Northwestern Press

Sunday, April 22, 2018

Guest View

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Distractions top list of growing dangers for drivers

Distracted driving tops driver’s list of growing dangers on the road, according to a new survey from the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

The annual Traffic Safety Culture Index shows that 88 percent of drivers believe distracted driving is on the rise, topping other risky behaviors such as:

•Aggressive driving: 68 percent

•Drivers using drugs: 55 percent

•Drunk driving: 43 percent

The proportion of drivers who report talking on a cellphone regularly or fairly often when behind the wheel jumped 46 percent since 2013.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer says solution to problem in schools is following God

To The Editor:

“As the schools go, so goes the nation” has been quoted many times throughout the decades.

When I attended public school from 1949 through 1961, there was always a Bible on the teacher’s desk.

Every morning we read 10 verses of Scripture, prayed the Lord’s Prayer, pledged the American flag, and sometimes sang a hymn or a patriotic song. We were then dismissed for class.

We were protected under God’s umbrella, so to speak. Now, there is no longer a Bible on the desk, or prayer, or a song.

Another View

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will a surge of women running for political office change government?

Ever since the 1700s, most political offices in the United States have been held by men at both the state and federal levels.

However, all across America today, Americans are seeing a surge of women running for political offices.

Just recently, actress Cynthia Nixon announced she is running for New York governor.

According to the Center for American Women and Politics at Rutgers University website, approximately 708 women have filed to run in 2018, for either U.S. Congress or in statewide elections.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In the Shadow of the Cross

As I gazed upon the shadow of the cross ...

our faithlessness became more despicable

He died on the cross

not just for you and me

But for all peoples of all times

Miraculously, he arose from death

giving us hope for another life

A life beyond the darkness of this world

into the brilliant light of His presence

How then can we live onto ourselves?

How can we not serve our neighbor?

It is this reality that prompts us

as we live our lives

In the Shadow of the Cross

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Invite some natives to your property this year

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I have been busy making a list and checking it twice. And thrice.

No, I am not trying to get an absurdly early start to Christmas.

I am trying to decide what new plants to add to my many containers and small backyard plots.

My recent visit to the Philadelphia Flower Show put me in the mood, as it always does, for working in the garden.

And plant and seed catalogs have been filling my mailbox for months, enticing me with gorgeous photos and bargain prices.

Admittedly, small-space gardening is a challenge.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Volunteer Center of the Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, is seeking ethnic diverse volunteers for its volunteer leadership program, Project Blueprint that develops and trains leaders to serve on boards and committees of local nonprofit agencies. Contact Karen Smith at 610-807-0336.

·Easton Urban Farm, Easton, is in need of gardeners, especially those who can join a weekly crew, to help maintain and harvest veggies, flowers and herbs for Easton Area Neighborhood Center food pantry and their Veggie Stand.

Contact Brenda Havens at 219-742-5489 or bhavens50@gmail.com.

A community of ‘ones’

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In the aftermath of tragic events, I tend to feel very helpless and small.

Even though my every day is jam packed with activities that serve to improve the quality of life for others, I feel as if I somehow failed.

It sounds a bit ridiculous because I could never directly make a difference for every single person out there, especially those who live far away and have no connection to me.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Are you owed unclaimed property?

The Pennsylvania Treasury Department is currently holding more than $3.2 billion in unclaimed property, with about one in 10 residents eligible to recoup that property.

And one of those individuals could be you.

In fact, in 2013, our office helped one local person claim $577,662 that was in a mutual fund held by his mother, who passed away in 2003.

Unclaimed property is any financial asset that has been left inactive by the owner for a period of three years or more. If no lawful owner claims the property at that time, it is transferred to the treasury.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘All truths are easy to understand once discovered; the point is to discover them.’ (Galileo Galilei)

It’s been a big week in space, so to speak.

An American astronaut was found to have altered his genes through space travel, the science and space savvy the world over celebrated the 16th letter of the Greek alphabet, and a luminary scientist left us for worlds unknown.

Not that earthbound news did not keep headline readers and writers busy.