Northwestern Press

Friday, September 21, 2018

Volunteer fire companies are vital to Pa. communities

Thursday, April 11, 2013 by RYAN MACKENZIE State Rep. 134th in Opinion

Because volunteer fire companies play a vital role in communities across Pennsylvania and deserve support in their efforts to combine resources to better serve their residents, I was pleased my legislation, House Bill 465, recently passed unanimously in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives.

This bill, if enacted, would exempt them from realty transfer taxes as defined under Act 2 of 1971, known as the Tax Reform Code.

Chosen Words

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Sweet Easter Dreams

Once upon a time Peter Cottontail

had a blue lagoon colored basket full

of plastic grass, decorated eggs,

chocolate bunnies, a candy carrot, Reese's peanut butter cups and ring pops to deliver to his Princess Tasha.

He hopped through yards of jelly bean delights with Skittles falling from the Hershey chocolate sky while his friend, Granny, helped make Skittle ice cream in a jelly bean cup and put a cherry on top with a tinge

of whipped cream.

Hopping down the Bunny Trail, Granny and Peter Cottontail went to see Piglet, Christopher Robin,

Guest View

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by BRAD OSBORNE Special to The Press in Opinion

Was a 'no' vote big government intrusion?

Five hundred years ago, Niccolo Machiavelli wrote a book titled "The Prince." One phrase from that text that remains a paradox today is "the end justifies the means."

In other words, an action can be justified by the intended outcome rather than the action itself.

On Wednesday, March 13, five members of the Lehigh County Board of Commissioners exercised the political equivalent of this maxim.

In doing so, they not only diminished the integrity of our office, but also increased the uncertainty of the future cost of water and wastewater treatment in Lehigh County.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Emmaus community shares sadness and grief

To the Editor:

The Emmaus community shares the sadness and grief triggered by the recent tragic house fire.

We support the Emmaus Fire Victims Funeral Fund in memory of the deceased victims. We extend to all the victims' families and friends, and the members of The Lutheran Church of the Holy Spirit church community our sympathy and prayers of care and concern.

Another View

Thursday, March 28, 2013 by BY LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

What's in your filing cabinet?

It happens every year at my house as the April 15 tax-filing deadline nears. Once my IRS forms are filed, I take the folder with all the supporting receipts, invoices and forms to our home office filing cabinet to store.

Inside this drawer are numerous hanging file folders containing insurance policies, investment documents, automobile titles, loan papers and other documents. Stuffing the new file into what little remaining space there is, I ask myself, "Do I really need all this stuff?" and then, "Should some of this be more securely stored?"

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, March 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·American Cancer Society Inc. needs volunteers for Daffodil Days fundraiser.

Contact Rosemarie Murphy at 610-921-2329 ext. 3109 or Rosemarie.Murphy@cancer.org.

·Community Action Committee of the Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, is seeking community members to become certified tax preparation volunteers through the IRS supported Volunteer Income Tax Assistance Program, as well as other volunteers to assist with hospitality functions at free tax sites in Lehigh County.

Contact Nicole Folino at 484-893-1031 or nfolino@caclv.org.

Editor's View

Thursday, March 21, 2013 by DEB PALMIERI in Opinion

Pope Francis, the embodiment of power and humility

As I completed this week's Parkland Press pages early Tuesday morning, I had one eye and ear cast in the direction of the television.

Pope Francis was being installed as the new Bishop of Rome; the spiritual leader of some 1.2 billion Roman Catholics worldwide and the head of state of the Vatican.

Such power and authority could easily turn the head of many a man.

Former Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio of Argentina, however, does not appear to be one of those men.

Another View

Thursday, March 21, 2013 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

A life lived for others is a life worth living

What's important in this journey we are all on called life?

Is it our job titles and the power and respect attached to our professions, careers and employment pursuits that make a difference?

Or, does the salary we receive, cars we drive and the apartments and homes we live in factor in determining our worth and our happiness?

Recently a friend's father passed away. He was, in more ways than one, a mentor of mine and a father figure.

Pete De Pietro, who spent his entire life in Freemansburg, lived a life for others.

Parental involvement means involvement

Thursday, March 21, 2013 by DENISE H. CONTINENZA Special to The Press in Opinion

As often as possible, I stop what I am doing on a Saturday evening to watch the latest episode of "Too Cute" on the Animal Planet channel.

Last weekend, I managed to catch the show. I took a break from loading the dishwasher, flopped into the recliner and began viewing a program about three sets of kittens.

Baby animals are indeed too cute as they get into all sorts of mischief and predicaments while exploring their environment and pursuing the quest for independence.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, March 21, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Use the power that dwells within

I laughed out loud while reading a query to a syndicated advice columnist.

A woman, who apparently is trying to lose weight, wants a coworker to remove his ever-present candy dish because the woman lacks the willpower to walk on by.

Unable or unwilling to adapt to her workplace surroundings, the misguided woman expects the world to adapt to her.

How ludicrous to demand all temptations be removed from our paths.

What about self-discipline and free will?