Northwestern Press

Monday, May 25, 2020

Four NW players selected as Via All-Stars

Thursday, March 12, 2020 by CHUCK HIXSON Special to the Press in Sports

The 45th Annual Via All-Star Basketball Classic is set for Saturday, March 28 at Northampton Community College.

Super Saturday will include four all-star basketball games featuring the top senior players from the Lehigh Valley area. It begins at 10:30 a.m. with the North vs. South girls game, followed by their boys counterparts at noon.

Four Northwestern player were selected to participate in the event.

From the Tiger girls team, Gabriella Giese, Mackenzie Hess and Sydney Sevrain were named Via All-Stars, while Deven Bollinger got he nod for the boys game.

After the 1:30 Special Olympics Shoot Out, the West vs. East girls (2 p.m.) and boys (3:30 p.m.) games will finish off the day.

In conjunction with the games, Via will also hold the Lehigh Valley Basketball Hall of Fame and St. Luke’s Combine Clinic on March 15 at Freedom High School.

The Via All-Star Banquet will be held Wednesday, March 25 at the Wind Creek Event Center in Bethlehem. This year’s Via Players of the Year and Teams of the Year will be revealed at the banquet. The keynote speaker will be Jennifer Bricker.

The following is a list of this year’s Via All-Star Teams.


North - Head coach: Chrissy Campos (Pocono Mountain West)

Cameron Caffrey (Pleasant Valley), Samantha Columna (Stroudsburg), Kayla Davy (East Stroudsburg South), Olivia Mayes (East Stroudsburg North), Maddie Minner (Bangor), AiyanaLee Owens (Pocono Mountain West), Riley Wagner (Pleasant Valley), Alyssa Wagner (Pleasant Valley), Casey Walsh (Bangor), Caroline Weirich (Pocono Mountain West), Kayla Worlsey-Wooten (Stroudsburg), Mahogany Worsley-Wooten (Stroudsburg).

South - Head coach: Andy Wescoe (Liberty).

Madison Betuccio (Salisbury), Abigail Brown (Bethlehem Catholic), Alyssa Burkhart (Emmaus), Liana Cabeza (Lincoln Leadership), Deona Davis (Dieruff), Jaleesa Lanier (Bethlehem Catholic), Taylor Medina (Bethlehem Catholic), Taylor Moncman (Southern Lehigh), Aslyn Toledo (Allen), Kathryn Wescoe (Liberty), Jakayla Wise (Allen), Brooke Wunderler (Emmaus).

West - Head coach: Mike Kopp (Central Catholic)

Kayla Cincilla (Palmerton), Grave Clary (Whitehall), Cassie Due (Whitehall), Gabriella Giese (Northwestern Lehigh), Mackenzie Hess (Northwestern), Madison Hicks (Catasauqua), Lauren Hoffman (Northern Lehigh), Tinaya Klotz (Lehighton), Kristin Laky (Whitehall), Shaziya Robert (Catasauqua), Sydney Sevrain (Northwestern Lehigh), Maria Traglia (Central Catholic).

East - Head coach: Josh Kopp (Notre Dame - Green Pond)

Aaliyah Crozier (Wilson), Ashley Errico (Wilson), Maya Ettle (Moravian Academy), Almond Goodman (Wilson), Jennifer Kokolus (Freedom), Brooke LaBarre (Pen Argyl), Grace Moser (Moravian Academy), Cassie Murphy (Notre Dame GP), Quinn O’Connor (Moravian Academy), Taylor Rapel (Phillipsburg), Rachel Sutton (Pen Argyl), Macie Weber (Pen Argyl).


North - Head coach: Shawn Munford (East Stroudsburg South)

Bekim Azemi (East Stroudsburg North), Lawson Bray (Pocono Mountain West), Del’Ron Card (Stroudsburg), Semin Dervisevic (Pocono Mountain East), Jermaine Green (East Stroudsburg South), Kory Kearns (Pleasant Valley), Jahdari Kettrels (Stroudsburg), Nathan Owens (Bangor), Sebastian Piszczatwoski (Pleasant Valley), Gerard Richburg (Stroudsburg), Jonathan Torres (Notre Dame - East Stroudsburg), Maurice Whittle (Pocono Mountain West).

South - Head coach: Doug Snyder (Allen)

Aquele Adderly (Allen), Rahmad Ali (Liberty), Chris Andrews (Southern Lehigh), Ish Gonzalez (Liberty), Will Harper (Liberty), Divine Hayes (Dieruff), Kyle Hoff (Southern Lehigh), Ryan Santana (Bethlehem Catholic), Quinton Stewart (Allen), Isaiah Taylor (Allen), Julian Thomas (Bethlehem Catholic), Trey Weber (Salisbury).

West - Head coach: Andy Stephens (Parkland)

Deven Bollinger (Northwestern Lehigh), Nick Filchner (Central Catholic), Zac Gula (Northampton), Tyler Holubowski (Whitehall), Justin Hosier (Palmerton), Jared Kucharczuk (Parkland), Joe Lisicky (Whitehall), Jake Melady (Parkland), Amari Mills (Executive Education), Zach Moyer (Northern Lehigh), Nick Rappa (Parkland), Donte Rodriguez (Northampton), Titus Wilkins (Executive Education).

East - Head coach: Ben Childs (Easton)

Abe Atiyeh (Moravian Academy), David Barnes (Freedom), Ryan Boylan (Easton), As’ad Brown (Easton), Jared Jacobs (Notre Dame GP), Nashawn Johnson (Easton), Derelle McKinney (Wilson), Caleb Mims (Freedom), Malek Mims (Freedom), Jihad Range (Wilson), Robert Snyder (Palisades), Zach Umar (Nazareth).