Northwestern Press

Monday, December 17, 2018

Chosen Words

Sunday, December 16, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Children singing, falling snow;

Christmas is coming.

Twinkling lights are all aglow,

Christmas is near.

It’s time for the holly.

It’s time to be jolly.

Dreams by all the girls and boys,

of Santa and his toys.

Choirs sing and church bells ring. I see it, I heard it.

Joy and laughter all around;

I feel the Christmas spirit.

The stars shine bright above,

as God bestows his love,

We dream of peace on earth for all, as families come to call.

Christmastime is here again,

There’s magic in the air.

volunteers

Sunday, December 16, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Salvation Army of the Greater Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, needs cooking teams to prepare community meals on Sundays, serving at 1 p.m.

Contact Jeff Kulls at 484-554-7992 or jeffkulls@hotmail.com.

·Volunteer Center of the Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to help with its Holiday Hope Chests program.

Register at form.jotform.com/82845229700155

·Women of Excellence, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to help gift wrap through Dec. 14 at its 301 Broadway, 5th floor, Bethlehem location.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, December 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Redistricting reform collapse reinforces need for voter initiative and referendum

To say I was disappointed with the outcome of legislative efforts to end gerrymandering once and for all would be an understatement.

The bill (Senate Bill 22) that I authored and grassroots organizations championed was “Harrisburged.”

I use this term to express what happens to an initiative that would improve our system; yet requires legislative leaders in Harrisburg to step up and steer clear of political games.

Unfortunately, this type of gamesmanship happens all too often in the capital city when it comes to trying to get big things done for the people we represent.

Another View

Wednesday, December 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Keep loved ones, pets safe from fire this holiday season

Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories, a meal, sing, decorate and exchange gifts.

The holiday season can be especially difficult if a fire were to break out in a home and kill a loved one.

According to local media, a body of one man was found following a fire in Whitehall; a second fire this past weekend displaced nine people and killed a dog.

The body of the 49-year-old man was found after a fire occurred around 10 p.m. Dec. 7 at Spring Ridge Apartments, 1308 N. 13th St., Whitehall Township.

Long, Dark Nights

Wednesday, December 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

What is it about these long, dark nights

That we find so foreboding?

Awakening to dark mornings

Commutes to work in darkness

Walking dark alleys in the city

Returning home in the darkness

Leaves a blot on our lives

Scant sunlight to revive

Our long, dark night of the soul

From awareness of a world in which

Evil deeds are most noteworthy

And war is ever on our minds

Oh, Light of the World

Enlighten our dark, weary world

With the light of your illuminating love

This Hanukkah

This Christmas

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, December 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Decluttering is good for our health and happiness

Thank you all who commented on my Oct. 17 Editor’s View on dealing with our Generation Y, Z and millennial family members.

It is good to know I am not alone in my frustration with our younger generation not wanting “things” — instead, wanting experiences.

Since that Editor’s View, conversations have continued with the fact our children and grandchildren will not want our “things” when we are gone.

I am a person who sees the value of and appreciates the connection with “things” from my grandparents, which my youngest has already said he does not want.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Success

Some people think of success,

As being wealthy and rich,

But that’s not always true.

Success can mean completing a challenge,

That was very difficult for you.

Success can mean being happy

In a world full of turmoil,

Or winning a competition

That was full of pitfalls

And spoils.

Not everyone can have success,

People sometimes fail

At accomplishing a project

With major intricate detail.

Some people fail at sharing,

They can’t communicate;

They can’t express their feelings,

Startups for Soldiers helps veterans to own businesses

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

With November commemorating Veterans Day and highlighting National Veterans Small Business Week, I wanted to spotlight a program I created to help those veterans seeking to start a business in Pennsylvania.

The Startups for Soldiers program was signed into law in 2016.

The law waives state business startup fees for individuals transitioning to the civilian workforce from the U.S. Armed Forces, as well as those serving in reserve units and the National Guard.

Startups for Soldiers is based on a similar program that has been successful in Missouri.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Allentown Rescue Mission invites volunteers to a Christmas gift wrapping party Dec. 15.

Sign up at signup.com/go/hOTfzxZ.

·Allentown School District Foundation is looking for 100 volunteers to read to kindergartners in 60 classrooms in 14 schools across the city.

Contact Vicki at 484-765-4121 or newhardv@allentownsd.org.

·Holiday Hope Chests still need 1,500 boxes filled with age appropriate items for Lehigh Valley’s children in need.

To participate, go to volunteerlv.org/holiday-hope-chests and fill out a 2018 Donor Pledge Form.