Northwestern Press

Friday, May 29, 2020

Lowhill organizes for 2019

Thursday, February 7, 2019 by DANIEL HAMM Special to The Press in Local News

During 2019, Lowhill Township employees will receive 3 percent more in pay than they received last year.

Board of Supervisors Chairman Richard Hughes will continue in that role as will Treasurer Robb Werley and Vice Chairman Buddy Wessner .

Jill Seymour will continue as secretary and Joe Kalusky again serves as road foreman.

Jeff Hontz will serve as assistant road foreman and Jeff Hontz, Tim Wessner and Mike Hontz are the road crew members.

Glen Grim is a part-time road crew member.

Janet Henritzy will serve as secretary and permit applicator, recording secretary for the planning commission and alternate administrator.

Seymour will also serve as alternate recording secretary for the planning commission and the open records officer.

Brian Carl was named as Lowhill Township’s zoning officer, alternate sewage enforcement officer, township administrator, and advisory board member for Lehigh County Authority.

Werley was also appointed chief administrator for the pension plan and a representative to the Weisenberg Lowhill Historical Society.

Hughes will be the Act 43 Agricultural Security Board member, the representative to the Northwestern Recreation Commission and the voting delegate for the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors’ convention in Hershey.

Along with being the vice chairman, Wessner will be the Northwestern Recreation Commission alternate.

Township solicitor for 2019 will be Steckel and Stopp with Attorney Charles Waters representing the Slatington law firm at board meetings.

The zoning board and UCC board solicitor will be the law firm of Fitzpatrick, Lentz and Bubba. Emil Kantra II will be the firm’s representative.

Ryan Christman from Keystone Consulting Engineers, Wescosville, will serve as the township engineer.

Keystone Consulting Engineers will also be the alternate zoning officer, health board official, sewage enforcement officer and the health officer.

Barry Isett and Associates will be responsible for the inspection firm and code enforcement.

Frank Bartholomew will be the emergency management coordinator and Carol Betz continues as the tax collector.

Phyllis Breininger will be the deputy tax collector.

Betz will also serve as the vacancy board chairperson.

Earned income tax will go through Berkheimer and Associates.

Supervisors’ meetings will continue 7:30 p.m. on the first Thursday of each month except for July, with the board meeting July 11 due to the Independence Day holiday.

The meetings for the planning commission will be 7 p.m. on the last Monday of each month. The zoning hearing board will meet, as needed, 7 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month.

UCC board of appeal meetings will be held as needed.