Northwestern Press

Friday, December 6, 2019

Funds’ transfer benefits Cedarbrook

Wednesday, March 15, 2017 by MARK RECCEK Special to The Press in Local News

Lehigh County commissioners unanimously approved a resolution March 8 transferring $10.6 million from the county stabilization fund to the intergovernmental transfer fund to go directly to Cedarbrook Nursing Homes.

The bill, sponsored by Commissioner Dan Hartzell, specifically provides for the intergovernmental transfer of funds to the Department of Human Services to provide the nonfederal share of Medical Assistance payments to nursing homes.

“By passing this ordinance, the board is approving the use of county dollars to participate in the state reimbursement program for county-owned nursing homes,” Commissioner Brad Osborne added. “The county will receive about $1.8 million more in matching funds than we sent in.”

According to Osborne, the board authorized the amount in the ordinance to receive the full benefit available.

“This program helps us fulfill our responsibility to provide Cedarbrook residents the care they deserve at the best possible cost,” Osborne added.

In other business, the board unanimously approved a number of appointments.

Appointments include Jeffrey J. Morgan, of South Whitehall Township, and Linda Rosenfeld, of Allentown, both to the Lehigh County Authority. Rosenfeld’s term will expire Dec. 31, 2019. Morgan’s term will expire Dec. 31, 2022.

Lynn Crowell, of Upper Macungie Township, and Shilpa Kapoor-Barrantes, of Allentown, were appointed to serve on the county mental health intellectual disability advisory board, with terms expiring Dec. 31, 2019.

Additionally, the board appointed Matthew Tuerk, of Allentown, to serve on the Lehigh-Northampton Airport Authority, with a term expiring Dec. 31, 2022.