Northwestern Press

Thursday, June 29, 2017

Chosen Words

Thursday, June 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A Patriotic March

God bless America!

She means so much to me

Glory laud and honor, and love for my country.

Our forefathers died for us,

so we could be free,

With their lives they paid the price, for our liberty!

Hail to our red, white and blue

Always hold them close to you.

Proudly fly our flag on high —

let it lead the way

As we proudly stand and say,

I LOVE THE USA!

Come, march along with me.

Come along and sing,

Let our flag forever wave and

LET OUR FREEDOM RING!!!

Shirley Binkley

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, June 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Kempton Fair on its way to becoming official state fair

To The Editor:

The 2017 Kempton Fair — three days of viewing beautifully formed and cared-for livestock; graphic, horticultural, and culinary artistic expression; regionally famous musical talent; kids having non-computer-based fun with rides, games, and theater; fire-spewing truck and tractor power pulls and truck drag races; startlingly impressive fireworks; grown men trying to look like Willie Nelson; beautifully restored farm and garden implements; impressive new farming equipment; and, of course, amazing food to eat!

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, June 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It takes a village

Last week, people took to social media about an incident in the Village of Hokendauqua, Whitehall Township.

A neighborhood block had been taped off by police, cruisers and other emergency vehicles lined the street, and word spread that the coroner had been called to the scene because two bodies were discovered there.

Some surmised online that it was an overdose. Some suspected a murder-suicide. The latter might have seemed a bit far-fetched had Whitehall not had such a tragedy the week before.

Editor’s View

Thursday, June 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

EDITOR’S VIEW:Politicians need to call an extended Christmas Truce to their rancor

Snoopy’s Christmas

“Christmas bells, those Christmas bells Ring out from the land

“Asking peace of all the world

And good will to man ...

“The Baron had Snoopy dead in his sights

“He reached for the trigger to pull it up tight Why he didn’t shoot, well, we’ll never know...

“The Baron made Snoopy fly to the Rhine And forced him to land behind the enemy lines

“Snoopy was certain that this was the end ...

“When the Baron cried out, “Merry Christmas, my friend!” “The Baron then offered a holiday toast

Guest view

Thursday, June 22, 2017 by STATE REP. RYAN MACKENZIE R-134th in Opinion

Helping injured workers avoid addiction

Thousands of people are dying every year in Pennsylvania from overdoses due to opioid and prescription drug abuse.

According to the Pennsylvania Department of Health, 10 Pennsylvanians are dying every day due to an opioid or heroin overdose. In 2015, more than 3,500 Pennsylvanians died from an overdose of opioid drugs.

A report from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention also found that 27 percent of people who abuse prescription pain medications receive them from a prescription from a doctor.

Chosen Words

Thursday, June 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Summer

Oh, how I long to feel once more, the lovely

days of summer.

The warmth of sunshine

on my face,

the flowers blooming

every place.

The gentle rain ... I see it still;

The way it dances on the sill.

A vibrant blue

ornates the sky,

while pompous clouds

go passing by.

The weeping willow swaying, as the gentle breezes blow;

The thunder and the

lightning, that so quickly come and go.

The children’s laughter

fills the air.

The birds are chirping

everywhere.

Another View

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Global approach necessary to combat climate change’s environmental effects

On June 1, President Donald Trump announced he was withdrawing the United States from the Paris Climate Agreement, saying the agreement is less about the climate and more about other countries gaining a financial advantage over the United States.

So, what is the Paris Climate Agreement and its terms?

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Daddy’s little girl

I am fortunate. My father is still alive at age 84 and in relatively good health.

I still call him “Daddy.”

I learned a lot from my dad. I learned how to cut the grass, take out the trash, spackle, install insulation and drywall, paint, garden, and bathe and groom our dog.

We would sit together as a family in front of the television to watch “The Ed Sullivan Show,” “Sonny and Cher,” “Jacques Cousteau” and many other shows.

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Get rid of ‘vulgar’ programming

To the Editor:

Thank you and ditto from me to Bruce Frassinelli for his opinion article in the May 4 issue of The Press.

I have been wanting the courage to lash out at someone for a long time but did not know how to address the vulgar, obscene, profane programming on TV and the radio (songs using obscene words) lyrics played today.

I don’t call it music. It is noise pollution.

It is everywhere — malls, even grocery stores, restaurants, outdoor areas where someone like me would just like to sit quietly, read and enjoy scenery.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, June 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a matter of trust

I am having a hard time watching television these days, and I suspect many are in the same situation.

The Hallmark Channel has now become my “go-to” station.

To me, it seems we have lost our sense of trust, decency, manners and security.

Recently, this is just some of what we have been exposed to:

• A comedian holding an inappropriate image of our president;

• People physically removed from planes because of overbooking;

• Concertgoers, travelers and people attempting to enjoy their lives hurt or killed by ISIS;