Northwestern Press

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Editor's View

Thursday, September 6, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Lest we forget

Eleven years have passed since the 9/11 Islamic extremists' terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center Twin Towers in New York City, the Pentagon in Arlington, Va., and the crash of hijacked United Airlines Flight 93 into a farmer's field near Shanksville, Somerset County.

Last year's 10th anniversary memorial tributes to those lost in the tragedy were televised; I doubt there will be as much broadcast this year.

The pain and sense of loss, however, continues for the families and the survivors.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, August 30, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·Special Olympics Bethlehem is in need of a training coordinator. Contact Robert Sehee at 610-419-3285 or bso.sehee@gmail.com.

·American Diabetes Association, Bethlehem, needs help to make the next diabetes walk in Bethlehem Oct. 13 the most fun and successful walk to date.

Contact Dawn Fernandez at 888-342-2383, ext. 4625 or dfernandez@diabetes.org.

Coco Foundation, Bethlehem, needs volunteers for its annual Tee Time for Coco Golf Tournament Sept. 29.

Contact Lisa Walker at 570-954-8024 or lisa@thecocofoundation.org.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, August 30, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Writer misses high school friend who died

To the Editor:

Dora M. Lacy was a friend like no other person could be.

When I was injured in a motor scooter accident, Dora, her sister, Evelyn, and their brother, Richard, who was a classmate of mine for four years in the fantasic class of 1949 at Whitehall High School, stepped in to bolster my self-esteem at a time I needed it badly.

Frequent visits playing pinochle and board games, and cranking homemade ice cream were welcome treats to the boredom of waiting for broken bones to heal.

Another View

Thursday, August 30, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Research candidates before voting

The Aug. 15 arrest of state Rep. Joseph Brennan, D-133rd, on simple assault and DUI charges, and the subsequent an-nouncement he would not seek re-election in November should lead residents of the Lehigh Valley to conduct deeper research into whom their candidates and elected officials are.

We, the people, should place higher standards on our elected officials, and those public officials should abide by higher ethical and moral standards.

Guest View

Thursday, August 23, 2012 by SEN. DAVID ARGALL, R-29th Special to The Press in Opinion

Why we are not giving up on the fight to eliminate school district property taxes

The Senate Finance Committee recently held its first public hearing on Senate Bill 1400, also known as the Property Tax Independence Act.

This is legislation I introduced at the direct request of thousands of residents throughout the six counties I represent and 72 taxpayer groups across Pennsylvania, led by the Pennsylvania Taxpayers Cyber Coalition.

Despite this strong support, during the public hearings in the Senate and the State House, Senate Bill 1400, along with its counterpart, House Bill 1776, have received mixed reviews.

Another View

Thursday, August 23, 2012 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

Protect yourself from identity theft

Berks-Lehigh Regional Police recently issued a Community Message via Nixle that an individual was going door-to-door asking questions of homeowners regarding the Parkland and Northwestern Lehigh school districts.

In this case, the man turned out to be a legitimate salesman.

I recently experienced something similar, except the man at my door was asking to see my electric bill.

According to Pennsylvania Attorney General Linda L. Kelly, identity fraud is the fastest growing crime in America, affecting 9 million Americans every year.

Chosen Words

Thursday, August 23, 2012 by Die Picknick Zeit in Opinion

Die picknick zeit is widder do,

Un kumme Mensche viel.

Sie froge em "ei wu un wer?"

Im Bungert schee un kiel.

Die Mannsleit sin schee aageduh,

Die Grosse un die Gleene.

Die Weibsleit hen sich aagerischt,

mir gleiche fer sie sehne.

Die weibsleit mache schenschde Sach

Fer alli epper esse.

der Essdisch grext mit schwer gewicht,

Des kann mer net vergesse.

Do waar geblaant, gerischt in gschafft,

Kuche, Boi un alli Sach.

Kaes un Wascht, verdeiwelt Oier,

Wie gute Weibsleit ewe mach.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, August 23, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·Eastern Pa. Down Syndrome Center, Trexlertown, needs volunteers for the 13th Annual Lehigh Valley Buddy Walk at the Bob Rodale Cycling and Fitness Park and Valley Preferred Cycling Center Sept. 29.

Email Julie Dody at dody6pa-@yahoo.com.

·Lehigh Valley Score, Bethlehem, seeks experienced business professionals to offer in-person and online counseling and advice to start ups and in-business owners of small businesses and non-profit organizations.

Contact Mitzi Colella at 610-266-3000 or mcolella@lvscore.org.

Editor's View

Thursday, August 16, 2012 by JOHANNA S. BILLINGS in Opinion

Chickens make interesting companions

Someday when I'm gone and others are tasked with settling my estate, the question will be asked: Why did she take so many pictures of chickens?

I suppose most people will understand the logic behind my taking thousands of photos of cats, dogs, butterflies, flowers, sunsets, deer, horses and pretty scenery.

But chickens?

I've been interested in chickens since I was in college. While visiting a friend's farm for the first time, I discovered just how interesting the little cluckers can be.