Northwestern Press

Monday, October 22, 2018

Guest View

Thursday, April 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Are you intexticated?

Each day, about 10 people are killed in distracted driving crashes — contributing to the 37,000 people killed in crashes on U.S. roadways during 2016, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

As National Distracted Driving Awareness Month begins, AAA East Central is launching a new, multiyear initiative that aims to reduce deaths and injuries as a result of cellphone use by drivers.

“Don’t Drive Intoxicated— Don’t Drive Intexticated” is the theme of AAA’s traffic safety education campaign created to make distracted driving socially unacceptable.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 15 General Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publishing columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week to publish columns by local government officials running for office was the April 12 edition. We will continue to cover local races in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Chosen Words

Thursday, April 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Politics

Oh my goodness, don’t get me started,

Our politicians are greatly divided!

Republicans, Democrats, it doesn’t matter,

Whatever is suggested gets torn and tattered.

It seems they lost all their direction.

They forgot the American people

Who voted for them, with affection.

They were chosen to serve this nation,

With, dignity, backbone, and pride.

But, whenever the going gets tough,

They go on vacation and hide.

Every time something needs to be done,

It becomes an imposition;

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, April 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Boutique at the Rink, Bethlehem, April 30 to June 4, needs many volunteers to make this annual fundraiser successful. Volunteers are needed for setup, donation drop-offs, sale days and break down.

Call Jen Gibbs at 610-861-7556 or jgibbs@cancersupportglv.org.

·Greater Valley YMCA, Allentown, needs volunteers to help with registration, activities, refreshments and event setup and cleanup for its free community event, Healthy Kids Day, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. April 21.

Contact Maribel Tandazo at 610-351-9622 or maribeltandazo@gv-ymca.org.

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS: What on earth are we doing?

Thursday, April 19, 2018 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

Every April millions of people around the world celebrate Earth Day.

I celebrate it every day. One day a year to pay attention to the environment and our surroundings certainly is not enough.

Earth matters to us every day. We drink its water. We breathe its air. We eat its plants.

Focusing attention on our earth each April is a wonderful start, and participating in Earth Day activities often whets the appetite for doing more year-round to preserve our natural home.

Locally, many groups don gloves and spend Earth Day picking up litter.

Another view

Thursday, April 19, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Sesame Place named first theme park with autism certification

April is National Autism Awareness Month. There are many ways people spread awareness about Autism Spectrum Disorder, such as hosting special fundraisers, wearing blue or posting photos of the iconic colorful puzzle pieces.

On World Autism Awareness Day, which was April 2 this year, Sesame Place decided to kick it up a notch and announce it is officially designated as a Certified Autism Center.

The Bucks County children’s amusement park is the first theme park in the world to achieve CAC status.

Editor’s View

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

And, what will you do when spring finally arrives?

The brave daffodils are long peeking through the frozen ground. Although bent over, as if weeping, they remain defiant, blooming bright yellow despite nighttime and early morning below freezing temperatures.

Patches of short, blue flowers cover the ground where the grass has dared not to grow.

Twigs and branches lay scattered across the backyard, ripped from the trees during damaging winds that marked this past winter.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center for Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Independent Senior Transportation Network LV, Bethlehem, is looking for volunteers to drive seniors to medical appointments, grocery stores, physical therapy, and other places.

Contact Lois Favier at 610-419-1645 or lois.favier@itnlehighvalley.org.