Northwestern Press

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, October 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

‘We’re all still in this life together’

Nearly 60 people were killed and more than 400 injured Oct. 2 when 64-year-old Stephen Paddock opened fire on attendees of an outdoor country music festival in Las Vegas.

In the days since, we’ve read about or heard from survivors of the attack, who detailed the chaos and confusion during those moments.

Thousands were at this sold-out, three-day concert, Route 91 Harvest Festival, which featured country music stars such as Eric Church and Sam Hunt.

Jason Aldean was on stage when the gunfire erupted. He is said to have called the scene “beyond horrific.”

Chosen Words

Thursday, October 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

October 8-14

Fireman’s Prayer

When I am called

to duty, God,

Whenever flames

may rage;

Give me strength

to save some life,

Whatever be its age.

Help me embrace

a little child

Before it is too late

Or save an

older person

From the horror

of that fate.

Enable me to be alert

And hear the

weakest shout,

And quickly

and efficiently

To put the fire out.

I want to fill my calling

And to give the best in me

To guard my

every neighbor

Guest View

Thursday, October 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Stopping scammers before they steal from you

It seems you can’t look at the news or social media nowadays without reading about email and phone fraud.

Scammers will pretend to be just about anybody —utility employees, bank employees, even IRS agents — to try to get hold of your money or your personal information.

It’s enough to make you want to block everyone out. That’s unfortunate, because there are some genuine opportunities out there that can help you save. But sometimes it’s hard to separate them from all the scams and swindles.

Guest View II

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Internet gambling is wrong for Pennsylvania — and dangerous for America

If you are reading this sentence, chances are you are doing so on a computer, a mobile phone, or a tablet.

Scroll or swipe up a few centimeters and you aren’t just in your home or in your office — you’re suddenly in a full-fledged casino that’s open 24/7.

Just as you are one click away from the dangers of predatory internet gambling companies, so too are our kids, seniors, low-income individuals, and those with debilitating gambling addictions.

I learned of the true problems with internet gambling when I served on the House Gaming Oversight Committee.

Editor’s View

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A lemon of a decision by Judge Smith on Lehigh County’s official seal

The secular zealots who originally challenged Lehigh County’s official seal in 2015 will not be happy until all symbols of Christianity are removed from public view.

The Freedom From Religion Foundation in Wisconsin, which supported four Lehigh Valley members’ efforts to have the Latin cross in the center of the county seal removed, must be smiling smugly after a federal judge’s decision Sept. 28.

U.S. District Court Judge Edward Smith upheld the group’s viewpoint — well, sort of — that the Latin cross should not be part of the county government’s official seal.

Guest View I

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

National Newspaper Week

National Newspaper Week, Oct. 1-7, is the time to celebrate the impact newspapers have on their communities, and to recognize the dedicated individuals who work diligently so that you, the reader, receive the news and information that you want and need, day in and day out.

A free press is more important than ever and newspapers have always been at the forefront of serving our communities.

Chosen Words

Thursday, September 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The Toilet Seat

May I ask you a question about the toilet seat?

Why is it so important to so many folks you meet?

Was it up, or was it down, when you went in the “room?”

Does it really matter, and, if so, to whom?

Leave it up? Put it down? Whatever shall I do?

Whichever way I choose to go, most likely won’t suit you!

We want our bathrooms beautiful, as rooms go that’s the prime!

But is the toilet seat’s position part of that design?

People shouldn’t argue over such a silly thing.

Another View

Thursday, September 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Every day, American families place their loved ones in nursing homes and trust they will be properly cared for by the staff.

Eight senior citizens died Sept. 13 from excessive heat inside the Rehabilitation Center at Hollywood Hills, Hollywood, Fla., when the nursing home’s air conditioning stopped working during a power loss and its backup generator failed after Hurricane Irma hit Florida Sept. 10.