Northwestern Press

Thursday, October 17, 2019

Another View

Thursday, October 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let them work

The Supreme Court heard a few landmark cases for the LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender) community Oct. 8. Two of the cases dealt with alleged discrimination against gay employees. The third involved a transgender employee.

The first two cases involve the late Donald Zarda, an employee of a sky-diving company, and Gerald Bostock, a child welfare services coordinator, who were both terminated from their jobs, allegedly after being identified as gay. Zarda made a reference to his sexual orientation to a client. Bostock joined a gay recreational softball league.

Diane Kelly will provide strong leadership for South Whitehall Township

Thursday, October 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To The Editor:

I would like to strongly endorse Diane Kelly for South Whitehall commissioner.

Diane has been an appointed member of the South Whitehall Planning Commission for the past 18 months and has been a strong voice to uphold our township zoning laws.

Diane advocates balanced growth that enhances our community, open government that includes you, the taxpayer.

Diane is a strong supporter of our law enforcement and first responders, and will work to ensure they have adequate resources to keep our community safe.

Face the challenge

Thursday, October 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Rising taxes, traffic congestion, strains on law enforcement and EMS budgets, infrastructure and road upgrades and housing development are the challenges that face the three commissioners who will be elected by you to take South Whitehall Township forward.

When voting, look at managerial experience, principled leadership qualities, concern for citizens’ voices, fiscal experience, transparency and their core values ... because that is what we need.

An Election Day opportunity to shape the future

Thursday, October 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Election Day, Nov. 5, is a watershed moment for the residents of South Whitehall Township.

We will elect three commissioners to the board of five in a year when the township comprehensive plan, mapping the growth plan for the next decade, will be reworked.

The last three years have brought us the massive Ridge Farm, acres of warehouses and nearly 1,000 apartments.

Do we want more of the same or do we want moderate growth, preservation of open space and protection of our community character?

S. Whitehall faces most crucial commissioner election on Nov. 5

Thursday, October 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

As a young citizen, I can already see how the most recent developments have impacted traffic and safety in our community.

Forthcoming proposed developments will only create more traffic and safety issues for present and future residents.

Driving to and from Parkland High School is a vivid memory for me, and I cannot even imagine what the addition of warehouses, Ridge Farm and the Park View Inn project will add to the already congested present traffic situation.

And, not to mention the loss of land that is character of our picturesque township.

Writer says Wolk is exceptional candidate

Thursday, October 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To The Editor:

Mike Wolk is an exceptional candidate for South Whitehall Township commissioner.

For over 25 years, I’ve known him as a parent, coach, concerned citizen and friend.

Since his recent retirement as a chemical engineer at Air Products, he has immersed himself with issues affecting our lives in South Whitehall Township and the Parkland community at large.

Most recently, he co-founded “South Whitehall Concerned Citizens — Ridge Farm” to insure that development is completed with the least impact possible to the surrounding community.

Stronger leadership through changing times

Thursday, October 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I will proudly cast my vote to elect Mike Wolk to the South Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners on Nov. 5.

Mike’s proven leadership, experience, dedication and traditional values will guide him as he confronts the challenges of development and fiscal management that were inadequately addressed by recent township management.

Without more responsible board membership, there is no reason to expect improvement.

Nov. 5 is the time to vote for big changes.

Writer endorses Michael Wolk

Thursday, October 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To The Editor:

I’d like to offer my strong personal Endorsement for Michael Wolk as a candidate for South Whitehall Township commissioner.

I’ve known Mike for over 40 years as a professional colleague, fellow Parkland School District parent of a disabled child, a longtime personal friend and mentor.

Mike is person of the highest integrity who looks for the best possible outcome in any situation or circumstances.

He has a lifelong track record of leadership professionally and in the community.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, October 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Budget blunders and the GOP

For the second consecutive year, Republicans on the board of commissioners are saying we don’t need a tax increase. But Lehigh County just borrowed $76 million.

We have countless bridges still ‘waiting’ to be fixed. We have no recovery center in a county plagued with addiction. We have employees who are underpaid, and a population of seniors and children in need who are underserved.

Vote for Diane Kelly on Nov. 5: A clear choice for a better township

Thursday, October 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To The Editor:

I will vote for Diane Kelly for South Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners because Diane’s values and goals for township leadership mirror my own.

Thoughtful and responsible development, fiscal prudence, transparency and integrity are at the top of that list.

As a commissioner, Diane will continue the excellent work she started as a member of the planning commission, and will do so with even broader authority and responsibilities.

Diane is intensely dedicated to the betterment of our township and will work tirelessly to achieve that goal.