Northwestern Press

Sunday, June 17, 2018

'Twas the Night Before Fiscal Cliff

Thursday, December 13, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

'Twas the night before Fiscal Cliff, and throughout the land,

Democrats, Republicans were taking a stand.

Their positions unwavering, intractably firm,

With donkey-like stubbornness or entrenched pachyderm.

But the public were hopeful all snug in their beds,

With visions of compromise alive in their heads.

"Come on!" said the people in frustrated dismay.

"Abandon this meaningless partisan fray."

When Obama and Boehner finally met,

Their first thoughts were not of a country in debt.

Guest View

Thursday, December 13, 2012 by SEN. PAT TOOMEY U.S. Senate in Opinion

A solution to the fiscal cliff: It is time for compromise

"...The vast majority of Democrats on Capitol Hill would prefer not to have to do anything on entitlements, would prefer, frankly, not to have to do anything on some of these debt and deficit problems. … And what I've tried to explain to them is, number one, if you look at the numbers, then Medicare, in particular, will run out of money, and we will not be able to sustain that program, no matter how much taxes go up. I mean, it's not an option for us to just sit by and do nothing." President Barack Obama, July 11, 2011.

Editor's View

Thursday, December 6, 2012 by DEB PALMIERI in Opinion

Fasten your seat belts, 2012 is going to have a cliffhanger ending

If the Mayan calendar's end-of-the-world "prediction," doesn't kill us on Dec. 21, surely the fall off the so-called "fiscal cliff" at the end of the year will.

If our elected officials, who spend more time on television explaining why they can't agree on a savings and spending plan, rather than actually doing something about it, fail to avert the tax hikes coming Jan. 1, 2013, we all will be dangling from the edge as our 401k plans dwindle and our grocery bills double.

Chosen Words

Thursday, December 6, 2012 by Mangerlight in Opinion

Today I passed a manger scene

So filled with cares, tired and green.

With envy for what others had,

Envious, surly and quite sad.

When manger's light did me beckon,

And asked me to but pause, and reckon,

"What wondrous presence filled that place?"

Which had been meant for beastly face.

And thus transformed, and now was there

For love's rebirth in time and sphere,

That I, stricken, repent and turn

And beg God's light within me burn.

To know that trough, in darkness rude,

Has now received celestial food,

Nearly 9 in 10 seniors drive car that does not fit their needs, AAA says

Thursday, December 6, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

With nearly 90 percent of motorists 65 and older suffering from health issues that affect driving safety, finding a car that not only adapts to conditions, such as lack of flexibility or muscle strength, while maintaining safety and comfort can be difficult.

Data from a new AAA survey also reveals only one in 10 senior drivers with aging health issues are driving a vehicle with features such as keyless entry and larger dashboard controls that can assist with such conditions.

Guest View

Thursday, December 6, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Pa. Academy of Ophthalmology urges parents to keep an eye on toy safety

The holidays are a wonderful time for family festivities, but too many celebrations are interrupted each year due to unsafe use of toys, which can lead to serious eye injuries in children.

The good news is the vast majority of these injuries can be prevented. During Safe Toys and Celebrations Month in December, the Pennsylvania Academy of Ophthalmology reminds parents to keep their children's eyes safe from toys.Children receive all types of potentially unsafe presents during the holidays, including BB guns, airsoft guns, pellet guns and darts.

Volunteer opportunities

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·Artsquest Venter, Bethlehem, needs volunteers for Christkindlmarkt to take tickets, assist vendors, do crafts with children and help out in the retail areas. Volunteers are required to do three shifts.

Contact Hillary Harper at 610-332-1370 or hharper@artsquest.org.

·Cancer Support Community, Bethlehem, needs help to get donation cans into stores, businesses and coffee shops throughout the Lehigh Valley.

Contact Becky Morgan at 610-861-7555 or bmorgan@cancersupportglv.org.

Legislation accomplishments abound in 2012

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by JULIE HARHART R-183rd Special to The Press in Opinion

The 2011-12 legislative session wrapped up in November, and before we begin the new session Jan. 1, 2013, I think it is wise to take a look back and see what we have accomplished.

Of course, some years are more productive than others but, this past year, we have been able to make significant progress on several fronts that will help improve the business climate in Pennsylvania, increase safety and protection, and honor our military men and women.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by En Daaler Uffschpaare in Opinion

En Daaler geschder diene,

Verschpend der Daaler heit,

Yuscht bissel Wexel zaehle,

Bemacht die aarmie Leit.

En Daaler geschder gschteckelt,

En gscheider Mann dutt's weck.

No wann mir in die Not kummt,

Hoscht me huff hand wie Dreck.

Saving up a Dollar

A dollar earned yesterday

Spend that dollar today

Very little change leftover to count

Makes for poor people

A dollar from yesterday hidden away

A wise man puts it away

Then when you are in need

You'll have something on hand, besides dirt.

Another View

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

Make the holidays memorable for family members with dementia or Alzheimer's

Hanukkah and Christmas are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories, laugh, sing, decorate and exchange presents.

For people living with Alzheimer's disease or dementia, the holidays can be a difficult and stressful time.

I have found with my mother, who was diagnosed several years ago with dementia, this is the time of year when she becomes more depressed.