Northwestern Press

Sunday, June 17, 2018

another view

Tuesday, November 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Snapchat — Fun or dangerous?

Snapchat is a quickly growing social media platform which allows people to send pictures or short videos, called snaps, to friends.

The most popular feature is these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear. It’s great for people like me who insist their pets are the cutest but don’t want to inundate Facebook and Instagram with cat pictures for fear of being a bother.

Instead, I just take a quick photo of my kittens, send it to a few interested friends and then it’s gone.

However, the impermanence and fleeting nature of this program has bred new dangers.

Guest View

Tuesday, November 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Stay safe in winter

The winter season ushers in frigid temperatures, cozy sweaters and decorative snowfalls. While these gifts from Mother Nature make it easy to fall into the fun of the season, it is important to remember the basics in terms of keeping yourself healthy and safe during this time of year.

Falls, fractures and overexertion-related injuries are most common in the winter. These injuries often occur when people strain their back, neck and/or shoulder while pushing or shoveling snow.

Guest View I

Thursday, November 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Day’s school safety security bill now law

Gov. Tom Wolf has allowed my legislation, House Bill 178, to lapse into law and become the Public School Code of the 2017-18 budget package.

Overall, I am pleased that important measures to allow schools to better prepare for safety and security threats, along with other significant improvements to our educational system.

Our children and their education must be at the forefront when we consider any type of public policy.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, November 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The gift that keeps giving must be the right fit

If you have ever loved and lost a pet, you will understand my family’s hesitation in getting another.

I have written about my pets before — a 16-1/2-year-old Old English Sheepdog and an indoor shelter cat we had for more than 16 years.

Both died recently within six months of each other. We have been in mourning.

My Editor’s Views in the past have been about understanding the responsibilities of pet ownership before acquiring a pet for yourself or as a gift for someone else.

Guest View II

Thursday, November 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Time to start winning in Washington

America is home to the best military in the world, the best system of higher education, the most innovative entrepreneurs, and most importantly, the hardest workers.

In many ways, we can see how God has blessed America.

Unfortunately, we also have a Congress that is failing us and is holding our country back from achieving greater heights.

Congress seems totally incapable of solving the biggest challenges facing us today.

Pa Dutch

Thursday, November 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

En Glee Bissell des un Sell

Der Baydawg is widder doe,

Un es glabbert yo so in der Kich;

Blendy arwet fer mich,

Welsh-hawna un lots funn socha,

Muss ich now ready

macha in der Kich;

Es is g’shpboss fer mich,

Kucha un feel boi,

Shtana shunt in ra roi In der Kich;

Oh, es shwitzed mich.

De kinner kumma ol hame,

Wil wetta se acta wider

es same in der Kich;

Ei, es lechered mich.

Eb mer essa, duhna mer bayda,

Shpater shwappa mer

resayda in der Kich;

Blendy harlichkate fer mich.

Another View

Thursday, November 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Thank a veteran and his or her family members, too

President Donald Trump recently proclaimed November 2017 as National Veterans and Military Families Month.

Veterans Day, Nov. 11, is the time American people nationally thank veterans for their courage, sacrifices and years of service.

Trump’s proclamation begins: “During National Veterans and Military Families Month, we honor the significant contributions made by American service members, their families and their loved ones.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, November 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Gov. Tom Wolf signs new law to reduce tax collector fraud

Gov. Tom Wolf has signed into law House Bill 16, my legislation designed to reform the local tax collection system to reduce instances of fraud.

Local tax collectors take on a great responsibility with ensuring the proper collection of taxes; however, with little clarity in the law as to best practices, misuse of the system can occur.

My legislation corrects those oversights to eliminate fraud by unscrupulous tax collectors.