Northwestern Press

Sunday, July 5, 2020

Guest View

Thursday, July 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Sanitizing history — where does it stop?

The recent deaths of African Americans George Floyd in Minneapolis, Rayshard Brooks in Atlanta and Breonna Taylor in Louisville at the hands of white police officers set off a wave of protests in cities across the globe aimed at changes in police enforcement strategies and calls for significant reforms.

These protests have also ignited demands for removal of racist symbols from the nation’s divided past that pitted the North against the South largely over the issue of slavery that led to the Civil War.

Another View

Thursday, July 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Staying on top of the summer slide

My son, Benjamin, and I recently finished reading “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” by Roald Dahl.

I am not sure who enjoyed the book more — he or I! Dahl provides children and adults great imagination through text.

Ben, who is only 3, and I love to create a picture in our minds from the chapters I read to him.

He got such a kick out of the character, Violet Beauregarde, turning into a blueberry and the Oompa-Loompas rolling her around.

We laughed for a few minutes!

Ben’s next choice to read is “James and the Giant Peach,” another popular book by Dahl.

Chosen Words

Thursday, July 2, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

What Happened to

We used to be able to voice our opinions,

Without any repercussions;

But, now when we speak our opinions,

We are “working with the Russians

With every word that comes out of our mouth,

No matter how simple or pure,

We are branded a racist with each word we say!

When will they find a cure?

A cure for insanity, taking over our home,

Why can’t people just leave us alone?

Hatred and racism all over the place!

Is there nowhere we can be safe?

We cannot express how we feel about things,

Editor’s View II Pandemic has changed our lives

Thursday, June 25, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

The Great COVID-19 Shutdown changed lives for a lot of people. More people are unemployed than in recent history.

Some of us are working harder than ever. Front-line workers who never worried about getting sick — or dying — from exposure at their jobs are now paying attention to having the right protective gear.

Some people are isolated and lonely. Another faction says the numbers are inaccurate and they are angry about staying home, wearing a mask and being restricted.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, June 25, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s walk, not run, toward green

The images of crowds gathered, shoulder to shoulder and few masks in sight, haunt me.

There are people who would suggest to me the decision to do this belongs to those in attendance and, if I don’t agree, I should steer clear.

Maybe they are right. And I do stay away.

Perhaps though, morally, they are wrong and potentially setting me up for risk by their actions alone.

What if someone in that crowd works with my husband or my daughter, who both leave the house each day to go to work?

Chosen Words

Thursday, June 25, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

We are at War!

We are at war with an enemy,

The enemy is unseen;

But we know the name of the enemy,

Its name is COVID-19.

It managed to cross all the borders,

Its fury and anger unfurled;

It traveled across all the oceans,

And infected the entire world!

We did not know it was coming,

Until it was too late;

It ravaged millions of people,

Who innocently met their fate.

The virus has no remorse,

It strikes anyone in its path;

It is reaping havoc with all nations,

Guest View

Thursday, June 25, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Civil War Monuments

Consider this: supporters of Gens. Robert E. Lee and Stonewall Jackson say these generals, among others, were defending their states and their homes. Fine.

So did Gen. Johannes Erwin Eugen Rommel, the Desert Fox, of the Third Reich.

So did the architect of the Pearl Harbor attack by the Japanese, Admiral Isoroku Yamamoto.

They were defending their homes and nations. They were courageous and skilled warriors too.

Yet, there are no monuments in America to their honor and glory in their war against America.

There are no such statues in Germany or Japan either!

Chosen Words

Wednesday, June 17, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

2020

2020 what a year!

Shall we laugh, or shed a tear?

Winter months without much snow,

Now we have no place to go.

Kept inside for weeks on end,

Don’t know on whom we can depend

To give us info that we need;

“How long will this last?” we all do plead.

In May they forecasted snow,

We’ll stay inside and some will sew,

Making masks to wear, you see,

For when we go out with others.

They’re free!

Is this year just a cruel joke

Orchestrated by some old bloke?

Or is it God we have displeased?

We cannot judge another’s quality of life

Wednesday, June 17, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

An acquaintance I encountered last week said he and his wife are caring for her frail, elderly mother in their home.

“I don’t know why she keeps hanging on,” he lamented. “She has no quality of life left.”

“Maybe she’s not ready,” I replied.

I could have said much more but I bit my tongue.

How can anyone judge another person’s quality of life? I don’t think we can.

My idea of a worthwhile life may be completely different from someone else’s.

An individual’s perception of his or her quality of life may not be at all the way others view that life.