Northwestern Press

Tuesday, March 26, 2019

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Feed The Children, Bethlehem, is accepting volunteer applications for our Teacher Store from dedicated and outgoing volunteers to help teachers shop for free school supplies and classroom furniture.

Contact Beth Baier at 610-419-9356 or beth.baier@feedthechildren.org.

·Second Harvest Cooking Matters Program needs volunteers for a six-week cooking and nutrition educational course, offered to low-income families at sites in Allentown and Bethlehem.

Contact Laura Scarpino at 484-287-4015 or lscarpino@caclv.org.

·Gracedale Nursing Home, Nazareth, needs a piano player 10-11 a.m. for its Sunday morning church service on the first Sunday of each month, starting March 3, 2019.

Contact Jennie Repsher at 610-829-3686 or jrepsher@northamptoncounty.org.

·American Red Cross of the Greater Lehigh Valley has several volunteer opportunities available on various disaster teams: Spiritual Care, Mental Health, Logistics, Health Services, Technology, Information and Planning, and Workforce Engagement.

For more specifics, go to redcross.org/volunteer/volunteer-opportunities/disaster-volunteer or contact Ned Bloom at 484-403-4721 or ned.bloom@redcross.org.

·Cedarbrook Senior Care And Rehabilitation, South Whitehall, is looking for cheerful volunteers who enjoy helping others shop.

Contact Kerry Magliane at 610-336-5684 or kerrymagliane@lehighcounty.org.

·Center For Vision Loss, Allentown, needs volunteers to assist clients with visual impairment during a Wednesday weekly walk at the Lehigh Valley Mall.

Contact Rita Lang at 610-433-6018 ext. 225 or rita.lang@centerforvisionloss.org.

·Gress Mountain Ranch, Orefield, needs volunteers every day of the year, including New Year’s Day.

Contact Kathryn at 610-398-2122 or gressranch@gmail.com.

·Phoebe Home, Allentown, needs holiday volunteers for several events.

Call Eileen Mihocko or Joan Wickel at 610-794-5366 or 610-794-5364.

·Center For Animal Health And Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

***

Contact the Volunteer Center to receive a brochure listing agencies needing volunteers at 610-807-0336 or vc@volunteerlv.org.

Visitvolunteerlv.org for a larger listing of volunteer opportunities.