Northwestern Press

Monday, March 30, 2020

Another View

Thursday, March 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘We’re all in this together’

My last Another View opinion piece was published Feb. 5 and 6 in The Press newspapers.

The headline — “Coronavirus is not what you should be worried about in U.S.”

I was wrong. I never thought our country would see the troubles it currently is having.

The actions being taken to combat COVID-19 are disrupting every part of American lives — work, education, places of worship, hospitals, businesses for leisurely activities, family and friend gatherings and more.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, March 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Coronavirus: A test of who we are

A little more than three months ago, China reported a cluster of pneumonia cases which became the genesis of the novel coronavirus.

A month later, there were about 10,000 cases worldwide, including the first one in the United States.

And now, a little more than a month after that, there have been more than 425,000 cases with nearly 20,000 deaths worldwide, more than 8,000 cases and more than 130 deaths in the United States, including more than 900 cases in Pennsylvania and two deaths in Northampton County.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, March 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

It couldn’t hurt

If you know someone

Who is down and out,

And is flailing all about,

Give them a call

To say hello,

It couldn’t hurt.

If you have a friend you know is sad,

Listen to them if they’re feeling bad.

Let them talk and let it out,

It couldn’t hurt.

If ever you get in a situation where

You are lonely, and hoping for someone to care,

Simply fold your hands and say a prayer,

It couldn’t hurt.

By Shirley Binkley

Cedar View Apartments

shrobi53@gmail.com

Editor’s View

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘It is more blessed to give than to receive’

There’s a saying, We plan, and God laughs.

News of COVID-19, the new strain of the coronavirus, creeping ever closer to our neighborhoods has brought much anxiety to our lives. Add to that the cancellations of community activities, some of which we rely on to bring happiness and a sense of calm.

Daily we find ourselves looking for ways to keep our loved ones safe.

This requires some planning. But for so many, this planning can be overwhelming — even seemingly impossible.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Their secrets are not safe with us

Most of us prefer sunshine. It’s rare to hear someone say, “That was a nice, cloudy day.”

We’re invigorated by a glorious sunrise and spend hours outdoors on brilliantly sunny days.

As John Denver so succinctly sang, “Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy.”

In journalism, the reference to sunshine takes on an equally important meaning. Each year in March, news media organizations across the country celebrate Sunshine Week.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Poetry is the art of writing words,

To share your thoughts and feelings;

To tell a story in meaningful ways,

That send your readers reeling.

It might be expressions of joy or love,

Or sadness and despair;

Whatever the topic you might choose,

Poetry adds joy everywhere.

Poetry can capture every mood,

And take you different places:

Invade your mind with pleasure,

As it fills up empty spaces.

Words can capture your emotions,

In how the words are written;

Depending on the words you read,

Election Policy

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates and readers:

As we approach the April 28 General Primary, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letter to the Editor

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Union Lutheran Church deals with COVID-19

To the Editor:

We have continued to monitor the recommendations of the CDC and health officials and know the COVID-19 (coronavirus) has continued to spread globally as well as in our region.

In light of all of the developments and in keeping in accord with the recommendations of health officials we are canceling in-person worship through March 30.

In addition, the building will be closed to all committees and organizations, including all outside groups. Any events planned during that time will be postponed or canceled.