Northwestern Press

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Chosen Words

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by To Vote or Not to Vote in Opinion

That is the question

Whether it is better to refrain

from voicing our opinion

Or living with the results

of our decisions

Is something each citizen of voting age

has to decide

Could it be that you have always

voted for the wrong man?

To that, I reply,

Elect a woman!

Could it be that you feel your vote

will not count?

It will if you are registered!

Could it be that you are disappointed

with the quality of each candidate?

Think of how each of us

has disappointed someone

at some time

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

RPA says thank you for successful Spring Cleanup 2013

To the Editor:

Spring Cleanup 2013, held April 6 this year, was again a successful community recycling endeavor.

The Rural Preservation Association of Northwestern Lehigh County is grateful for the volunteer spirit of its members and for the generosity of Lowhill Township for offering its municipal building and site.

We appreciate Carl Kressley and his crew who facilitated the set up and handling of the collection containers and worked alongside the RPA volunteers at the event.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports Editor's View comments

To The Editor:

After reading the comments of Mark Graham, Ph.D (May 8 and 9 issues) regarding the Editor's View, (May 1 and 2 issues), I had to go back to read Deb Palmieri's article, which he referred to.

I found them in keeping with my own thoughts and position, which I base not to be racist, bizarre and hateful.

I guess this places me, per Ph.D Graham, a Nazi circa 1936.

Isn't it wonderful we can express ourselves in this fashion in America.

Frank Ballo

Allentown

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Editor's View was patriotic, writer says

To the Editor:

Mark Graham's May 9 Letter to the Editor in response to Deb Palmieri's May 2 editorial motivated me to go back and look again at Ms. Palmieri's writing to recall more clearly the content.

What I found was an editorial openly patriotic, which Mr. Graham apparently considers being racist and bigoted, and which was not against all Muslims but instead mentioned Muslim extremists who did indeed plan and execute attacks within our country.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Red Cross thanks volunteers

To the Editor:

The Red Cross Greater Lehigh Valley Chapter would like to take this opportunity to thank all those involved in making the recent annual Cabaret and Cuisine fundraiser a huge success.

Just over $70,000 was raised to support the chapter's lifesaving programs and services such as disaster relief, health and human safety, blood services and service to the Armed Forces.

Another View

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

On being brave

We've been hearing a lot in the news recently about acts of bravery.

When bombs were detonated April 15 at the Boston Marathon, dozens and dozens of parade spectators, instead of running for cover, rushed to the aid of the hundreds of victims.

Many lives were saved because of their acts of courage that day.

A few days later, hundreds of police officers placed themselves in harm's way in pursuit of the alleged terrorists.

These are acts of valor, to be sure.

Guest View

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

Together, we can build agricultural awareness, understanding through education

Research suggests the average consumer is at least three generations from actually living on a farm.

With this longterm disconnect from our agricultural heritage – many do not have a basic understanding of how food shows up on our plate.

Often, discussions on food characteristics, food sources and food processing are based in misunderstanding. The food system we are privileged to take advantage of offers an abundance of safe, nutritious and typically affordable choices. A deeper awareness of this complex and productive food system may be a meaningful goal.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Mackenzie congratulates hockey players

To the Editor:

Congratulations to the players, coaching staff, families and everyone associated with the 2012-13 Parkland Ice Hockey Club.

As a former Trojan hockey player, I am proud of your outstanding achievement in reaching the Pennsylvania Ice Hockey Championship game.

Coach Gerry Chandik and his staff took Parkland Ice Hockey to a historic level of success this season.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer disagrees with Editor's View

To the Editor:

Deb Palmieri's fatuous comments regarding the Boston bombings [Editor's View, May 1 issue] reveal a dearth of historical insight. They're also racist.

For her, all Muslims are "them" the ones who want to destroy "our" way of life.

Her bizarre link between the construction of a mosque and a piece of 9/11 airplane wreckage indicates she feels all Muslims bear responsibility for the work of a couple dozen terrorists.

Are all Americans responsible because innocents were killed in Newtown by an American?