Northwestern Press

Monday, December 17, 2018

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

When snow is glistening in the lane, be prepared

You know it is bad when a tweet like this appears in your feed.

“Statewide PENNDOT update. Speed Restrictions. The speed limit has been reduced to 45 mph throughout PA.”

Twitter users received that message Nov. 15 from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation when a powerful snowstorm blasted into the state.

Drivers experienced the pounding weather firsthand. Area roadways went from snow dusted, to covered, to dangerously slippery in what seemed like a flash. Roads and highways closed.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The snow that came and covered everything

Remained through daylight and, as evening fell,

Followed by sleet, became an icy sheet,

Coating the wintry scene in sparkling beauty.

The house next door,

ablaze with indoor lights,

Shone like a mighty fortress in a field

Of frozen yard, empty of summer’s harvest;

A silent solitude no longer used

For picnicking, or busy child at play.

My tree nearby — that I could touch in summer

By reaching out my hand to its green leaves,

Beckoning to me, gentle and alluring-

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS: In-home care can keep seniors independent

Thursday, November 22, 2018 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

Sometimes others’ bad experiences scare us so much we become afraid to try similar endeavors ourselves.

Such was the case with me.

I had heard so many horror stories over the years from friends, neighbors and relatives about hiring home-care aides, when I recently was faced with that task, I was paralyzed with fear.

Reports of stolen watches and jewelry, cash and other valuable belongings filled my thoughts, making any meaningful action impossible.

It seemed every person I talked to gave me dire warnings.

Startups for Soldiers helps veterans to own businesses

Thursday, November 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

With November commemorating Veterans Day and highlighting National Veterans Small Business Week, I wanted to spotlight a program I created to help those veterans seeking to start a business in Pennsylvania.

The Startups for Soldiers program was signed into law in 2016.

The law waives state business startup fees for individuals transitioning to the civilian workforce from the U.S. Armed Forces, as well as those serving in reserve units and the National Guard.

Startups for Soldiers is based on a similar program that has been successful in Missouri.

Another View

Thursday, November 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering our blessings in these uncertain times

Thank goodness. It is finally Thanksgiving, and Christmas is right around the corner.

That means it is publicly acceptable for me to watch the holiday movie “Miracle on 34th Street.” (I may or may not have started to watch this film before Halloween. Don’t ask my husband.)

I’m talking about the 1994 version. To be honest, I’m not one to watch many black and white movies. Some of my favorite movies are from the

’90s — “Sleepless in Seattle,” “Stepmom,” “Little Women,” “Mr. Holland’s Opus,” “You’ve Got Mail” and, of course, “Miracle on 34th Street.”

Pa Dutch

Thursday, November 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Der Baydawg is widder doe,

Un es glabbert yo so in der Kich;

Blendy arwet fer mich,

Welsh-hawna un lots funn socha,

Muss ich now ready

macha in der Kich;

Es is g’shpboss fer mich,

Kucha un feel boi,

Shtana shunt in ra roi In der Kich;

Oh, es shwitzed mich.

De kinner kumma ol hame,

Wil wetta se acta wider

es same in der Kich;

Ei, es lechered mich.

Eb mer essa, duhna mer bayda,

Shpater shwappa mer

resayda in der Kich;

Blendy harlichkate fer mich.

Der baydawg kumt un gayed,

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·ITN Lehigh Valley needs volunteers to help seniors age in place and remain independent by volunteering to drive to medical appointments, grocery stores and/or church services.

Contact Lois Favier at 610-419-1645 or email lois.favier@itnlehighvalley.org.

·Salvation Army, Allentown, is seeking volunteers to help with sign ups during the Christmas assistance application process.

Contact Deirdre Govan at 610-432-0128 or email deirdre.govan@use.salvationarmy.org ***

Guest View

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Working to strengthen protections for domestic violence victims

October was Domestic Violence Awareness Month, and on Oct. 3, the Pennsylvania House of Representatives approved legislation that has been signed into law to strengthen protections for those who are victims of domestic violence.

Under House Bill 2060, now Act 79 of 2018, those who are convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence will be required to turn over their firearms to a sheriff (or a third party) within 24 hours, instead of the previous requirement of 60 days.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Humble and Kind

Always be humble, always be kind,

Are words I heard in a song;

I believe if you follow the advice that I heard

You will never, never go wrong.

The kindest of people are always polite.

It seems they know how to

do everything right.

They open the door for people in need;

They help the poor people,

and never show greed.

To open the door for people in need

To always say “thank you”

and always say “please,”

Is showing good manners to others, indeed!

It will not hurt you to offer a smile

Editor’s View

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

REAL ID — here’s what you need to know

A few months ago, two postcards were delivered to my mailbox. They were sent by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation and addressed to my daughters.

The subject of the mailing was “Important Information from PennDOT About REAL ID.” According to the postcard, because their very first driver’s licenses were issued after September 2003, PennDOT might have all the information required for a REAL ID and they might be able to avoid going to a driver’s license center.