Northwestern Press

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

St. John’s Lutheran deals with alternative ways to worship

Thursday, April 16, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

In these unprecedented and uncertain times we are facing the slow spreading of the pandemic coronavirus (COVID-19) in the nation and in the world.

St. John’s Lutheran Church Council, Fogelsville, decided to cancel all church services and programs through April 30.

The current pandemic is creating and challenging the way we will do worship, especially since we are not going to meet at the church building for worship during Holy Week through Easter.

On March 22, Organist Beth Stottmeister and I provided an alternative worship on Facebook Live.

Life in recent weeks

Thursday, April 16, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

March comes in like a lion and goes out like a lamb has taken on a whole new meaning.

March turned our lives upside down. The world in which we live seemed to change overnight. With COVID-19, there is now a “new normal.”

This pandemic has tasked us all to think outside the box for working, schooling, communicating with family and friends, and everyday survival.

All these things we would have normally taken for granted in our world just a few months ago.

Guest View

Thursday, April 16, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

So many to thank … Don’t forget local government

Pennsylvania Local Government Week was April 6-10, and we can think of no better time to recognize our townships, which are on the front lines of making sure life goes on as smoothly and safely as possible in their communities during the COVID-19 pandemic.

As the COVID-19 emergency continues throughout the nation and the commonwealth, township officials are the “boots on the ground” in helping their residents stay safe during this crisis.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 16, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates and readers

Gov. Tom Wolf signed SB 422 on March 27 postponing the General Primary to June 2 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

As we approach the June 2 General Primary, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 30 edition.

Pa. German Easter sayings

Wednesday, April 8, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Good Friday

Der Karfreidaag kehrt mer all die Schtuwwe aus un verbrennt seller Dreck, no hot mer Glick.

Sweeping all the rooms on Good Friday and burning the sweepings brings good luck.

Uff der Karfreidaag darf mer nit mischde, schunscht macht mer de Hexe die Die ruff.

Stables must not be cleaned on Good Friday lest the witches enter.

Uff Karfreidaag soll mer ken Fleesch esse ausgenumme Fisch, schunscht hot mer ken Glick mit seim Vieh.

Your cattle will not thrive if you eat any meat other than fish on Good Friday.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 8, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘This was supposed to be your year’

These are the words of Chris Dier, Louisiana’s 2020 Teacher of the Year and a finalist for national Teacher of the Year.

He teaches world history and AP human geography at Chalmette High School, St. Bernard Parish.

“Let’s be abundantly clear — you were robbed and it’s unfair,” Dier continued.

Dier provided this message on his personal blog for the thousands of high school seniors who are attending online classes for their final semester due to COVID-19.

“If you’re upset, then you should embrace those feelings,” he said.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Coronavirus is bad; we’ve overcome worse

So now we know what we are up against.

The federal government is preparing for up to 200,000 dead Americans and at least another month of social distancing.

The United States now has fully mobilized its national power against the coronavirus and President Donald Trump is preparing the nation for a long and difficult challenge ahead.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

The fight against COVID-19 is a war:

War and conflict have been a ceaseless part of human history. The battle against the COVID-19 virus is an enemy no nation has ever met.

COVID-19 never tires. COVID-19 ceaselessly attacks, and COVID-19 is a survivor. COVID-19 is an awesome enemy but like all enemies in all wars, COVID-19 will be defeated.

In the battle to defeat COVID-19, there are an amazing number of organizations adopting military-style principles to defeat the disease and win the war for human health.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Four little words

It is a scene being played across the nation, county and in the Lehigh Valley.

Employees may be asked to gather in the corporation auditorium, meet in smaller groups in a conference room or large office, or close the door behind them as they cross the threshold of their immediate supervisor’s office.

Some gatherings may need to wait for an owner or company CEO or upper level manager to appear. Nervous whispers may be exchanged. Throats are cleared.

And then the words, heard frequently right now, are spoken.

You are laid off.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates and readers

Gov. Tom Wolf signed SB 422 on March 27 postponing the General Primary to June 2 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

As we approach the June 2 General Primary, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 30 edition.