Northwestern Press

Saturday, June 15, 2019

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, May 30, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Help wanted: Interested in community journalism?

Things are getting busier at The Press. We’ve just finished covering musical theater productions, junior/senior proms and Memorial Day services. Now, we’re preparing for high school graduations — celebrating the achievements of our area students, many of whom we’ve featured on our pages since their elementary days — and the ever-popular summer camps.

Our work here is to capture the happenings in our communities in print, via stories and photographs, and online, through our website.

There’s always something going on, and for that, we’re thankful.

Another View

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Gender swapping filter — hurtful or helpful?

The popular social media site Snapchat released a new feature this month. The gender swap filter allows you to take a picture of yourself or a friend and transform into the opposite gender.

Snapchat allows people to send pictures or short videos, called “snaps,” to friends. The most popular feature is these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear.

Chosen Words

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

I Wish

I wish I could go back in time

to relive my history;

I’d reconnect with friends and family

That meant so much to me.

There is so much I didn’t know

When I was just a kid;

But knowing what I do today,

T’would be a different life I’d live.

Our cousins moved around the state,

Didn’t get to see them much;

Because of all the distance,

It was hard to keep in touch.

Most of my family have left this world

While unable to say “goodbye”

When I think about all that I’ve lost,

It makes me want to cry.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writers give kudos to string orchestras

To the Editor:

Bravo to the Parkland High School Philharmonic String Orchestras for their May 9 performances.

Brian Mishler, director, and each member of the orchestra worked together so well to present the audience with beautiful, well-played music.

The large ensembles represented many nationalities and ethnic groups who played expertly and harmoniously with one another.

They gave us an excellent example of how we as a community and nation should cooperate to create a beautiful and peaceful world.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Hello, summer!

According to the annual AAA Memorial Day Travel Forecast, nearly 43 million Americans will start their summers with a Memorial Day weekend getaway.

This long holiday weekend, marking the unofficial start of summer travel season, will see the second-highest travel volume on record since AAA began tracking holiday travel volumes dating back to 2000.

Overall, an additional 1.5 million more people will take to the nation’s roads, rails and runways compared with last year, a 3.6 percent increase nationwide.

Area state senators and representatives

Thursday, May 23, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Ensuring better health outcomes for stroke victims

Thursday, May 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

According to the National Institutes of Health, every 40 seconds someone in the United States has a stroke, and every 40 minutes someone dies from a stroke.

Strokes are the fifth leading cause of death in the United States and the leading cause of serious long-term disability. However, research shows the faster a person is identified as having a stroke and gets treatment, the better the outcome.

May is National Stroke Awareness Month and I would encourage everyone to learn to recognize the signs of a stroke by remembering the acronym FAST:

State Reps. Schlossberg, Schweyer to host Senior Fair on May 17

Thursday, May 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

What good is a program designed to improve the lives of people if those folks don’t know about it?

In my opinion, not much.

Government, private businesses and nonprofits are really good at creating programs that are helpful to people from all walks of life.

I’m most familiar with initiatives sponsored by our state government and can attest to the many opportunities — especially for seniors — to reduce prescription drug costs, make housing more affordable and aid our veterans.

Yet all too often, people are simply unaware of these programs or fail to apply.

Editor’s View

Thursday, May 16, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Exercise your right: Vote on Tuesday

The 2019 municipal primary is May 21.

This is a true grassroots election.Many of the names on the ballot are your neighbors, friends and even relatives.

You, the voters, will decide on the candidates who will move on to the November election to serve as township supervisors and commissioners, borough council members, school board directors, county commissioners and judges.

They will serve in office, anywhere from four to 10 years, and make decisions that will directly affect you, your children and your community.

Letter writer supports Foose for Parkland School Board

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

It is my honor to recommend my best friend, Patrick H. Foose, for the position of school board director in the Parkland School District.

I have known Patrick for 16 years and we have been best friends since 2003.

Patrick has always been friendly, trustworthy and dependable.

He has always had a passion for education and advocating for others.

Patrick has always been one to stand up for what he believes in and he believes he can be an asset to the Parkland School District.