Northwestern Press

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Guest View

Thursday, June 13, 2013 by DAVID M. SANKO Special to The Press in Opinion

Townships fight against unfunded mandates

More than 6,500 unfunded mandates have been imposed on Pennsylvania's local governments over the past 30 years.

Township officials, tired of seeing millions of tax dollars wasted every year, came together recently to urge state lawmakers to change the system so municipalities can put that money to better use, namely to improve roads and other infrastructure.

Guest View

Thursday, June 13, 2013 by STATE SEN. DAVID G. ARGALL, R-29TH Special to The Press in Opinion

Should suspected terrorists receive welfare benefits?

On April 15, our nation lost three innocent individuals, with several more severely injured.

The Boston Marathon bombing was a chilling reminder no day in this great nation should be taken for granted.

The tragedy that unfolded a few months ago brought our nation together to stand strong with Boston.

In the weeks following the horrific events at the Boston Marathon, the Boston Herald printed a story illustrating significant abuses within Massachusetts' welfare system.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, June 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Volunteer Center of the Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, is recruiting youths for the 2013 goLEAD Leadership Program July 15-19.

Applications are available at volunteerlv.org and must be submitted by June 23.

Contact Brielle at 610-807-0336 or youth@volunteerlv.org.

·Da Vinci Science Center, Allentown, needs exhibit floor volunteers.

Contact Jen Pors at 484-664-1002 or Jen@davincisciencecenter.org.

·Easton Area Community Center is looking for volunteers ages 16 and older to help with summer day camp June 14 to Aug. 16 for youths ages 5-15.

Guest View

Thursday, June 6, 2013 by HANNAH KILLIAN Parkland Library in Opinion

Library to raise reading levels with summer program

Parkland Community Library will be participating in summer reading this month.

This year's theme, "Dig Into Reading," is all about the wonders under our feet – root vegetables, buried treasure, dinosaur bones, evidence of ancient civilizations and, of course, the critters.

Wouldn't it be wonderful if every child participated in summer reading and, as a result, they raised literacy rates throughout the area?

When children read only 16.9 minutes a day, they are exposed to 1,168,000 words a year and test in the 70th percentile.

Guest View

Thursday, June 6, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Lehigh County Extension in Opinion

What's that farmer doing?

Thousands of people enjoy the hobby of farm watching.

Identifying and observing farms and farm activity provides endless joy and can make living in or visiting the countryside even more pleasurable.

Our temperate climate, relatively long growing season, good soils, and easy access to markets make Pennsylvania prime habitat for agriculture.

Also, farms are relatively abundant in Pennsylvania and commonly can be found by watchful observers in both rural and suburban parts of the commonwealth.

Chosen Words

Thursday, June 6, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

June

Hoist the balloons

for the month of June

Month that you are

those near and far

Attend celebrations

as countless as stars

Sailing through

Birthdays

Graduations

Weddings

Anniversaries

Reunions

From the first to the 30th

We attend each event

Purchase gifts galore

So there's ample delight

Such a splendid occasion is June

What a sight!

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Another View

Thursday, June 6, 2013 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

Small town American is thriving

I grew up in the sleepy canal town of Freemansburg, on the outskirts of Bethlehem.

I have fond memories of my childhood.

Many of the children and teenagers knew each other and spent hours on end in the summer playing on the sidewalks, in the streets and in the surrounding small fields.

We spent summer days fishing down at the canal. We would gather together on one another's front porches throughout the day and into the evening, and talk about life and dream about the future.

Our parents knew each of us and they treated us like we were part of their family.

Gov. Leader did justice to his name

Thursday, June 6, 2013 by GARY DAY State Rep. R-187th in Opinion

Earlier this month, Pennsylvania said goodbye to a governor who served nearly six decades ago, and who was a man who continues to instill in us valuable lessons of democracy.

Gov. George Michael Leader died May 9 at the age of 95 – more than five decades after serving at the helm of state government as the second youngest governor in Pennsylvania history.

Although he only served four years (1955-59), it was during a time in which commonwealth governors were only permitted to serve one, four-year term.