Northwestern Press

Monday, August 21, 2017

Another view

Thursday, August 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Veterans suffer from invisible wounds

My name is Julia Fritz, and I worked this year as the summer intern at the Lehigh Valley Press’ eight weekly newspapers.

I graduated from Allentown Central Catholic High School and am currently a rising junior at Muhlenberg College, majoring in media and communications with a double minor in Spanish and creative writing.

I have always loved to write and I wanted to explore the different career paths I could take with my interests, so I inquired about an internship with the Lehigh Valley Press.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, August 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Saying good riddance to No Child Left Behind

When school doors open later this month or right after Labor Day, the controversial No Child Left Behind Act will be on its way out, and the Every Student Succeeds Act will be on its way in, although full implementation will not begin until the 2018-19 school year.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

According to the U.S. Department of Education, this bipartisan measure reauthorizes the 50-year-old Elementary and Secondary Education Act, the nation’s national education law and long-standing commitment to equal opportunity for all students.

Chosen Words

Thursday, August 17, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Housework! Yuk! Who needs it! It seems it’s always there,

I just can’t get to do it, but I don’t really care.

It’s always staring at me, the fingerprints, the glare

upon those dirty windows, the dust upon the chair.

The furniture is dusty, we all could write our names,

but I’ll clean it tomorrow, today I’ll play some games.

The junk just sits in piles

on tabletops and floors,

Why doesn’t someone pick it up,

there’s clothing by the score.

The closet just sits empty,

‘cause nothings ever in it;

Chosen Words

Wednesday, August 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

My Kitty

I have a little kitty; she’s brown and tan and white.

She lays around and sleeps all day, then runs and plays at night.

She won’t sit on your lap, no way, an independent miss,

but, if she wants to get some treats, she WILL give you a kiss.

Her eyes are always pleading, her purring loud and clear.

Wherever you are going, she always follows near.

She sits around for hours; she’ll NEVER chase a mouse.

It’s much more fun to sit and watch it run around the house.

I spoil her real good, I know, but she is so darn cute.

Guest View

Wednesday, August 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Beware of what you promise:

Political rhetoric matters! Political narratives matters! Both create limits on what can be done when focus shifts from rhetoric and narratives to policymaking.

After months of wrangling the Republicans failed to deliver on a foundational political rhetorical promise — repeal and replace the Affordable Care Act. After the House barely passed a bill, the Senate Republicans failed to pass a watered-down version of a bill to repeal the ACA.

Another View

Wednesday, August 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Writer says pets are denied their right to self-determination

I recently started reading the book “Run, Spot, Run” by Jessica Pierce, a bioethicist, after reading an interview where she discussed the ethics of keeping a pet.

In an Aug. 1 theguardian.com article, “Should We Stop Keeping Pets? Why More and More Ethicists Say Yes,” by Linda Rodriguez McRobbie, Pierce said she began questioning the idea of pet ownership after she saw a man bring a tub of live baby rats to her local pet store, as she was purchasing crickets for her daughter’s gecko.

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, August 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

RPA thanks the community for support during Cleansweep 2017

To the Editor:

On Saturday April 8, 2017, the Rural Preservation Association held its 21st annual Cleansweep for the four Northwestern Lehigh townships.

Though it is always a day of hard work, friends and neighbors coming together in community participation never fails to make it enjoyable.

Lowhill Township again generously donated the use of its facilities, and the township crew assisted in preparing for the event by coordinating placement of the containers at the township site.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, August 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Science finding it difficult to measure the intangible

Canines have had a special bond with humans since the first wolf pup found its way from the garbage dump into the heart of early man more than 15,000 years ago.

According to documented studies, the first domesticated species appeared by the end of the Late Pleistocene era, scavenging on animal remains left behind by early hunters.

These less aggressive wolves, attracted to the campsites by the smell of the hunters’ cooking meat, soon included these areas within their territories, and man became part of the pack.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, August 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The unknowns of radiation made easier by Therapy Dog

I wasn’t sure what to think or ultimately expect, despite the radiation oncologist and other medical professionals explaining the process to me.

My first radiation appointment two weeks ago at Lehigh Valley Hospital, Salisbury Township, included meeting with the doctor and reviewing the goals of treatment and its side effects.

The doctor then escorted me into the radiation room.

As with most rooms reserved for running tests and conducting treatments on patients, this room was sterile, bright and cold.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, August 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

What is a “God moment?” I didn’t know, I cannot pretend,

Until I picked up the phone and called an old friend.

When she heard my voice, she was silent at first, then said ...

This is a “God Moment.”

I said, “What do you mean?”

She said, “I am now in a nursing home, sad and alone

hoping someone would visit or maybe just phone...

And here you are ... that is a “God Moment!”

I was in shock and in awe to think I was there

To help someone who was in despair.

It brought up some memories of times in the past: