Northwestern Press

Monday, June 18, 2018

Guest View II

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Townships demand leadership from state to address volunteer firefighter crisis

The volunteer fire company is a long and cherished tradition in our commonwealth, dating back to 1736 when Ben Franklin founded the nation’s first all-volunteer force to fight blazes in Philadelphia.

For nearly three centuries, communities have relied on volunteer fire companies to protect property and save lives. Today, this volunteer model is in jeopardy.

Guest View I

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Fathers matter in the lives of their children

All research begins with someone asking the question, “I wonder ...?” That is what my research design instructor told us on the first day of class.

I have a number of things that make me go, “Huh ...!” but at the behest of my family, who had to endure me going through graduate school a few years ago, I decided to spare them and not to embark upon a Ph.D.

There are two things I have found about research in the meantime: 1.) One can easily find “research” to back up pretty much anything you want; and

Editor’s View

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Me Too movement (and money?) bring change to Miss America contest

Miss America 2.0. Coming soon: New website. New show. New experience.

Previous winners of the popular pageant are casting their own votes now, after last week’s announcement the Miss America organization would be eliminating its swimsuit and evening gown contests from the 97-year-old event.

Gretchen Carlson, the newly named chairwoman of the Miss America board of directors and herself a winner of the pageant, also announced it was no longer to be considered a pageant, but rather a competition.

Another view

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Think before speaking

“If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

Before acting, I ponder this phrase taught to me by my mother years ago. If whatever I am about to say or do does not fit the framework of “something nice,” I simply refrain from putting it out to the world.

This second look has stopped me from doing a lot of things I know I would have regretted.

“When anger rises, think of the consequences,” Confucius said.

Guest View II

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Teen driver crashes kill 10 people a day during 100 Deadliest Days

As school lets out for summer, AAA stresses the importance of preparing and educating inexperienced teen drivers for some of the most dangerous driving days of the year.

More than 1,050 people were killed in crashes involving a teen driver in 2016 during the 100 Deadliest Days, the period between Memorial Day and Labor Day.

That is an average 10 people per day — a 14-percent increase compared to the rest of the year, according to data analyzed by the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Allentown Youth Soccer Club, Allentown, has volunteer opportunities including coach, assistant coach, team manager, registration assistants and administrative (sort copies and deliver flyers). Open board positions include registrar — collect and manage player data, communicate with coaches; travel league representative and recreational league representative — attend quarterly league meetings and report back to board and coaches.

Contact Louis Holzman at 610-674-2870 or louisholzmannutrition@gmail.com.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Hoist the balloons for the month of June

Month that you are those near and far

Attend celebrations as countless as stars

Sailing through birthdays, graduations, weddings, anniversaries, reunions

From the first to the 30th

We attend each event

Purchase gifts galore

So there’s ample delight

Such a splendid occasion is June

What a sight!

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

GUEST VIEW I

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Some tips if you are planning to move

Are there new faces in your neighborhood?

If so, it’s no surprise. At PPL Electric Utilities, we know that more than 200,000 of our residential customers set up new electric service or transfer their existing service in an average year.

That’s about 15 percent of our residential customers, which might seem like a lot at first.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, May 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In my dream I could see it “clear as day”

There it was on the calendar

The 33rd day of May

I wonder ... Is this some metaphor? ... or a portent?

So much happening outside our frame of reference

Terrorist attacks

Climate and environmental changes

Severe seismic shifts

Another Arab Spring?

“Wars and rumors of wars”

Person’s sensibilities are shaken

The Mayan calendar ended Dec. 21, 2012 (winter solstice)

Will a new calendar emerge?

Or will there be collapse and chaos?

Perhaps a new world order ...

Editor’s View

Thursday, May 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A weekend of love vs. hate

The weekend of May 18 to May 20 was a study in the contrast between love and hate, good vs. evil.

On Friday, hate prevailed as Dimitrios Pagourtzis, a 17-year-old student at Santa Fe High School, Santa Fe, Texas, walked into the school’s art complex with a shotgun and a handgun and began shooting at his fellow students.

In the end, 10 people were slaughtered. Another 13 were wounded. Pagourtzis was taken into custody following a shootout with police.