Northwestern Press

Friday, August 23, 2019

Door-to-door scams

Saturday, August 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

AARP

Warm weather brings out the door-to-door solicitations.

Be cautious anytime a stranger comes knocking unsolicited, especially if the visitor is trying to sell you goods or services.

To avoid door-to-door scams, refuse to do business right on the spot.

Always ask for credentials and check with an objective third party to verify someone’s identity.

Never pay for services in cash and be wary of paying upfront for a product or service that will be delivered at a later date.

A receipt is worth nothing unless the business is valid and reputable.

Chosen Words

Saturday, August 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Vacations are a lot of fun

and everyone should try

to take at least one every year,

don’t let life pass you by.

It doesn’t matter where you go,

or how you choose to get there;

As long as you “pack up and go”

and head for anywhere.

You’d be surprised how much

it does for you to be away,

from all your daily problems,

and have some time to play.

A sunny beach is always nice,

relaxing and serene;

The feel of sand between your toes —

so warm, so soft, so clean.

If beaches aren’t your thing,

ANOTHER VIEW II

Wednesday, July 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

An appreciation of the ‘Chicago Defender;’ a community newspaper

In the era of the dominance of digital media, the vitality and viability of print media can often seem to be teetering.

In its examination of print media in the United States, database company Statista projected the revenue in the newspaper publishing industry would decrease to $27 billion by 2020, down from $33.59 billion in 2011.

News junkies and others who want to stay informed are likely to check in with favorite news websites or television news outlets rather than wait for the morning or next edition of their newspaper of choice to get the latest information.

Another View I

Wednesday, July 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Choose your patriotism wisely

I am the summer intern for the Lehigh Valley Press weekly newspapers. I am 19 years old and entering my sophomore year at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

This summer has been an exciting one.

Obtaining my driver’s license, securing an internship, and seeing my brother graduate from an Ivy League, which has not only caused him stress for four grueling academic years, but physical pain as his studies at Cornell University once forced an ulcer to burn through the wall of his stomach and allow digestive juices to leak into his abdominal cavity.

Letter to the Editor

Wednesday, July 24, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writer urges South Whitehall residents to attend July 30 comprehensive plan meeting

To the Editor:

On Tuesday evening July 30, the South Whitehall Township government will hold its third meeting on the 2019 Revision of the Township Comprehensive Plan that will guide development in our community for the next 10 years.

This meeting is open to the public to report the input collected thus far regarding future development strategies for the township.

Many of us were caught off guard when large developments were brought into public view in recent years with traffic and safety concerns.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Yesterday

Yesterday is gone for good,

It’s gone for evermore!

But today is now upon us,

It’s today we must endure.

Each day that comes has a story to tell,

There is something new every day.

Capture the moment, enjoy every hour,

’Cause today will soon go away!

Tomorrow will come,

We’ll live life again,

Today will be out of our way;

No matter what, no matter how,

Each day turns to yesterday!

By Shirley Binkley

Cedar View Apartments

shrobi53@gmail.com

GUEST VIEW II

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Legislation is a platter, not a buffet

My dad was the ultimate meat and potatoes guy. Beef and potatoes, sausage and potatoes, pork and potatoes … pretty much every meal.

If I wanted spaghetti one night, I was usually told “you’ll have what mom makes for dinner … this isn’t a buffet.”

Legislation is a lot like dinner was in my house growing up: you ate the platter that mom served.

As much as I would like to, I simply can’t pick and choose the parts of a bill I support; it’s always take it or leave it.

The 2019-20 state budget included a lot that was quite good.

Guest View

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State budget is smoke, mirrors and contradictions

After Gov. Tom Wolf introduces the state budget in February, legislators spend a lot of time debating, horse-trading and using it for point-scoring with constituents before its scheduled passing by June 30.

Along the way, there is posturing by both parties and the governor as they plead their respective cases to taxpayers about special interests. It might be education, minimum wage, health care or any of another dozen or so hot-button topics.

Another View

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘The Eagle has landed’: Man walks on moon 50 years ago

“That’s one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind.”

These are the famous words spoken by Neil Armstrong, the American astronaut who was the first person to walk on the moon. Armstrong was also an engineer, a pilot and a college professor.

After the Apollo 11 mission, Armstrong said his microphone didn’t pick up the word “a,” so what he actually said was, “That’s one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.”

During Apollo 11, which occurred from July 16, 1969, to July 24, 1969, Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin captured Americans back home.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A Patriotic March

God bless America!

She means so much to me,

Glory laud and honor,

and love for my country.

Our forefathers died for us,

so we could be free,

With their lives they paid the price,

for our liberty!

Hail to our red, white and blue,

Always hold them close to you.

Proudly fly our flag on high —

let it lead the way,

As we proudly stand and say,

I love the USA!

Come, march along with me.

Come along and sing,

Let our flag forever wave and

Let our freedom ring!

Shirley Binkley