Northwestern Press

Monday, April 22, 2019

Another View

Friday, April 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To celebrate Earth Day, what will you do to impact our world?

If you’re like me, you’re enjoying the warmer weather that comes with spring and anticipating the really warm days of summer.

One thing I don’t enjoy is the buzzing I hear swarming around me when I’m outside at an event or playing with my son in the backyard.

Although I have a fear of bees — I’ll save the traumatic childhood experience for another time — I know how important they are to plants, our environment and even the economy.

Chosen Words

Friday, April 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Flowers

Flowers are so beautiful,

They are every shape and size;

Flowers bring you happiness

And sometimes make you cry.

Flowers are for birthdays, holidays and more.

Doesn’t matter what the season,

They are welcome for any reason.

You plant a tiny little seed,

And then you watch it grow.

Before you know, you have a flower,

Full bloom and ready to go.

Most flowers are fragrant,

But others have no smell.

Nevertheless, they are beautiful,

And stand out just as well.

The colors are unending, blue, green,

Election Policy

Friday, April 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the May 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Guest View

Friday, April 19, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

AARP says be aware of Social Security scam

“Social Security numbers are one of the most valuable pieces of information a scammer can get a hold of, leaving the rightful owners of those numbers vulnerable to a whole slew of scams involving identity theft,” Bill Johnston-Walsh, AARP Pennsylvania state director said recently. “Scammers have a particularly devious way of getting those numbers — by pretending to be from the Social Security Administration itself.”

Johnston-Walsh described how the scammers operate:

Chosen Words

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Along the Way

As you wake up each morning,

and go through life each day,

You’ll face many challenges,

try not to go astray,

while searching for your destiny,

all along the way,

Along the way be sure to take the time to smell the roses

Along the way be sure to use your fingers and your “toes’s.”

What do I mean? Well, fingers can

extend a helping hand;

And “toes’s” can enable you

to walk through the land.

Along the way take notice

of the joys life has to give.

Enjoy it to the fullest,

Guest View I

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Combating identity theft through document shredding

Identity thieves have never shied from targeting society’s most vulnerable citizens such as our seniors and veterans.

Now, they have reached even lower lows — victimizing children — oftentimes ones younger than age 7.

To help protect both adults and children from suffering fraud, I will hold a shredder event for sensitive documents from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. May 4, at the Lower Macungie Township Administration Building at 3402 Brookside Road, Macungie.

Guest View II

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Local Government Week, April 8-12

On average, township supervisors in Pennsylvania earn just $1,875 a year. For this, they attend countless meetings, maintain and plow roads, build parks, and balance budgets. On top of that, these local elected leaders represent more Pennsylvanians — 5.5 million — than any other category of local government officials in the state. That’s 44 percent of the state’s population.

You may read about them in the newspaper or see them along local roads, plowing snow in the winter or patching potholes in the spring.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

College scam shows parents’ lack of faith in children’s own abilities

The court system is ably handling the parents involved in Operation Varsity Blues, and the man behind the scam to influence college admissions’ decisions at some prestigious American universities.

It’s now time to stop talking about those who’ve allegedly committed the crimes and start thinking about all those who’ve been negatively impacted by their actions.

Four words can make a caregiver’s day

Thursday, April 4, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

When the phone rang one midmorning, I considered not answering it.

A bit overwhelmed by my caregiving tasks, I was not in the mood to deal with sales calls or surveys.

But I answered it anyway. And I am glad I did.

A retired friend, Nancy, told me she was out and about doing errands.

“Do you need anything?” she asked.

What magic words. These four simple, wonderful words made my day.

Of course I needed something. I almost always need something.

Another View

Thursday, April 4, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

As the saying goes, ‘April showers bring May flowers’

Not only do the April showers give life to flowers, they also bring a host of hazards and concerns.

Spring weather can be unpredictable. The temperatures swing back and forth between cool and hot.

Mark Twain once said, “In the spring, I have counted 136 kinds of weather inside of four and 20 hours.”

We all are familiar with the usual temperature shift issues. You leave the house with a sweater on to protect against the morning chill, but by 2 p.m., you are sweating.