked to monitor our polling place to make sure a photo ID was not required this year for registered voters.

Another View

Thursday, November 8, 2012 by TYLER D. MARTIN in Opinion

'Do more than is required of you'

With the tumult and ballyhoo of the current election cycle behind us, let's look to the future with a keen eye toward our past.

Our veterans stood tall when the threats of fascism, communism and terrorism threatened this nation's security.

Their blind and unyielding dedication to defending democracy and freedom has continually helped preserve all we hold dear as American citizens.

As Veterans Day approaches this Sunday, thank a veteran who has served our country in any way you can.

Editor's View

Thursday, November 8, 2012 by JOHANNA S. BILLINGS in Opinion

For many in the Valley, Sandy meant living off the grid

After more than six days without power, the popping drone of the generator began to sound as normal as the chirping birds and the occasional passing car I used to hear.

"When are you supposed to get your power back?" I was asked Friday.

"Christmas," I said.

The other person paused briefly as if startled.

"Oh, my word," she said. "You're serious!"

Almost.

A sense of humor definitely helped my husband, Sean, and I deal with the circumstances. But beneath the humor lies a grain of truth.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 8, 2012 by D.J. HAUSMAN-HILL Special to The Press in Opinion

Sandy...

a nickname for my sister

Now a historic storm

The "perfect storm"

Brought about by climate change

Millions of our citizens affected....

by storm surge or flooding

Loss of electrical power

Disruption

Displacement

Some lost their lives

Others lost everything...

except relationships

Community comes together at such times

...times of crisis

Community...

that is what enables us to move on...

Even on an island...a sandy island

we are not alone

And God is with us...

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 1, 2012 by To Vote or Not to Vote in Opinion

That is the question

Whether it is better to refrain

from voicing our opinion

Or living with the results

of our decisions

Is something each citizen of voting age

has to decide

Could it be that you have always

voted for the WRONG man?

To that, I reply,

Elect a woman!

Could it be that you feel your vote

will not count?

It will if you are registered!

Could it be that you are disappointed

with the quality of each candidate?

Think of how each of us

has disappointed someone

at some time

Another View

Thursday, November 1, 2012 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

Learning how to discern the whole truth

I don't know about you, but the amount of information presented during the presidential and vice presidential debates this year sometimes left my head spinning.

While I found it easy, as each debate concluded, to determine which candidate presented himself most admirably, knowing how to interpret the purported "facts" presented was a challenge with which I needed some help.

The candidates spent weeks preparing for these debates, carefully crafting ways of presenting their viewpoints that would read well to their target audiences.