Northwestern Press

Friday, April 19, 2019

Letters to The Editor

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writer concerned with lack of N. Whitehall meeting coverage

To The Editor:

On March 7, there was a North Whitehall Township meeting. Jeff Bartlett presented the township board and a crowded audience, a plan to rezone a track of Kernsville Road and another track of Route 309 in Orefield to light industrial.

I feel it is important that all North Whitehall residents are informed that such an action is being discussed for approval.

Several residents shared complaints about the trucking company on Kernsville Road, and how they are not being compliant with ordinances.

Born or unborn: Made in God’s image

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I was appalled to recently see Hillary Clinton and the New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo celebrating the Pro Choice Law passed by the New York state Legislature permitting abortion to take place on babies from the time of conception to and including full-term births.

Children are a gift from God who are made in this His image. They each have their own DNA.

Is there no value to life anymore?

The abortion industry is making millions of dollars to kill innocent children and then selling their body parts. Our tax dollars support this industry, unfortunately.

People of all faiths come together to mourn those lost in mosque shootings

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by PAUL CMIL in Opinion

Muslim Association of Lehigh Valley hosts conference

The Muslim community called a news conference in Whitehall Township March 15 to express its sorrow and outrage at the attack earlier that day on two New Zealand mosques.

The loss of life from such a wanton violation of human decency shocked the world.

The Muslim Association of Lehigh Valley opened its doors to others in the community. Dr. Mirza Baig, MALV vice president, welcomed members of all different faiths who had gathered.

In his address, Imam Basheer Bilaal described Islam and how the death of one member of the Muslim family affects all.

Another View

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Every day should be devoted to healthy nutrition

For months, I have been looking for a good nutritional plan/diet I can follow that would help me change my poor eating habits; however, choosing one has not been easy.

Even after months of researching different plans, I am more confused by the nutritional information I have read on the Internet.

As I still have not found one that fits all my specific nutritional goals, I opted to begin March eating healthy nutritious foods.

And, what better timing as March is National Nutrition Month.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Drop dozens now: Who wants to be fat?’ Do they think I’m fat?

I don’t want an automatic pet feeder.

I wouldn’t mind making engraved items at home or receiving a luxury car rental coupon.

“Drop dozens now: Who wants to be fat?” was in my email today. I don’t want to be fat. Do they think I’m fat?

Yes, I want to sleep better, and I don’t need a levitating moon lamp.

And yes, today, I received several messages on how to safely remove earwax.

Did I ask for these messages? Absolutely not.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Workforce development takes center stage

The governor recently signed an executive order to create the Keystone Economic Development and Workforce Command Center to address the state’s skills gap and worker shortages.

Workforce development is an issue I have always been passionate about and I am pleased the governor is also prioritizing the importance of preparing our workforce for available jobs.

To help advance this new agenda, I have reintroduced my legislation to help expose middle and high school students to opportunities in high-demand fields.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, March 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The cost of winter weather

You might be reading this in the aftermath of another snow day.

On March 3, when serious work began on this piece, forecasters anticipated snow in various accumulations in a storm expected to last mid-afternoon to early morning March 4.

Predictions of inclement weather prompted Northwestern Lehigh School District to cancel the afternoon performance of the spring musical “The Addams Family” at the high school on March 3 and to offer details about securing ticket refunds via a special bulletin on the district website.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Snow

Snow is simply beautiful,

as it comes tumbling down.

It silences the world outside,

and spreads itself around.

Building snowmen was such fun.

It was a joy to me.

Sometimes we’d build a lot of them,

maybe two or three.

Another thing we used to do,

make snow angels, that was fun too!

When I was young, I couldn’t wait,

to go outside to play;

But, now that I am older,

I simply stay away.

We used to build snow forts;

snow balls were fun, indeed.

Now we stay inside our home;

Taking multiple medications can increase crash risk for seniors

Wednesday, March 6, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Nearly 50 percent of older adults report using seven or more medications while remaining active drivers, according to new research from the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

Currently, a record 42 million adults age 65 and older are driving, which is expected to increase substantially over the next decade and may make them the largest driving population.

AAA encourages older drivers to ask their doctors and pharmacists as many questions as necessary to ensure they understand why they need the medications prescribed to them, and how they can affect their driving.