Northwestern Press

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, February 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Gertrude B. Fox Environmental Center, Bethlehem, has an opening for a gift shop manager at the little store, "Gertie's Gifts."

Contact Karen Dolan at 610-419-0218 or naturecenter@gbfox.org.

·Historic Bethlehem Museums, needs volunteers March 2 for Spring Clean Up at Burnside Plantation.

Contact Jill Caggiano at 610-882-0450 ext. 20 or jcaggiano@historicbethlehem.org.

·Compeer Program of Family Answers, Allentown, is looking for volunteers who want to improve people's quality of life through friendship.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, February 28, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Getting older doesn't have to end a lifestyle

With the Lenten season upon us, I have heard folks discussing what they might give up between Ash Wednesday and Easter.

One man joked that as he has aged, he's had to give up so much, he has nothing left to sacrifice.

That comment brought to mind a couple in their 70s, friends of ours, who no longer travel because they say packing all their medications and medical devices is too much trouble.

Editor's View

Thursday, February 28, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

The dangers of sexting: 'Is it really worth it?'

Salisbury High School presented an assembly recently on the dangers of sexting – a seminar offered by District Attorney Jim Martin's office for school districts in the Lehigh Valley.

Sexting is described as taking a nude picture of yourself or someone else with cellphone cameras and texting it to others or posting nude photos of yourself on social media, such as Facebook or MySpace.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Smokers can help their wallets and health by quitting this year

To the Editor:

The American Lung Association of the Mid-Atlantic wishes everyone a Happy New Year.

As we ring in 2013, many of us will make New Year's resolutions to improve our health and well-being. People who resolve to quit smoking this New Year have the chance to increase the length and quality of their lives.

Quitting works its magic the minute an individual makes the choice.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Philanthropist Inez Donley will be remembered for commitment to KidsPeace

To the Editor:

Some people make such an impact on their communities that their work will live on long after they are gone.

Such is the case with Inez Donley, who died Jan. 27 at the age of 97, after dedicating nearly 70 years to volunteer work in the Lehigh Valley.

Inez and husband, Edward Donley, were major supporters of KidsPeace, donating more than $1.47 million to our organization to help children and teenagers with behavioral and mental health challenges.

PennWATCH opens state finance to public review

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by SEN. PAT BROWNE R-16th in Opinion

Tremendous advancements in technology have given the public greater access to state government.

When I was first elected to office, you had to come to Harrisburg to see a legislative session.

You had to make a request in writing or visit an office to get a document.

Now, with technology, residents of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania can have direct access online to the interworking of state government.

State representative analyzes privatization plan

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by STATE REP. RYAN MACKENZIE R-134th in Opinion

There has recently been a lot of buzz surrounding Gov. Tom Corbett's liquor privatization proposal that would auction retail licenses to the private sector in an effort to provide a greater consumer choice and convenience.

This proposal is merely a framework for my colleagues in the House and Senate to consider, and the governor's proposal will likely evolve as it goes through the legislative process.

Another View

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by TYLER MARTIN in Opinion

The new green

Reducing our dependence on fossil fuels and supporting the smart growth of green technology is at the heart of the solution to most issues we debate in this great nation.

When we talk about gun related issues and problems with violence in our society, the greater issue is social stability coupled with economic growth.

Most people who have quality jobs and something significant to lose refrain from making horrible and atrocious decisions.